Home > Uncategorized, Vlog > Latest News about Purple Co.

Latest News about Purple Co.

March 9, 2010
Categories: Uncategorized, Vlog
  1. March 9, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Geez! I knew Purple 3 is champion! I cannot believe how they think P3 is sleazy or out of business. I heard the rumor.. I called many time and never problem with P3.

    Stop false rumor!

    Pretty Obviously! They might against the company. but these company is really BEST ever I choose P3!

  2. Ralph
    March 9, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Hey! We know that P3 is not problems so they are great programs. Stop to rumor and against them! We love it. We agreed with DeafPixie what she said! Thanks! Good Time!

  3. Karyn
    March 9, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I thought everyone was happy with Purple team. What the hell are these idiots talking about? They are probably doing this for the other company. Anyway, am glad it wasn’t Purple cuz they are great!

  4. Confused
    March 9, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    I’m confused. The video posted on youtube was made by you. I guess this isn’t an official video by Purple? You made this by yourself?

  5. March 9, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    P3 the best?? Are you serious about that!? DO you work for Purple or what??

    1) The most annoying part of P3 is when you first start up the computer, P3 is the very first software to open up preventing you from start/using other program until you click on “X” on right corner and will ask “Are you sure you want to exit?” UUGGHH!!!

    2) It doesn’t work with Mac yet!

    3) Sometime if you run into glitch with P3 software like launching it, you run into script errors.. have you tried to uninstall it so you could install to fix (patch over) p3?? Believe it or not, you can’t uninstall P3 at all! UUGGHH!!

    4) Depending on computer but in my case.. when I am on VP with my friend and need to close P3 (not exit) so I could check a website on internet, I can not close P3 to do that! UUGGHH!!

    5) No zoom in/out function. What about deaf people with Usher Syndrome? The screen is way too small and some Usher Syndrome can not see small screen very well they need larger picture. UH-HUH!! Not good!

    6) WHY IN THE WORLD DID THEY CREATED THE RINGER DIRECTLY FROM THE USB!?!?!? How does that help deaf people when laptop is in living room and ringing while you are in Kitchen or in bedroom?? You can’t answer the phone! DUH! Should have used the same usb with jack just like http://www.magicjack.com where deaf person can plug his ringing system to that jack so if someone calls you, the whole system will flash if you have set-up in every room like I have in my home. I have that system working with my VP-200 but it won’t work with P3!

    I could go on and on but I think you get the picture.. Purple does have potential but they are poorly structured and not spending budget wisely like they should be. They have so much work to do and it is just matter of whether they can correct it and be successful or if they will fail (which I hope not for their sake!).

  6. DeafQueenBee
    March 9, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Why does Anyonmous not leave his/her name when all the other posts have a name? HHHMMMM. I think he/she is angry ex employee. I would not believe this post. I have P3 and if you knew how to work the program Anonymous then you could set the program NOT to start up everytime you turn on your computer. Don’t hide behind the Anyonymous. Be honest and state your name!

  7. March 9, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    DeafQueenBee

    Enlighten me how Preference can be set up! 🙂

  8. March 9, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    DeafQueenBee

    And to add one more thing.. why would you not believe this post when fact has been stated??

    #2 is true! Look at this page- http://www.purple.us/p3/download.html On left column, it did not say it works with MAC!

    #3 is true! Have you tried to uninstall it to fix error scripts you are getting with P3?? The best I have done is delete it manually and then re-install it. The reason I had to do this is because I tried to contact Tech Support few times and never heard nothing from them. Why is that??

    #4 as stated, it depends on which computer.. some will not experience this problem my friend didnt but I did..

    #5- Enlighten us how we can make the screen bigger?? If you can’t then it’s probably true!

    #6 is true! Look at http://www.purple.us/p3/Flasher It is a ringer and if P3 rings, the only thing that ring is this device. What if you have a device like http://www.sonicalert.com/products-signaling-systems-DB200.html then how can you use that with P3?? The device I just provided a link to is what make the whole house flash when a phone is ringing.

    So I have gave fact after fact after fact, and it doesn’t mean I am angry with Purple. As I said, Purple does have potential but it is simply poorly structured and can do better. They just do not think ahead like 5 years. If they had thought of something better than the Flasher like I just explained then they could sell more instead of losing money on a device that most likely will not sell. Honestly, I would not buy Flasher but I would buy something like MagicJack so I can hook the whole system to one jack so if P3 is ringing I can respond by walk directly to the computer and answer my call.

    So.. there you go!

  9. J
    March 9, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    P3 isn’t mac-compatible. This is ridiculous; macs are stellar for vid processing. Creating programs not compatible with macs hurts the deaf community.

    Also, this video has nothing to do with the recent Purple scandal.

  10. Purple Rep
    March 9, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    1) The most annoying part of P3 is when you first start up the computer, P3 is the very first software to open up preventing you from start/using other program until you click on “X” on right corner and will ask “Are you sure you want to exit?” UUGGHH!!!

    RESPONSE: New version of P3 give u an option of enable/disable startup. However, if you are using older version, you need to go to RUN command and type “msconfig” and look for tab titled “Startup”, then scroll down and look for “P3” and uncheck that, then click Apply and Ok. It will require startup. P3 will no longer startup.

    3) Sometime if you run into glitch with P3 software like launching it, you run into script errors.. have you tried to uninstall it so you could install to fix (patch over) p3?? Believe it or not, you can’t uninstall P3 at all! UUGGHH!!

    RESPONSE: You can actually uninstall it!!!! However, the problem is there are files hidden, which prevent itself from uninstalling. I am surprised YOU ACTUALLY HAVENT CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! They would help you uninstall it for you. This is common problem when customers cannot upgrade their P3. To be honest, newer version of P3 is much better than older version of P3!!!! You should try it. You can solve this by unhiding folders via Folder Options or use command code via Command Prompt. If you don’t know how, CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY WILL DEFINITELY HELP YOU!!!!

    4) Since you cannot close P3, you have to fully close it by clicking on P3 icon in the icon tray (next to time) and click “Close” OR look for “logout” button, then click X on it. P3 will close. If u dont do that and click X on P3, it will just minimize it. It would be NICE if you suggest an idea to change this to Customer Service.

    5) About Zoom in/Zoom Out feature, this is definitely nice feature! Suggest that to Purple Communications, Inc, have you? However, I think it may varied, depending on your webcam, if your webcam dont have zoom in/zoom out feature, then u have a problem, not P3? Again, P3 should add zoom in/zoom out if webcam have that capability, so please suggest that idea to Purple!!!!

    6) Ringer via USB is the only the beginning. Purple have great creative ways of technology and coding to make P3 so successful, it is still too early for Purple to come up with great product as this. If you are complaining about not having attention to flashing light from other room, why didnt you bring laptop with you? (Except Tower Computer, that u have a problem and I suggest you to give your idea to Purple) Purple can come up with Flasher that dont depend on wired technology so it’s only a beginning of this technology.

    Purple has great technology and coding team that continuously update the P3 software. For MAC, I can’t say that there will be P3 version for MAC but they might be working on it. Like I said, give feedback to Purple and they will most likely listen to customers’ suggestions. That’s what they server for: CUSTOMERS!

  11. jncutt
    March 9, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Hello and good afternoon! Here is a report from FCC that just was released this afternoon. I hope this clears up all the situations. Enjoy and a great evening! http://www.fcc.gov/nr030910.pdf

  12. jncutt
    March 9, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    In addition as well Purple Communication http://www.irconnect.com/prpl/pages/news_releases.html?d=186251

  13. March 9, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Purple Rep,

    Thanks for taking the time to reply to several of the issues P3 is having.

    First of all, have you actually tried calling Purple Support?? Do you have any idea how long it really take to hold?? Try like 40+ minutes before finally getting a respond? If your holding period were shorter, I doubt I would be on here making flaw comments about your P3 software? And to be frank, a long period of time being on hold sitting by VP is unacceptable and intolerable. However your taking time to give some solution on here is greatly appreciated and I wish it would be visually seen on Purple website as that would cut down the holding time on VP. (maybe it is already there??)

    Second, you suggested that several ideas I posted earlier should be shared with customer service. Hmm! Good point but actually why should I make these suggestions to customer service when it should be YOUR MARKETING TEAM RESPONSIBLE TO COME UP WITH THESE IDEAS!! They are paid salary and they should be the one coming up with what type of clients you have in your marketing field and come up with a solution. Their job is to research potential clients’ need and possible ‘want’ prior to creating a device/software that would meet their needs. You should already know that Usher Syndrome is pretty common in deaf community and I am surprised it is overseen(enlarging screen which can be found on VP-200)! You should already know that 10-15% deaf people are in 60+ age range that most likely don’t have a computer, therefore, will not be using P3 at all (How will Purple generate fund from that category??).

    Concerning the Flasher, you are suggesting me to bring laptop with me everywhere?? What a response! (JOKE!) The USB flashcard didn’t need to be wired and you could also sell a Flasher connected to a jack USB separately for traveling purpose such as motel and etc. You do realize that major of deaf people already have a wired ringing system at their home, right? The quicker way to make money would be selling a product that would simply connect the ringing system to the jack USB with Flasher as one of other “great” product being sold. That would give you two great products to sell instead of one. Not only have you shot yourself in the foot not being the first company to market that jack USB device but you have gave your potential competitor(s) the edge of coming up with that device before you. You could still sell Jack USB to VP-200 owners that don’t have computer and still generate some cash flow! That is where your Marketing Team should have done their job and I should say failed to do so.

    So to close this, I would say that Purple has a lot of restructuring to do and need to get busy real quick! That’s a lot of money your company owes and I would get real busy if I were the employee or owner of that company!

  14. areumoron
    March 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Anonymous,

    why you whine about Purple? Tell me of the other vrs company that can serve better to Deaf customers? NONE! I think you are biased against Purple for some reasons, you may be working for other vrs company, may be an ex-employee, and many more.

    Purple provide video and text relay accessibility! iChat to use hovrsim to call hearing friends, P3 for all in one service! Purple number that can be left in video message on your blackberry and iPhone! use i711 and IP-Relay in AIM on any platform of pagers and computer, and many more!!

    Glad that Purple is still in business!! Paint the town Purple!

  15. Frustrated
    March 9, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Why can’t I ununstall P3 from my netbook which I ordered from Dell not P3????? I feel like P3 were controlling our lives. I will never install P3 in my new laptop.

  16. SC
    March 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    P3 is champion/Best??? Hahah!!!! LOLLOL!!!! It is okay, not great.

    Long time ago, I used beta or older version of P3 Software on my laptop.

    I wants to reply to #5 Anonymous.
    1) The most annoying part of P3 is when you first start up the computer…
    True. I removed it via the registry before newer version or use MS Config per Purple rep said in #9.

    2) It doesn’t work with Mac yet!
    True because Purple still is using part of IE (Internet Explorer) codes so it won’t be mac-compatible. How do I know? I recognized IE error when I ran into the script errors. Disclaimer: my job is computer programmer/web developer but I am not working for any VRS company.

    3) Sometime if you run into glitch with P3 software like launching it, you run into script errors..
    It happened to me once upgrading the P3. So I contacted the customer service (I was lucky that their recorded video was not existed this time). Their tech support removed some things in the registry and removed P3 stuffs in the temp directory. Then reinstalled it. It is working charm!

    I would do it myself if it is same problem in future. I would not contact their customer service anymore. Why? Purple force you to watch their stupid recorded video more than 30 minutes before you finally getting a respond.

    6) WHY IN THE WORLD DID THEY CREATED THE RINGER DIRECTLY FROM THE USB!?!?!?
    Yep. I said same question. I had magicjack for using fax in past and it sucks now.

  17. SC
    March 9, 2010 at 9:08 pm
  18. SC
    March 9, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Frustrated

    See Purple Rep’s comment in #9. CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY WILL DEFINITELY HELP YOU!!!!

  19. March 9, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    areumoron,

    Whine?? Simply telling it like it is! Look at SC (#16) comments, which is after I posted, and he has similar experience. Enough said!

    In additional to your comment about i711, ichat, etc. I don’t use that stuff because it is really annoying in many cases but they are still a good product for some deafies who need to use it. However it is not Video Relay Service, it is a Relay Service which is becoming outdated! With modern technology, you should be able to plug your blackberry or other smartphone to laptop and use blackberry as modem so you can use VRS but that is another story!

    One more flaw Purple has is not offering 800 # so Purple account holder can give out toll-free number to hearing contact. It is really big help especially with deaf business owners who may have hearing callers calling you for business purpose from outside the local area. That has been brought up to Customer Service before and I have not heard nothing.

    Now you want to talk about other VRS company who has flaw.. OK! The only flaw I see with Sorenson is their interpreter- their interpreter suck big time while Purple HOVRS is CHAMPION!! Sadly, that is one of very few flaws Sorenson has compared to Purple. Their (SVRS) customer service is real great and have a very short holding time. Their (SVRS) email service is better and responsive within time manner as promised by their comment when submitting your issue. I have no comment on ZVRS because I have not tried their products yet but I have considered trying their Z4 just to see what it is all about.

    I have already said that and I will say it again! Purple does have potential but they need to restructure how they conduct their business. If done properly, they could be great! Maybe even better than Sorenson! Just think about that!

    SC- thanks for sharing your experience with Magicjack but I imagine that VRS company would have to design one that will work with their software so I am sure the experience would be differently since one working with VRS software would only make its purpose to ring, not to send or receive outgoing/incoming calls. I wouldn’t know anything about that though! Just saying!

  20. Purple Rep
    March 10, 2010 at 5:08 am

    @Anonymous – You do make several valid arguments and since you made ur ideas and suggestions on this blog. I REALLY REALLY HOPE PURPLE IS PAYING CLOSE ATTENTION TO CUSTOMER’S COMMENTS. Otherwise, it wouldn’t be successful without customers. Purple keep constantly updating their software by adding new features to it. We can’t expect a company to come up with a perfect product overnight.

    And one more thing, it may be irritating that you have to wait for Customer Care representative to answer your call. My tip is to get quicker answer is to call during the early opening of the Customer Care hours and that’s when not so many customers are calling at that time, but when it comes after noon, it get more calls and get more busier.

    To be honest, the waiting time was a little bit better than last year. When MVP came out, CC was busy as crazy and it makes a customer to wait for more than an hour. That’s when FCC said Purple need to reduce waiting time. When P3 first came out, of course, you expect CC to be very busy too. Purple DID NOT force you to watch the video!!!! It’s because you are in queue waiting line. If you don’t like Customer Care on VP, you can try email and it will take much longer for them to reply back to you.

  21. anon
    March 10, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Note to Purple Rep:

    Looks like Purple is a “quitter” or should I say Purple’s Engineer (hearing) have no clue how to fix MVP but instead focus on P3. The reason I stated that I gave a call to the CC and they checked with the upper Tier 3 and stated they are going to upgrade and improve. Do I buy this? You tell me. After Jerry Nelson gave a posting here on the Deafread back months say around October. What has happened? Not one thing being improved. So I do not buy into this BS stories coming from CC or as what u stated. It all lies trying to keep the customers in perspective and to focus on p3. I got news for you. I am still using MVP why, since Purple did nothing to focus on MVP, I took it to a top gun electronic person and they found alot of FLAWS on the hardware cards that whoever Purple sent to outside of the country did a LOUSY job and Purple wasted thousands or shall I say possibility millions of dollars for this LOUSY job. So why did Purple gave up? U are a Purple Rep, tell us up front. I know you do not have a def answer for sure. SAD but in a business corporation, you do not give up on a device you announced at the beginning and found its causing ruckus of problems to all customers and Purple Engineer could not figure it. Then keep it quiet and trying to forgo it. Thanks to this electronic guy who found problems that Purple Engineer (hearing) do not have a clue. I must admit P3 is NICE but it is a SOFTWARE. Easily to program and FIX. Show this posting to your top gun people (hearies) and beleive me Purple top gun hearies that handles Purple does not have knowledge in the Deaf Culture. One I now is an expert is Ron O bray. Wish he would remain the top person in charge. Ron knows Deaf Cultures need. Thank you and I am only letting you know what has happen to MVP for I did contact Purple and no one has no ANSWERS. Good day!

  22. March 10, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Purple Rep,

    I am glad to provide some constructive feedbacks for Purple on this blog and glad that you view it as way of how my entries can be one of few ways to improve Purple conducting their business.

    You suggested me to email Customer Service but unfortunately I have done that on several ocassionals and still never heard from them! I suspect they decided not to answer my email because I was asking how to uninstall P3 along with some error scripts. They probably thought my intention was to remove P3 permamently so they decided not to answer? Or maybe they are overwhelmed busy as you said and forgot to respond to my email.

    Anon, your post had me intriqued and I would say I believe your comment as I totally agree that abandoning MVP is Purple biggest mistake. They should have focus on it and release MVP2 as bug-free device like Sorenson with VP-100 then VP-200.

  23. VRS
    March 10, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    If you read FCC’s report on Purple- “While this
    agreement addresses Purple’s debt obligation to the government, it does not affect any possible
    government investigations into Purple’s business practices.” It sound like government investigations into Purple’s business practices are not over!

  24. DeafJan2
    March 10, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I have MVP and P#. I love it. Also I have VP200 and love it too. I like Purple and Sorenson.

  25. A.J.
    March 10, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Stop whining over a little bit about who/ what’s best. We should be happy that we have VRS otherwise we will have a hard life.

    Everyone has his/her own opinion.

  26. March 11, 2010 at 5:49 am

    A.J.

    First, you are correct that we should be grateful for having wonderful technology called VRS, however, this is America and that is Land of the Free to you! The freedom to comment, positive or negative, about anything without worry of being punished. Now there are deaf people that actually W-O-R-K like myself who get up early in the morning and work all day until afternoon. Unfortunately, with paycheck comes a price called T-A-X-E-S! We pay taxes out of our paycheck and guess where part of our taxes go to?? Yes! You guessed it! To FCC too! So technically I paid taxes that pay for VRS, therefore, I have a right to voice about VRS and how they can do better so they can meet our needs!! If you collect SSI/SSDI then yes your viewing is more appropriate since you sit at home all day doing nothing then you have to be grateful for what you have, gracefully.

    Good day!

  27. UT
    March 11, 2010 at 10:13 am

    That vlog was made by Fookembug. Not Purple. Know why? They work for Purple. Since the Fookem and Bug chose not to be neutral and represent diverse within the Deaf community. I NO longer want to subscribe Fookem Bug and this will be my last statement. Thanks!

  28. UT
    March 11, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I forgot to add one more thing. Check this out- a cool website. Seth is very netural in his work.

    http://ideafnews.com/new/

  29. Anonymous
    March 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Mac is expensive whereas PC is cheaper think about it due to the economy. PC is widely used in schools and business whereas Mac tends to be for art such as photographys and videos. Just sayin’ my opinion. 🙂

  30. March 13, 2010 at 11:50 am

    UT, we appreciate your feedback/comment however not ALL Fookem and Bug Editors work for Purple. You need to get the fact first before you type here.

    You are more than welcome to unsubscribe our blog. Two ways to do is either email us with your email address or when you subscribe, you can click ‘unsubscribe’ on the bottom of subscription by yourself.

    Have a good day,
    Fookem and Bug Editors

  31. Mike
    March 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    UT, get yourself some facts about the editors at Fookem and Bug. You have no idea what you are talking about. If you really pay attention to their life, then you will know their professional jobs (one of them are retired) so don’t assume that they work for the Purple. You posted an advertisting link on their website, it is like that you are whinning for seeing that Fookem and Bug having so many subcribers like me and you wanna our support and attention. Listen, are you always this stupid or are you just making a special effort today? Get lost, you little aso!

  32. A.J.
    March 13, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    UT, you think Seth is a netural in his work? Look at his website, there is different VRS banners while Fookem and Bug did not have one. Fookem and Bug want to share the news with us which is nothing wrong with it. Please go back to Barry Sewell’s herd.

    BTW, it’s none of your business if they work Purple or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.