Home > Videos > Why do some people make fun of deaf people?

Why do some people make fun of deaf people?

March 12, 2007

Sign language is everywhere in the world. It is a very old language since 1300’s. Some people still make fun of deaf people today, why do they? That would be nice if we put them the audist people on T.V commerical like ‘Dove Self-Esteem Fund’ (Dove is a name of the soap company). Click the link and watch the video.

Anyway, here’s a few examples of the videos that I found people making fun of deaf people on the youtube website. I would like to share with you.

Video #1

Video #2

Video #3

Video #4

Categories: Videos
  1. mishkazena
    March 12, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    One thing in common among all four videos are immature kids. When they grow up, they will be embarrassed for being jerks.

  2. debby
    March 12, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Elizabeth,
    Agree with you.

  3. JD
    March 12, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    Hey you need to check this out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?search=&mode=related&v=4Wljt66qVBw#
    As a Deaf man, I wanna snap his neck in a half. As for Deaf women… all I have to say… don’t go out with hearing man.
    JD

  4. JD
    March 12, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    You need to log on to watch youtube. It’s adult content.

  5. Anonymous
    March 12, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    What a fool people we have on this mother planet.

  6. March 12, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Videos 1 and 2 are ignorant and offensive. I think that 3 and 4 could be construed in a couple different ways. There’s a difference (to me as a person who can hear), between pantomiming in an attempt to be funny and making fun of deaf/blind people. I think that there’s a big gray area, like when people hit their chests and make the same repeated gestures.

  7. Jimactor
    March 12, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Thats ok They have lack of education about deaf people When they grow up and will realize that they did stupid things to make fun of deaf people
    Smile!

  8. A.J.
    March 12, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    I know that it is not only teenagers that make fun of deaf people but adults? yes. Since 1300’s? come on, where is the respect for deaf community? *sighs*

  9. March 13, 2007 at 12:12 am

    They do it out of stupidty and ignorance.

    If we can reach out to the community, we can reduce the ignorance. It takes education to remove the misunderstandings. If they continue to bash the deaf, then you know we cannot fix stupid. They will continue to be stupid in our eyes.

    So let’s spread out and educate them! Education is the key to reducing their ignorance.

    =)

  10. JFLMad
    March 13, 2007 at 12:41 am

    basically they do it out of stupidity and ignorance. What goes around will come around to them!!

  11. March 13, 2007 at 2:10 am

    Ignore those people and we have a lot of better things to do in our community.

  12. March 13, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Since I don’t understand what the guy was saying.. But I laugh at those hearing guys. They have no idea that many Deaf chicks are smarter than hearing guys. How will Deaf chicks get more money?? Date hearing men, collect their sperm, pop a kid out in 9 months, then a monthly paycheck for child support for 18 years.

    I applaud those Deaf chicks for ripping off the Hearing dicks!

  13. Elle
    March 13, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Show audist on television commerical is not a bad idea, though.

    I used to date a hearing guy, it won’t work at all because of communication barrier.

  14. MJ
    March 13, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Making jokes about deaf/handicap/survivor are cruel. Some kids and adults bully others because they are not confident about themselves. They probably know, if deaf people were given the same privileges and opportunities as non-deaf, most deaf people would achieve more than non-deaf people because they try harder. At least, that’s what I think – on those who don’t give up and hope for charity handed to them.

  15. Lantana
    March 13, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Ignore them. Life is too short to spend it nit picking. I have giggled and made fun of folks in the past. I once became hysterical at an airport when I saw a woman walk by in an expensive fur coat and RED tennis shoes! I couldn’t stop laughing!

    Lantana

  16. March 13, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    People should not make fun of others for their disabilities. It’s not only wrong but it’s a very immature and ignorant thing to do.

  17. Anonymous
    March 13, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I make fun of my own disabilities. My balance is horrible so sometimes I just fall over. Especially when I’m really tired. I’m color blind with dark colors. I can’t tell the difference between navy and black etc. I’m also dyslexic to a certain degree. Mostly with numbers.

    I don’t mind my friends teasing me about this stuff because I think it’s funny too. However making fun of other people for things they have no control over is cruel. But because humans are cruel there is no way to stop it. Sometimes it helps make you tougher but that is not an excuse for cruel behavior.

    I especially think its sad when people with learning disabilities are made fun of. There was one girl I knew people would pick on and she didn’t know they were making fun of her. It was quite sad but fun to yell at the kids to leave her alone.

  18. Renny
    March 13, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    I hope that most of you guys flag their video as inappropriate!

    YOU CAN FLAG THIER VIDEO AS INAPPROPRIATE!!

    Here’s how….

    Look for “flag as inappropriate” on the top of utube. Then scroll down and pick “hate speech” and last of the all… “PRESS THIS VIDEO”!!!

  19. March 14, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    If “ignorance is bliss,”..the people who made these very offensive videos..must be very blissful..(happy)..,..indeed!! :d

  20. Deafguy
    March 16, 2007 at 9:34 am

    I clicked the link what Renny posted. One thing that bothers me is that he said ‘Deaf Girls are Easy’. Oh, are they?

    I hope one of deaf girl comes up and kicks his balls out of his mouth and say, don’t ever think about messing around with DEAF GIRLS.

    He turns me off a big time.

  21. futureturp
    March 17, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    I have witnessed plenty of people teasing and ridiculing others that have disabilities. I have worked, for a few years, in a facility for people that have MRDD. Well, MR seems sort of common to me. Anymore, you will see and hear more and more about people with MR. However, whenever we go on outings to the Mall or somewhere out in public, they will get stares, people will think and act like MR is contagous and back away. It is my belief that ignorance is just a huge factor in all ridiculing in our society today. If people were educated better on how things happen, how people come to get MR, or a physical disability, then I believe that the general public would be a lot more different. However, this is America. People believe whatever they want to believe and learn whatever they want to learn, or rather not to learn. Ignorance is the problem. Just sit back, ignore them, and let Karma kick them in the ass!

  22. Anonymous
    March 23, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Oh my goodness. It is unnecessary thing to do.

  23. Lisa Marie
    July 27, 2007 at 8:51 am

    I have seen real ones…it digusted me.

  24. EDWARD
    January 23, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    you all have to remember that all over the world will never understand different people like race, handicap, or religious; that because they or those people only focus one thing not other.
    i could not explain everything in this reply you will have to figure it out yourself.
    buy the way…not all deaf girls are easy.

  25. kuokoa
    August 29, 2008 at 12:43 am

    They are still making fun of each others. That teaches discrimination and will never stop. Life pushes around made it look so short life. Depth inside they weren’t proud for what they did but impossible willing to be apologize. Don’t let them push you down or you welcome your month wide open back at them. No one will ever understand this but the answer is your sin does it for you. Not us. A day of angry will come to you. No one want it but your sin will do it anyway. Hard part is you don’t have power to stop your sin for wrongdoing.

    Only two things for people to do: Learn or Unlearn.

  26. kuokoa
    August 29, 2008 at 1:19 am

    What I meant… Learn: You fight sin to do what is right. Unlearn: You become blindness by sin.

    How?
    Emotions. The problem is the most of people listen to their emotions. It’s very sensitive because sin is power than you.

    Humble people who tends wise to use their thoughts, obvious, they won’t let the feelings take them down.

    Are you wonder if I’m deaf or hearing? Male or Female? Is it important? Either I choice to be, I am still a sinner.

  27. Anonymous
    October 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Because they’re assholes.

  28. Tom
    July 12, 2009 at 5:13 am

    The reason people make fun of deaf people is because deaf people are assholes. Seriously. Listen to yourselves, you behave like you’re some sort of race, a minority that’s being repressed. You are just PEOPLE WITH DEFECTS. The deaf ‘community’ is a joke, you come across like the French – permanently pissed off because the world doesn’t use your inferior and difficult to learn language.

    You say ‘hearing people can be so stupid’ and don’t seem to be aware quite how moronic a statement that is. You have a ‘deaf olympics’ for god’s sake, what does hearing have to do with anything physical? You want to subject your children to a life as an inferior (deaf) being because you want another convert to your ridiculous community.

    Because you don’t want to accept that your DEFECT makes you LESS THAN a NORMAL person, you create an entire race and mythology so you don’t have to face the truth.

  29. July 17, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Tom,

    You remind me of a guy wearing a sheep mask, click this link: https://fookembug.wordpress.com/2007/11/16/you-know-who-i-hate-deaf-people/ I won’t be surprised if you were rejected by the Deaf people because you’re a audist fool! When God was throwing intelligence down to the Earth, you were holding an umbrella. When you pass away and people ask me what the cause of your death was. I will say your stupidty. There is no vaccine against stupidty so keep talking someday you’ll say something intelligent!

    -Bug

  30. Elaine
    July 17, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Tom I wouldn’t call deaf people “assholes” if I were you. look in the mirror your an asshole yourself..
    be careful what you say about deaf people your being racist and not only that you never know your child or grandchild can become deaf.

    I was once a hearing person I lost my hearing at age 12 years old so I know how hearing people can be.
    I think your defected yourself you need to go see a shrink…

    Your grandparents become deaf by age and you will become deaf when you get older so shut the fk. up…..

  31. Hacker (Hearing People Beware!
    July 17, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Tommy, you’re a fucking Moron that doesn’t even know what you’re talking about. Watch your fucking mouth.

    Deaf people will hang you before you know it.

    Btw…You’ve been drinking too much breast milk cuz your Mommy says you’re ignorant as a baby with no IQ!! She kept feeding you with her nipple til you’re 20 years old! Now your Momma is nipple infected!!

    You fucking retard!! Hiding behind your computer is a wimp.

    Go out and educate yourself and learn about Deaf Culture before you passed judgement onto others!!

    Secret Agent will be following you and be hacking your computer

  32. Tom
    July 17, 2009 at 7:26 am

    I am really dissapointed with the quality of replies I’m getting from you deaf morons. I expected to have some intelligently thought out argument to argue against but instead I get a load of “shut up you’re stupid lol” idiocy.

    fookembug – the sheep guy is basically correct, and you have really poor writing skills

    Elaine – if my kids were deaf I’d make sure they were integrated with society at large, not enclaved in some retarded cult like you.

    Hacker – learn to write english at all before you attempt to argue in it.

  33. Fan
    July 17, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    hello there

  34. Fookem and Bug Fan
    July 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Tom, how come you replied? You understood their English. Yours is not perfect too. You wrote “english”, it is incorrect. You are supposed to write “English”. Bug (NOT fookembug)and hacker’s English is fine. If you expect to have some intelligently thoughts (not thought)from them, they DID it! You attempted to insult them and their intelligences. Nice try! If you don’t like my opinion of you -improve yourself!

  35. Sharon
    July 18, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    To Tom,

    Why are you here? They don’t have time for your audist incidents. You are a troublemaker. This site is not for psychotic loner!

  36. New Mexico resident
    July 18, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Tom, you love them because you replied back.

  37. Big Mike
    July 18, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    LOL @ NM Resident! That’s true!

  38. Elaine
    July 30, 2009 at 4:27 am

    Tom ,
    shut up serious I dont have a problem you didnt read my comment I grew up hearing so I know how they can be.
    I honestly would feel very sorry for your children having a father like you.
    maybe right now you are saying what you will do if your child is deaf, but when it really does happen you would not be speaking.

    I think you are in a cult Tom boy do I want to meet you and slap your face so badly…

  39. Marie
    August 6, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Tom,

    what is your problem with deaf people ? was your girlfriend deaf and maybe she left you because your an ass and you decided to throw the blame on deaf people ??

    I’m hearing and I love deaf people they are not deffected you need to go to a class and learn about deaf people.
    I think you are the one who is defected in the head because you are talking so horrible about deaf people..

    TOM, GO TAKE YOUR MEDICATION BECAUSE IT LOOKS LIKE YOU HAVEN’T BEEN TAKING THEM LATLY..

  40. Stephanie
    May 4, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Tom I agree with you. Im a deaf girl too. I know i intend to be somewhat dumber then the Normal people who hear. I had to learn the hard way that i was stupid but i was born with it but that is no excuse. I do work harder at everything to be my best truth may be that im a hard worker but i will never be intellgent im mentally chanaged due to be a premature baby. Yes I understand that on the Iq test that there is the word uneducated and that means stupid but below uneducated “Stupid there is mentally challeged which is stupider than stupid which is not my falut or any other hearing impaired so they do tend to soften words up like special i understand that im may be a hard worker and a kind person but im am not equal i do think its unfair that they give disabled people all this extra stuff when people with more brains cause they know how to speak 100 percent and hear every detail can do so much more I respect how you feel. Yes I was teased in school mocked thrown down stairs the reason why was kids were proably annoyed with a dumb deaf girl walking around thinking she was equal and part the group and yes I was that girl. Now I know the truth hard to accept. Even if i didn’t choose to be born this way i didn’t

  41. September 28, 2010 at 11:17 am

    People make fun of me all the time. but i really don’t care because when they have kids they probably would be like other deaf people and when they do, it ain’t gonna be fun when they do have kids… I have 2 kids of my own. Life is to hard to bring kids in to this world right now! Trust me it hard on me and im only 15 years old i had my first child at 12. and my 2nd child at 15. Im about to be 16 in feb 2, 1995. that’s when i was born was in 1995. so people all i got to say is that all you can do is talk to GOD and he will judge them. GOD is my everything. that’s all you gonna really have in life is God or the DEVIL. YOU CAN PICK ONE! SO GOD BLESS YALL AND YOUR FAMILIES…..

  42. September 28, 2010 at 11:20 am

    YOU JUST DON’T KNOW HOW MY LIFE HAS BEEN!!! MY PARENTS IS HELPING ME RAISE MY KIDS. IM IN SCHOOL, AND THEN WHEN I GET HOME I FINISHED TAKING CARE OF THEM. I LOVE MY KIDS. MY KIDS DON’T GET SPANKING AT ALL. ONE IS 2 YEARS OLD AND THE OTHER ONE IS A MONTH AND A HALF. SO I JUST HAD MY 2ND CHILD YESTERDAY! IM SO HAPPY BOUT IT!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.