Home > Opinion > What Happened on March 13, 1988?

What Happened on March 13, 1988?

March 13, 2007

I. King Jordan becomes the first Deaf president of Gallaudet University
after the Deaf President Now demonstrations.

Did you regret to have him as president of Gallaudet University after what he had done for 18 years?

Categories: Opinion
  1. Anonymous
    March 13, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    He is a traitor.

  2. March 13, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    I was a faculty advisor of Student Body Government when President I. King Jordan was announced president. I was shocked and, of course, displeased. There were certain “duckies” who rooted for him, and they told me that IKJ was like a compromise. I was extremely reluctant about IKJ, because I was never impressed by his work as my academic affairs dean. He also failed a research project involving (and exploiting) my ex-wife Thelma who has been extremely silent about it. By 2000 when IKJ appointed JKF as provost, I began to suggest to a few friends whether IKJ was overstaying his welcome at Gallaudet University.

  3. Albert W
    March 13, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Yes, I have worshipped him for years. I have always enjoyed my students to meet him when we were in DC. I had a large poster of him in the classroom. The students yearly were required to write term papers about him. Until I found his true color, I tore the poster in front of the students. I removed his name from list of the Deaf heroes. He was really stole his soul to Devil by arresting 135 bright future Deaf students, fired workers, injuried the protesters, holding their education for almost more than a month, cancelled homecoming weekend… threatened anyone who expressed their freedom of thought, not recognized ASL as an official language, too many oralists and ABG on the BOTs, stealing/wasting money, dividing the community….. and many more reasons. the building/gallery were named after him and his wife?????? really, I can’t look at him anymore.

  4. todos la vie
    March 13, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    what’s the point of this blog?

  5. Jean Boutcher
    March 13, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    I had never supported I. King Jordan for presidency of Gallaudet University. He himself had NOT supported Deaf President Now. He said to the media in 1973 that he did not consider himself “deaf”; he said he was “late-deafened hearing.” Protesters (deaf professors and alumni) did not really know Jordan. Those who studied under him and who closely worked with him knew him and did not want him for presidency. He was two-faced towards deaf people. I was very fortunate to have a late-deafened roommate, a psychology major, who knew him. She was quietly upset when protesters rooted for Jordan. Actually, they should have protested when the BoT eliminated Dr. Davila from the six-finalist group, but they did not protest until the BoT selected a hearing applicant, Dr. Zinser. I. King Jordan, who had opposed to the DPN protest, came and saw and conquered Dr. Zinser’s crown. Why did the protesters not protest? They did not know him well. All they knew was that Jordan could not hear and used sign language. They bought him! They bought the dictatorial one.

    And the 1988 DPN protesters blundered!

    Jean Boutcher

  6. Jean Boutcher
    March 13, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Addendum:

    After I. King Jordan came and saw and conquered Dr. Zinser’s crown, he had been saying ARROGANTLY and BOASTINGLY in various printed matters: “I am the luckiest guy in the world” instead of praying to the Almighty Lord,
    “I feel humble, O Lord, that both the BoT and the protesters supported me.” Then 18 years later, he arrested 133 protesters.

    History will repeat the mistake if we do not pay any attention.

    Jean Boutcher

  7. DE
    March 14, 2007 at 12:04 am

    Roz Rosen said it best… “DPN is really about Deaf PEOPLE Now”. So.. let’s celebrate today in honor of DEAF PEOPLE NOW!

    DE

  8. debby
    March 14, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    How many students had kissed IKJ on graduation day? One of my classmates kissed him in 2005. I wonder how he feels about him today.

  9. KH
    April 26, 2007 at 3:15 am

    hi how sad he did not practice HONESTY is the best policy…KH

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.