Home > Videos > Dancing With The Stars – *Marlee Matlin*

Dancing With The Stars – *Marlee Matlin*

March 19, 2008

Last night Marlee Matlin danced in Dancing With The Stars show and did well. Her total score from the judges were 22 points and she is in the 3rd place standing among the women. The top scores are 28 points (Kristi Yamaguchi) and 24 points (Priscilla Presley).

I encourage you all to vote for Marlee Matlin…show them that Deaf can dance!! The scoring is divided evenly between the judges and the viewers at home, ensuring unpredictable outcomes at the end of every show. Meaning that we, the viewers, can affect the outcome of the vote..imagine if the whole deaf community vote for Marlee Matlin and she would win it easily with our votes!

Go to Dancing With The Stars website to see how you can vote. *Phone lines, text votes (AT&T customers only) and online polls will open at the top of each Monday night performance show so that viewers can vote for their favorites. Phone and text lines will stay open for 30 minutes after the end of the show. Online voting will remain open until noon (Eastern Time) on the day of the results show. Viewers can vote via phone, text message or online for their favorites ONLY on the night they perform.

Transcript:

EXCERPT (beginning at 3:31 on YouTube video above):

TOM BERGERON: Welcome back to Dancing with the Stars. (Applause) The second night of our two-night premier event continues with our final couple.

(Audience member in background:) Wooo!

(Applause and also sounds of enthusiastic cheers of young people)

ANNOUNCER (British accent, off camera): Dancing the cha cha cha…(applause continues throughout)…Marlee Matlin and her partner Fabian Sanchez.

(Upbeat, simple guitar intro with rhythm provided by high-hat symbols from drummer, plus bongos giving a slightly exotic sound. Music starts in a somewhat simple in order to set up a slow build-up of intensity.)

(Moderate cheers from audience, in expectation of dance just starting)

(Voice of popular singer Gloria Estefan on tape:)

(Singing:) You say I know it’s a waste of time
There’s no use tryin’

(Audience member in background:) Wooo!

(Moderate cheers)

So scared that life’s gonna pass you by
Your spirit’s dyin’
Not long ago
I could feel your strength and your devotion
What was so clear, is now overcast

(Cheers building in intensity)

With mixed emotions–(echo:) emotions, emotions

(Electronic drum sounds)

Deep in your heart is the answer
Find it, I know will pull you through

(Music makes uplifting transition)

(Gloria on tape and back-up singers:) Get on your feet

(Cheers)

Get up and make it happen
Oh, get on your feet
Stand up and take some action

Get on your feet

(Music coalesces into a driving beat. Some audience members clapping in sync.)

Get up and make it happen
Get on your feet
Stand up and take some action

(Music ends with slightly truncated feeling, which is understandable or expected due to the format of the television show)

(Extended and enthusiastic cheers and applause, and whistling from audience.)

TOM BERGERON: This is Jack. (pleasant laughter)

(Cheers continues, subsiding in expectation of panelists’ comments)

TOM BERGERON: Alrighty…Carrie Ann.

CARRIE ANN INABA: Ah, you know that was almost unbelievable, and I wouldn’t have believed it unless I’d seen it. What you did out there was *so* inspiring.

(Loud cheers and applause)

CARRIE ANN: That being said, so that everybody knows, we will be judging you based on what we see on the dance floor, because that is what’s fair. And I thought that was fantastic. You are so fluid. You move with such ease–(Applause drowns out Carrie’s words)–that I think you’ve got a great (indistinct) that will take you far in the competition.

TOM: Len.

LEN GOODMAN (British accent): Well, I’ve gotta say, I agree. You know, you–it was an amazing performance. You came out. You had great choreography. I think she did a very good job, Fabian. There were steps and holds, steps apart, the lovely mix.

(Applause)

LEN GOODMAN: You’ve gotta (indistinct)–just fling your arms sometimes. Just try to control your arms when you dance, but I thought you did a great job. It was very, very good. (Sincere, non-patronizing tone of voice.)

(Applause)

TOM BERGERON: Bruno.

BRUNO (thick French accent): Well. I–I sing from the same tune. It’s unbelievable and so life-affirming what I see. You may not see it, but the music is (emphatic tone of voice:) running through your blood.

(Applause)

BRUNO: I counted all the way through, and you hardly missed a beat. I counted all the song (sic). Very, very well done. I can’t believe it.

(Applause and cheers)

TOM BERGERON: Congratulations, Hun.

(Extended applause and cheers….”Woo”….”Yeah”…)

TOM BERGERON: Very good.

TOM BERGERON (reads from teleprompter): We have got some extraordinary, special guests lined up for our results show. Next Tuesday night, the hottest-selling concert act on the planet, The Jonas Brothers will perform–(applause)–Plus, the first two couples in season six will be, unfortunately….eliminated. Samantha?

SAMANTHA HARRIS: Great job out there, and Jack, nice to have you here. Marlee’s interpreter, of course.

FABIAN SANCHEZ: You can’t get rid of him.

SAMANTHA HARRIS: (laughing) You can’t get rid of him. It’s crazy.

SAMANTHA: Well, ev’rybody’s dying to know how–as you described yourself: “a profoundly deaf person”–you went out there and did what you just did?!

MARLEE MATLIN (voice of interpreter): Well, you know. I just followed the beat of my own heart. I just followed my heartbeat and I had Fabian help me listen to my heart. And you know it takes a good teacher to be able to do, and I guess I must be a good student. So there you go. But thank you so much to Fabian… I’m just having a good time!
SAMANTHA HARRIS: Well–And you know what? You look like you’re having a good time. Everybody has their reason for taking part in this show. What’s yours?

MARLEE MATLIN: Well, for me–You know, as a mother of four, I’m doing it for my kids. I–why not. Just why not? Life is short! Life is short.

(Applause)

SAMANTHA HARRIS: Alright, and Fabian welcome to the show. Your first season here. Let’s get your scores.

ANNOUNCER (British accent): The judges have their scores.

(Sound effects providing tension.)

ANNOUNCER: Carrie Ann Inaba!

CARRIE ANN: Seven!

(Tympani drums)

ANNOUNCER: Len Goodman!

LEN: Seven! (Tone of voice similar to a military person in the field at a marching review, as in a British sense of camaraderie.)

(Tympani drums)

ANNOUNCER: Bruno Tonioli

BRUNO: Eight!! (Shouts enthusiastically)

(Cheers and applause)

SAMANTHA: Alright, a twenty-two out of thirty for Marlee and Fabian. (Begins reading from teleprompter:) If you want our Oscar winner to take home another “prestigious award” (half-laugh), then you need to vote for them. Of course, numbers are on the screen. You can go do ABC dot com and vote that way. Everybody, you know they’re dancing next week, (but) still need your votes tonight. Tom?

TOM BERGERON: Thanks, Samantha.

(End excerpt.)

Categories: Videos
  1. March 19, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    http://www.redlasso.com/ClipPlayer.aspx?id=b69c9f4f-e945-46ec-93c4-1245c2cfffcf

    Vid clip of Marlee dancing from Red Lasso. It has CC, too.

  2. Voter
    March 19, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I would vote for whoever I think is good. I don’t vote out of favorism.

  3. March 19, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Thanks for posting this because I missed it last night. 🙂 Much appreciated.

    ~ LaRonda

  4. March 19, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Where we tonight shall camp?….The top blogs of the day. the newest report , see and reply me some comments. Thanks.

  5. deb ann
    March 19, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I’m so sorry to say that. I can’t really vote for her since it’s not in my heart. I like the other one better. I can’t vote out of favorism, either. The others look so much better and I can tell that they deserve better scores and they get a very strict message from the judges than M.M do. That’s my opinion.

  6. Jodi in Holland
    March 20, 2008 at 3:48 am

    As nice as it is that a deaf person has been chosen to dance , Marlee was not one of the best , her steps were just too simple. I think we all should vote for who we thought DANCED the best, not just because we are deaf and we should vote for Marlee.
    I do wish her well, but the contest gets HARDER AND HARDER as it goes on….
    Again like DebAnn said,,, its just my opinion….

  7. Mark Maki
    March 20, 2008 at 6:55 am

    Thank you for sharing this show. I saw the show myself at home. I dont vote anybody. because I dont watch the dancing with the stars but I just wanted to see how she turned out the dance. I think she did very well. I agreed that the judges must follow the strict rule not favoritism.

  8. Al
    March 20, 2008 at 7:09 am

    You think Marlee Matlin is something? How about a deaf LEADER (as opposed to a follower)? Joseph Templin was featured on CNN a decade ago for his prowess in swing dancing. He made it to the U.S. Open without being able to hear a single note! Incredible.

    http://transcripts.cnn.com/TRANSCRIPTS/0010/22/sm.11.html

  9. Sissy
    March 20, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Sorry, i dont vote her.

  10. Deafkathy
    March 20, 2008 at 8:31 am

    If you go in the website “Dancing with the Stars” and vote, you have 6 votes allowed so I voted for Marlee and few other ladies that did well.

  11. Billythegoat
    March 20, 2008 at 10:09 am

    She got 22 points and she is in third place which is a good start for her so give her some time. You must remember that most hearing people like to listen the music and dance whatever they want to while Marlee does not. It is hard being deaf and listen the music/follow the beat. Again, I think she is doing ok.

  12. March 20, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I’m really interested to see how Marlee does. She’s the first deaf contestant on the show – and I didn’t even have to look that up! What’s her strategy? This is going to be interesting. Marlee says: “Fabian is my music.” It looks like she’ll be relying on a combination of her natural rhythmn, cues from her partner, and for some music she can feel the beat.

    They’re doing a cha-cha-cha. Marlee looks beautiful. They have a nice chemistry on the floor and they’re working the crowd – everyone’s on their feet clapping. I think they did really well.

    Carrie Ann thought Marlee was inspiring, but they’re not going lightly on her. Len thought they had great choreography, but cautioned her to control her arms. Bruno was effusive in his praise and described the dance as “life affirming.”

  13. h...
    March 20, 2008 at 11:13 am

    she looked great tho. she danced better than other 2 or so ladies. good for her.

  14. Jade V.
    March 20, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Yeah Marlee thrilled me!! I knew it! She did a good job. At first of all, I was soo nervous for Marlee right before she started dancing in the center of the audience. Once she done dancing and relieved me!! Because I wanted her to prove the hearing people that they are wrong about her and the deaf people!!! I will do the same thing and want to learn how to play the guitar soon!! I dont mind doing that as I believe in me if I learn it. By the way, I am deaf and very human being just like hearing people. Well I am going to vote her! Two thumbs up and good luck! Jade (Van Nuys,CA)

  15. AJA
    March 21, 2008 at 4:20 am

    very nice job but knowing it will be harder with different dances later on.
    If Marlee can prove us that she can make any difference later on then I will give her my full support. good luck to her and her partner.

  16. indianapolis617
    March 21, 2008 at 6:36 am

    DEAR M.M.,

    YOU DID WELL, GREAT !!!! HANG IN THERE !!!! DO WHAT THE BEST YOU CAN DO IT… IT IS VERY TRUE, LIFE IS SHORT, THAT’S RIGHT…. TAKE YOUR TIME ABOUT DANCING, FEELING VIBRATION MUSIC AND GREAT LISTEN ALSO ATTENTION WHAT THEY SAYS, IT IS GOOD FOR YOU….KEEP BIG SMILE YOURSELF… YOU SHOULD BE VERY PROUDLY YOURSELF ON YOUR OWN LIFE.

    DONNA K. THOMAS

    I AM DEAF AND ASL.

  17. hmmm
    March 21, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Sorry that I didn’t vote for her. Do your best next time.

  18. fg
    March 22, 2008 at 10:58 am

    No vote for her ..too artifically person…

  19. March 26, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Nice Transcript!

  1. March 26, 2008 at 3:01 pm
Comments are closed.