Home > Deaf Thoughts > Child of Deaf Adults

Child of Deaf Adults

February 5, 2013

By Jimactor

Categories: Deaf Thoughts
  1. greenkountry803
    February 5, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    HELLO I AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT CODA. PLEASE EMAIL ME MORE . I AM VERY INSTERTING IN THIS THANK YOU JANE

  2. Paul Levenson
    February 5, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Jim, you made a valid point about not specifying Deaf or Hearing in CODA term. Have you also thought about CODBA? (Child of Deaf Blind Adult)? Thanks

  3. Anonymous
    February 5, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    Jim! I have had the same issue about it for many years and never found an answer to it. I stopped asking around about it because they felt offended when I brought up the issue. If you find an answer, I would appreciate it if you would share with us.

    Thank you in advance, Jim

    Jack Clifton
    Texas

  4. NL
    February 5, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    It is a mind-boggling issue! I agree with what you mentioned, but I feel that hearing “children” of deaf adults feel that CODA is their own label.

  5. Ralph Shreeman/Laura Shimizu
    February 5, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Yea, u are right cuz I have two hearing chlidren, they are good sign language since they grow up. Anyway, keep talking about it. Thanks!!

  6. Bob
    February 5, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    You and I are DODA (Deaf of Deaf Adults) I feel that we are not CODA. Thanks.

  7. Cheryl Kitchens
    February 5, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    This still good question about CODA and KODA. We have 4 generations deaf families and some hearing in too. Are we still part of CODA/KODA ? Let me know… Thanks

  8. Jeanny
    February 6, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    Hi Jim,

    I’ve always wondered about that, too. I would say I’m a CODA sometimes but I liked one of the comment below, DODA but does that mean hearing of deaf adults should have used HODA? I feel CODA is too broad for its purpose. Child Of Deaf Adult. I’m a child of deaf adult, what does that makes me? CODA, DODA or just simply Jeanny? My daughter is CODA but she hates to be called CODA. She always said, I have a name. She didn’t experience much like what our older generation had experienced, maybe that’s why??

    Jeanny (Birchall) Wooten
    Indiana

  9. Anonymous
    February 6, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    Here in Britain we call them HMFD, Hearing, Mother – Father Deaf. 🙂

  10. jimactor
    February 7, 2013 at 8:06 am

    Bob Pls look at English Dictionary Child means? So its general for everyone u said that u and me are DODA why do they have to label us as deaf? why cant it be hearing of deaf adults? or HCODA hearing child of deaf adults U know that we never say that we are doda We tend to say that we come from deaf family Smile I just love to discuss about this issue which interest me to know why did they pick child instead of adult

  11. February 13, 2013 at 8:51 am

    I feel that CODA most commonly applies to hearing children with Deaf parents. However, I agree that technically, based on the word child, it could include deaf or hard-of-hearing as well. A deaf man before called me CODI, he said the i was to indicate I was a CODA that became an interpreter? lol – I enjoyed your vlog discussion thanks!

  12. February 22, 2013 at 12:07 am

    CODA is too broad term that may confuse ignorant hearing people, i agree with you, Jim. What is about HCODA/DCODA which Hearing Child of Deaf Adult and Deaf Child of Deaf Adult?? I agree with you about Deaf parents’ dependency on not only hearing but also Deaf children for English communication. I heard some frustrated, impatient stories from those like you, Jim, about how ignorant their Deaf parents were and how embarrassed these Deaf children as adults, felt about their Deaf parents. Those experiences were just like what many negative attitude hearing children as adults felt about their Deaf parents. I think that it is time for those hearing former children of Deaf Adults (should be “Parents” instead of “Adults” in my opinion) to recognize the parallel experiences between two groups of children of Deaf Parents.

    Jim, you have to influence them to change that habit of referring “CODA” to what was defined for 30-50 years. To do that goal of changes for new terms, you need a kind of club for all CODA people–hearing and Deaf to join and to discuss new terms to use instead.

    For example I depended my one year older sister about what mother or any older family member said to me, by having her interpreting to me sometime by my mother’s order. I considered her as an older SODA which means older sibling with bad paternalistic attitude toward Deafness, ASL and Deaf Culture as non existence until she took one ASL course too late for her old age. It impacted her positively that she was told by her ASL teacher of all what she already learned from me during our childhood but doubt me all the time until that time of her taking ASL course with a teacher outside her family circle. However, she still doubt me about many new things being discussion in Deaf Culture community nowadays. So I gave up on her. Some Deaf people’s younger hearing siblings as their family interpreters, have better attitude toward Deaf Culture and ASL if those Deaf people are first child types whose authority would be looked up and respectful by their younger hearing siblings, than the reverse. I was almost last child of 7-kid family and therefore experienced negatively of my older siblings’ paternalistic-attitude oppression all of my life. I had to avoid them as much as I could. Whenever the terms, SODA and FODA are discussed, I am one of those who experienced with either of those kinds, are right people to ask about definitions of those terms–SODA and FODA.

  13. April 19, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    Interesting thought, I never focused on CODA being Deaf or hearing but just being a child of deaf adults. I enjoyed reading the different comments and enjoyed watching your video.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.