Home > Announcement, Vlog > Race for Space

Race for Space

March 14, 2012

Vlog by Eric Shear

Hello. My name is Eric Shear, and I am studying for a honours bachelor’s degree in space science at York University in Toronto, Canada. Even though I am in Toronto, I grew up in Washington State. Space has always been my passion.

In summer 2011, I led a student zero-gravity experiment on NASA’s Vomit Comet plane in Houston, Texas. I had the privilege of experiencing zero-gravity, plus lunar and Martian gravity.

Now I have an opportunity to become the world’s first deaf astronaut. This is something I have been working on all my life, so I would really appreciate your vote.

Here is how it works. If I get the highest number of votes for the American contest, I get to become the American finalist and compete against the finalists from other countries. The ultimate winner will be selected based on intelligence, motivation for space, physical fitness, and psychological stability.

The Toronto Metro newspaper is sponsoring this contest. They have partnered with Space Experience Curacao, a Dutch company. This company has a runway and some land on the island Curacao, just north of Venezuela.

Here is a picture of my ride, the Lynx spaceplane. It is currently under testing at XCOR Aerospace in California. It can hold two people side by side and go up to 110 km (68 miles). That’s past the boundary of space. It can also stay in space for 3 minutes before it falls back to earth.

When I win this, I will fly on this sometime in 2014, depends on when it is ready. Thank you for your vote! 

I forget to mention that you can vote once a day on one computer, or multiple times a day using your smart phone. You can also use more than one computer to vote multiple times a day.

The vote ends on March 25, 2012.

http://metroinspace.com/us/view/cp2i/

Let’s unity and vote him to make his dream comes true.

Categories: Announcement, Vlog
  1. Kate
    March 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Hi! My sister has been working at NASA and she did a project too on the ‘barf plane’ last summer. I’m wondering if you have met her before; her name is Natalie Spencer. She’s hearing but knows sign language because of me (I’m Deaf). We are from Washington state too and it would be great if we could meet up together someday when my sister is back home from college! 🙂

  2. Jonathan Durand
    March 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    I vote for Eric!!! Best of Luck!!

  3. March 14, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    Whoo hoo Eric!!

  4. Barry Carpenter
    March 16, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    You have my VOTE count!
    KEEP UP GOOD WORK!

  5. barbara smith
    March 17, 2012 at 7:38 am

    YOU HAVE MY VOTE.. BEST OF LUCK !! GO FOR IT..

  6. Mike
    March 21, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I voted!!! GO FOR IT!!! We live here in New Mexico.. land of enchantment and also where you can fly into outer space and land here!!! South of here.. Sooo.. Good Luck!!! BTW .. I am also from NW and moved here from Seattle!!!! Way to go Eric!

  7. Jessica Renner
    March 22, 2012 at 7:49 am

    I voted… way to go Eric G’luck !!! 🙂

  8. September 7, 2012 at 5:14 am

    Found you weblog by way of search engines (Yahoo, Google). I should say I am certainly impressed with your weblog and posts. Actually I am write up a report on ” Space atmospher” and it helped me with a mischievousness glance.

  1. March 21, 2012 at 9:11 am
  2. March 22, 2012 at 6:12 am
Comments are closed.