Home > Deaf Blog/Vlog > Interviewed with Andy Vasnick

Interviewed with Andy Vasnick

January 21, 2012

By Jimactor

Summary:

If you want to buy ASLFILMS DVD  go to http://www.aslfilms.com

I want to say Thank you to ASLFILMS for letting me to use their pictures of Andy Vasnick which he worked in Wrong Game and Gerald

Categories: Deaf Blog/Vlog
  1. Ralph Shreeman/Laura Shimizu
    January 21, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Hi Jim, I like to watch this video about Andy Varnick. He is really strong and can stand for ASLfilm that is wonderful. And I watch the movie what is both of this, they are good and some funny. Thank u!

  2. Penny
    January 21, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    It is nice of you to host 85th party for Mr. Andy Vasnick. I enjoyed watching you interview him and could tell that both of you are long time good friends. I would appreciate if you can get his attention to read my message here.

    Dearest Andy Vansick,

    This has been a long overdue. I doubt you remember me because it has been a long time ago. When I was 16 years old I attended Jr. Nad (I think) at Washington State School for the Deaf. You were invited to present awards to winners for talent show. When you announced my name for second place and not only that you signed “Raindrop keeps fallin on my head” the song I signed in ASL. I was shocked to win this award because many students were in contest. I was flattered to receive award from you because you were and are well known as former NTD actor. I thanked you for award and was going back to my table but you stopped me and pulled me back to stand next to you. You told the audience that you will see me at NTD one day. I was stunned and honored to hear this from well known actor—YOU. After your annoucement I got bashed by few deaf students. They were disgusted that you believed in me and could see my talents/potentials. Your words were much stronger and powerful and I chose to believe you and not them.

    I enrolled at Deaf school in Berkeley when I was 13 years old…I went through a lot…dealing with identity crises and etc. I did not have many Deaf professionals to give me support. I always get a lot of positive support from who? hearing professionals for many years and still do today. How ironic I know because I am Deaf myself. You are one of few who made me to believe in myself. For many years since I received award from you…your name has never never never been forgotten.I used your example to give praises and encouragement to my dear friend who has finally published a book. I believe in her as much as you believed in me. Thank you.

    Again, thank you for believing in me. I have never tried for NTD and I often asked myself why I did not. Keep up playing in more movies. You deserve applause, recognition and honor. We do not have many Deaf professionals who are true to themselves like you.

    Happy birthday, Dearest Andy Vasnick.

    Penny (Raindrop keeps fallin on my head)

  3. Anonymous
    January 23, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Very nice story and his birthday. God bless him. 🙂

  4. January 24, 2012 at 7:01 am

    January 23, 2012

    Happy 85th Birthday, Andy Vasnick. You made a good impression during your January 21 interview with Jim. Yes, I agree wholeheartedly that deaf adolescents need encouragement to understand the value of volunteer work to learn new skills in their chosen vocation.

    I started volunteer work with the American Red Cross at the age of 12 and I met several people who joined the teaching profession after I started college. My volunteer work with
    the American Red Cross lasted 5 years. I also did volunteer work with the Easter Seals
    during high school.

    If I hadn’t done volunteer work in the mainstream community during my adolescence, I might not have gotten a big pull in the teaching profession. I have my parents and teachers to thank for helping me understand the significance of volunteer work in the community.

    Thanks Jim, for having Andy Vasnick with you during the interview. God bless him and I hope he lives to be 100 !

    Irene Tunanidas
    Gallaudet Graduate, ’70

  5. Victor Villegas
    February 1, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Yo! this is Victor Villegs! I’m Full deaf. I like Deaf Rock that one I had a Facebook said Deaf Rock NoLove. Anyone want add me on Facebook. let me know this Comments. Nice to meet anyone. bye ,)

  6. February 29, 2012 at 2:08 am

    he’s quite a strong and brave man.

  7. Harsaynee Gonza
    September 14, 2012 at 6:29 am

    We would like to thank you all over again for the gorgeous ideas you gave Jeremy when preparing a post-graduate research and also, most importantly, for providing many of the ideas in one blog post. In case we had been aware of your website a year ago, Kullu Manali Tour Packages we may have been kept from the unwanted measures we were having to take. Thanks to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.