Home > Videos > Liza Minnelli sang ‘Quiet Love’ in sign language

Liza Minnelli sang ‘Quiet Love’ in sign language

February 23, 2010

(She started to sign about 1:30, the video has subtitles.)

We just thought that it is interested that Liza used ASL while singing… which must be difficult for somebody who is not fluent in ASL!!! We hope to see more singers to use sign language like Liza Minnelli when they sing the song.

Here is the transcript below:

You see, my lover makes no sound
His language is his hands
I watch his fingers dance and try to understand
I try to understand his elegant ballet
In my heart I can hear the words he longs to say

And so I’ve learned to speak a language he can hear
To tell him how I feel whenever he his near
He lives around the block, it’s just a little walk
We’ll meet tonight at eight
At eight tonight, we’ll talk

Oh my love, oh my love
Quiet love, quiet love
I am calm whenever you are near
And somehow I can hear what your heart wants to say

(Singing while Signing in ASL)
I have a small surprise
To spring on you tonight
I’m learning how to sign
Please God I get it right
It’s something that you do
With confidence and ease
I’m clumsier than you
This might come out Chinese
But come and fill my heart
Its never danced this way
I’m nervous and it’s hard
I have so much to say
I’ve always been afraid
My dream seemed so unreal

But now I bless this world
For how you make me feel

Oh, my love
Oh, my love
You are shy
So am I
But if you would tell me that it’s true
You feel the way I do
Then tomorrow can start
As we are, together we’ll grow old
For wise men always say
That in silence
There’s gold

Categories: Videos
  1. Carol H.
    February 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    That is a perfect example of captions and a transcript being provided by a hearing person for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing viewers. I want to use this one to some websites that have Internet videos being inaccessible to us. I have requested for a transcript many times for us and the hearies keep replying very inexcuseable or I have to make noises.

  2. Its Just Jodi
    February 23, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Liza did this song at a concert on Dec 6 1992..at the RADIO CITY MUSIC HALL,, the lyrics were written by Charles Aznavour ..
    I am going to see about having another video of hers subtitled, because it tells how she decided to use sign language with this particular song,,it also says who taught her how to sign.. should be interesting 🙂

  3. Jean Boutcher
    February 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Liz Minnelli signed beautifully.

    Thank you, dear, for sharing it.

  4. Jean Boutcher
    February 23, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    P.S. Please forward your vlog to FACEBOOK and TWITTER.

    Thanks.

  5. February 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    This has obviously been done a while ago. Notice the young Liza and the sign for “Chinese”. Nevertheless, really cool to see. Thanks for the post!

    (e

  6. Sally from Virginia
    February 23, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Bravo! Bravo! Smile!

  7. RLM
    February 23, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Awesome to see the daughter of legendary Judy Garland (Wizard of OZ’s 1939 film) signed rudimentary.
    My question about whether Liz Minneli had a previous deaf lover what she mentioned in her song. Or just the song itself?
    RLM

  8. Its Just Jodi
    February 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    RLM the song was not written for her ,, actually it was written by Charles Aznavour , the lover could have been a deaf female …http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDB4PMikPbg read the info,,,, the signs are just beautiful,, its in French however

  9. AMIR ALI SHAMSI
    February 24, 2010 at 10:35 am

    GOOD HI.

  10. Mark Maki
    February 25, 2010 at 1:08 am

    wow awesome beautiful song with expression sign language is good example I hope singers can learn share songs with ASL.Thank for sharing!!

  11. Guy
    March 1, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I love Liza Minnelli’s effort to use our sign language! Beautiful! Thanks!

  12. Jim
    March 5, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Thanks for sharing that!!

  13. A.J.
    March 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Love it!

  14. jacqueline
    April 18, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    its soo beautiful and love it. thats natural for deaf world and smart…. congraulations liz minnelli ! we always learn everydays never too late! u never will give up to learning sign languages so much fun and u will love it too!!!!that is soo awesome….

  15. July 5, 2010 at 6:18 am

    its soo beautiful and love it. thats natural for deaf world and smart…. congraulations liz minnelli ! we always learn everydays never too late! u never will give up to learning sign languages so much fun and u will love it too!!!!that is soo awesome….

  1. February 23, 2010 at 2:08 pm
  2. February 23, 2010 at 5:16 pm
Comments are closed.