Home > Uncategorized, Vlog > Interpreter’s Policy

Interpreter’s Policy

January 29, 2010

By Jimactor

Summary: Talk about the interpreters’ policy of how they charge hourly of customers’ needs. Interpreters usually charge us the regular hourly rate and if an emergency situation come up and they will charge us more.

Categories: Uncategorized, Vlog
  1. Mike
    January 30, 2010 at 3:54 am

    All I can say is that they are greedy!!

  2. deafmommy
    January 30, 2010 at 6:33 am

    Hi, the pay system works for interpreters and agencies alike but it creates a lot of hardship on deaf individuals and small businesses. There gotta be a better way of paying interpreters instead of this hourly system. And I completely agree with you about last minute emergency interpreters especially for funerals, hospital or whatever. No wonder we end up without interpreters because of the cost. It is unfair. And we need to speak out and demand some changes and let interpreter agencies know that it does not work easily for us. If anyone has a best solution, I am all ears for it.

  3. Little Brown Jug
    January 30, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Nowadays Interpreter agencies are getting to be at a high cost levels. I am in agreement with you that its good to have Interpreters around and it helped us best but their escalating cost is hurting the deaf/hh consumers especially this 2 hour Minimum which almost everybody uses. That is what I have learned from all other Deaf/HH that this MINIMUM hurted us. They (interpreter) do arrive late or have to leave due to their Agencies telling them to go for the next appointmetn, etc. Do they Fully stay there till the end? NO!!! FYI – I have asked and seek advise from business corporation of why they refused Interpreters regardless it helped us for our communication need. Most have stated due to the travel cost that is included in their minimum cost. Emergencies especially make senses within 24 hours but 1 week or less for that cost is out of control. We have no control of how the agencies run their business but they ought to think twice to have this Minimum removed and go for the normal structural fee. What I do best is hire my own FL Contractors with my recommendation. It helps. One more thing from one business stated that the tax credit does not help their business if hiring Interpreters. That could be another factor. How much tax credit I am not so sure but from a small percentage is what damages it as well. NAD/RID should huddle together and bring this to the attention. Legislature meeting I know for a fact are charged at a cheap rate as I was aware. Hopefully a new system come into place. I am sorry for the loss of your wife s father. I pray you all are at strength and comfort.

  4. Rox
    January 30, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I understand that with the emotions surrounding the death of your relative, this is probably a very sensitive issue for you…

    I’m not sure which state you’re in, but some states will provide interpreters free of charge for funerals. Iowa, for example, has a Deaf Services Commission and they paid for the interpreter for my brother’s memorial service a few years ago. That was an invaluable resource and it’s great to see these organizations help others when they really need it.

    One thing I want to point out is that the funeral home should be paying for the interpreting services that are needed at the funeral home. It’s in the ADA and you should fight for this.

    I’m trying to give you a perspective from another angle. Suppose I reserved an interpreter two weeks in advance for a class or appointment. Two days before it is to occur, the interpreter cancels on me because they need to interpret for a funeral instead, since there aren’t enough interpreters in the area to cover both events. While I understand that a funeral is especially important to have interpreting services, I would still feel cheated because I took the time to reserve the interpreter two weeks ago. Is this fair? No, which is why there is an increased cost for this.

    One other suggestion I have is to make friends with the interpreters you know. When my grandmother passed away, I pulled out my list and asked each one of them if they could interpret on short notice. One of them was a dear friend, and she offered to do it for a reduced cost only because we were good friends.

    I hope this helps.

  5. Larry
    January 30, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I am an interpreter. I am a CDI.

    Let me share with you my experience as a freelance interpreter.
    My policy is anything under 24 hours is “an emergency.” (not 2 weeks, as you indicate)
    Realize that, your “emergency” isn’t always everyone else’s emergency!
    Suppose I have 4 other assignments the very same day that your funeral takes place. I am sorry for the death in your family, but now you want me to drop everything, deny the other 4 deaf people their communication access, so I can accommodate your situation.
    It isn’t always that easy.

    Now, suppose I grant your request, and I waive the emergency fee (which I charge $40.00, not $90.00 or $100.00 as you mention)
    And now someone else has an “emergency” of another type, and object to the $40.00 emergency call out fee because “FOOKEM AND BUG GOT IT WAIVED.” Where do I draw the line? Yes for some, no for others? I cannot run a business and play favorites. That’s why I established a POLICY, and stick by it.

    Remember too, that the $40.00 fee is a one time charge, and you also need to understand that interpreters are not sitting in a rocking chair waiting to be called out. We have lives. If I were called to your assignment, I’d have to arrange for someone to watch my elderly parents, and that’s going to cost me at least $200.00, while I’m covering your family’s memorial service.

    As a good Boy Scout, BE PREPARED. Although my parents have their memorial service all paid for and ready to roll, I’m SURE there will be an interpreting issue at some point.
    So, I’ve prepared financially for the time when I have a “last minute” call for an interpreter for their memorial service.

    Aloha,
    The Rev. Larry Littleton, CDI
    Hawaii State Judiciary Certified Court Interpreter

  6. Jimactor
    January 30, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    In Illinois charge 90.00 one time Surprise?

  7. Dara
    January 30, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    I agree with you totally. It isn’t fair ! Few months ago, I need to get terp to discuss with my mom because my mom is hearing and my sister and I are deaf. We need to communicate to discuss about nursing home. So, I contact Terp Agency, I was surprised that they didn’t charge us because it’s family matters. So, I think your terp (or terp agency) should respect family matters. I am sure they do have some funds for other reason like family matters. I was so glad that our terp agency understand deaf/ hearing family. I think it’s because our terp agency have coda who knows about deaf/ hearing family.

  8. Trudy
    January 30, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Hi Jim! Good to see you.

    In Illinois, they do have funds for emergencies such as funerals – through the state, I believe. When my grandfather passed away, and my uncle, we received free interpreter services from JCCD through this funding – I believe they have a specific amount each month they can “give you” for free for emergencies such as medical emergencies or funerals. CHS should have this information (or CAIRS?). Check with them…

    Hi to your family đŸ™‚

  9. ruby
    January 30, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    i agree w/ u…

  10. ruby
    January 30, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Also i am behind the Rev Larry Littleton CDI.
    As we all have our lives to live and attend to also as i well see that not all interpreters have the same policy with their jobs and ideas. We can’t expect all what we desire for. So what is fair is fair as well as what is not fair is not fair also as i respect each one’s policy . On the other hand it would be nice and fair if the interpreter can not make it he or she can suggest another one they know may be available.

  11. Chicagoan
    January 30, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    There is special fund available for those residing in metro Chicago area. Check this out:
    http://chicagohearingsociety.org/Programs/DFI_info.htm

  12. A.J.
    January 30, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    That’s bullshit system. That’s all I can say.

  13. A.J.
    January 30, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    After reading Chicagoan’s comment, I checked the link.

    Well I disagree the part,

    “How much service can I receive?
    There is a limited to the number of hours of service any one person may receive in a given month. This amount will vary each month. The Interpreter Services Manager can tell you how much you may use.”

    They CAN’T tell me how many hours of service that I need.

    Oh my gosh, it disgusted me.

  14. Chicagoan
    January 30, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    A.J.

    You have a choice. Pay out of your own pocket or be appreciative of some fundings to cover the interpreting expenses. I am sure you would choose the latter.

    The DFI funds came from the state. Each year, an extensive report has been shared with the state in order to receive the funds. The funds then is to distribute…… so each one of deaf person in Metro Chicago will be able to get free interpreting services, that is not covered by the ADA. Keep in mind the state can discontinue this funds.

    In another word, be appreciative!!!!

  15. Teresa Jo
    January 30, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Hi Jim,

    Yes, I totally understand how you felt. I had same experience, few months ago I lost my only brother, it was unprepared. Fortuantely my son volunteered to interpt for this service.

    With my 10 year experience recruiting interpreters for cruise groups by a travel agency (I was office assistant for The Sunset Cruise Agency). I’m familiar with this interpreter policies. I used to live in Texas, Kansas, Tennessee and currently in Arkansas. Really the policies vary state by state, city by city and businesses (contracts). Some don’t charge, some charge low fee and some charge ridicious fee. That’s interpreters own policy because they run it. If hearing impaired person own interpreter service, I won’t be suprise they be doing same things on fee policy.

    Of course, we need interpreters for our daily needs for communication for both personal and business. But we also need to understand interpreters have their schedules same as we all do. They have to arrange schedules with interpreters for every clients. Don’t forget they have to charge for service in order to keep the business running.

    If there is several services that we could choose, that would be great. But only 1 service in that town, how unfortanely we get to live with this.

    Look at that response #4 Rox, thats what I would say, prepare find an interpreter, ask for favor in case someone happen emergency. Something you can work out as possible.

    Again, just remember interpreters need to earn money to keep business running.

    TJ

  16. A.J.
    January 30, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Chicagoan, I pay the money out of my pocket and the interpreter has nerve to tell me that she has to go because she has another appointment.

    In my opinion, for emergency only like funeral should be no cost at all.

  17. JAJ
    January 30, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I suggest You can find freelance interperter in last mintues

  18. Anonymous
    January 30, 2010 at 10:26 pm
  19. Rochelle
    January 31, 2010 at 7:44 am

    I agreed with you 100 percent.

  20. Chicagoan
    January 31, 2010 at 7:49 am

    AJ,

    If you paid for the interpreting service, the minimum is 2 hours.Or depending on what type of agreement you have. You have the right to inform the interpreter that he or she needs to stay the entire time you book it.

    Yes, there are times that the interpreters “overbook” their schedule. That is wrong.

  21. mv
    January 31, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I AGREED WITH YOU 110 PRECENT OF COUSE. IS IT SPEACIL FUNERAL DONT EVER THINK. THE FUNERAL SHOULD BE NO COST AT ALLLLLLLLL.,

  22. JANICE TUCHMAN
    January 31, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    HI JIM

    U R VERYYYYYYYYYYYYYY SMART GUY ABT AN INTERPRETER’S POLICY IS OUT OF ORDER FOR AN ER. U R REALLY VERY GOOD TO BRING THAT SUBJECT UP.
    PLSE DO IT MORE I ALWAYS ENJOY TO READ UR BLOGS.

  23. Joan Harvey
    January 31, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Oh my gosh! An interpreter should not charge extra for a death. They should use common sense. I agree with Jim 1000 %.

  24. LKB
    January 31, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Jim,

    I agreed 100% with you that interpreter should respect the family death
    Example > If one of them don’t have insurance life to cover Funreal expense.
    How could they afford to pay extra for interpreter.
    come on ! Have a sympathy for the family…. Peroid!

  25. Paul Baggett
    February 1, 2010 at 6:34 am

    I know there are lot of interpreter problem issue. some of them command and charge. More likely you have no choice!!! only way to ask your business to hire person to work for business and know much about sign language, know about
    interpreter. Ex- work at interpreter. then the business will save lot of money and you. then Interpreter business will go down and less request to have interpreter. just tell hospital, church, court, etc that almost request
    interpreter. just hire person who ex work at interpreter. it will be only way to solve problem with too high costly cost for interpreter. I think Interpreter business might request to small area such as job interview, etc that not much request interpreter.

  26. Peachlady
    February 1, 2010 at 6:40 am

    Hi,
    I remember my mother in law passed away. Her funeral home provided an interpreter, but I suspected the funeral home charged my father in law for the service. We were not impressed with the interpreter. She wasn’t that good!

  27. Billythegoat
    February 1, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Do we have emergency interpreter service only?

  28. tina
    February 1, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    You know what interpreter………HUNGRY MONEY….Interpreter don’t care anything what deaf need interpreter. I am not agreed with 90.00 for stupid reason last minutes. DUH….I feel like interpreter disrespect who family passed aways. Just want money in the pocket. Tired of interpreter crap!!!

  29. Supervisor, Deaf...
    February 1, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I do not think all states has emergency fees, well who knows all might?! Most of us Deaf/Hard of Hearing don’t usually see the billing contracts that the interpreters hand out! Makes you wonder!?
    It is a bit embarrassing with needing interpreters between businesses and employers become upsetting with fees by the hour(s), by the mileage(s) and perhaps plus the emergency fees.
    Ah, my part of the story is that once I was a supervisor for a small private college (now I’m back into school).
    Say, my hourly pay was about $10 and an interpreter comes about 2 – 3 times a week for about couple of hours each for my meetings.
    My Interpreter’s fee was about $50 (over an hour is 2 hours rate – etc!) for couple of hours plus mileages both ways! That’s more than I was making! That indeed was awkward for me and the employer! (Yes, this college pays)
    Sure interpeters have lives, so do we and everyone else -whats the difference! We know not many interpreters have benefits and unfortunately many Deaf and Hard of Hearing don’t at low income paying jobs either!
    Most of us seem to forget, that businesses and employers can benefit from interpreters fees through taxes. However, not all of them could benefit this.
    What about other places that the Deaf or Hard of Hearing needing interpeters that charges too much makes businesses and employers having to pay a bit way too much -more than they’re paying their employers!
    They usually refuse those “expensive interpreters” informing you… “I’m sorry we could not find an interpeter, we’re still making calls to find someone to interpret.” Now from that… that means they’re trying to find someone they can afforad to pay, not “expensive interpreters.”
    Waiting for appointments can be hectic!
    Some interpeters states that doctors and etc. makes so much money, well it is true but not all of them are doctors!
    Don’t get me wrong, I do respect interpreters out there but the costs is sometimes unreasonable… seriously some things gotta change.
    In fact the way we’re living is just life, what can we do? We need interpreters but we gotta control things before it goes too far out of control, yet we’ll lose more interpreters if we take control of this! Pity how people are with money.
    Thanks

  30. Eddie
    February 1, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    If I were you? I would FIRED that interpreter then hire another one.

  31. DeafPixie
    February 2, 2010 at 9:39 am

    A funeral service should pay for a interpreter since Funeral have a money!

    Ask Funeral question to make an interpreter fee so only one time in 2-5 years. We should not pay out of our pocket.

    What do you think?

  32. DeafPixie
    February 2, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Peachlady, Yes it did happened to me. My aunt passed away and I hired to pay for it and bad interpreter. Over a years later. I found out the agencies is not exactly good service in Portland Oregon. I said myself DAMN IT!
    I asked my relative a question about Aunt. They say not right match of their stories was about my aunt’s background in Funeral Service. I decide to shut up myself. I paid for that nothing!

    My husband’s grandmother’s memorial Service was good interpreter. but not second one.

  33. jeffrey
    February 3, 2010 at 10:26 am

    hello guys

    exuse me, i am glad jimactor has sense to use that, what a crap for last mintue Terp to charge extra. I dont think it is Terp’s policy, that must be other country’s terps policy not america’s polcy. Oh please.

    other wise you always can ask for other agency there are plenty every states.

    darth

  34. Cheryl
    February 3, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    I agree with you….. I think interpreters should accept show up in time of needs that we didn’t expect would happened… Really they should have some respect for the deafness……

  35. Ann OCODA--terp
    February 4, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Yes some interpreters do that…I don’t like it either. When I was an interpreter I never did this. Remember each interpreter sets their OWN policies and amount to bill for their work…Each interpreter is different.
    Have a good relationship with an interpreter you trust(or a few interpreters). Just like the hearing world “buyer beware”

  36. Ann OCODA--terp
    February 4, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I understand Larry’s concern as a terp….
    but isn’t also a good business practice to do some things pro-bono (no charge).. You build a good clientele the Deaf community respects you and your work when you give back by occasionally (like for funerals)waive fees.
    In my terp expcerience the funeral homes pass on the charge to the families.

  37. Anonymous
    February 4, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    well i kinda agree but i dont think you should worry about i am sure the life insurenace paid for it am i right

  38. Julia
    February 4, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Hey, I agree with you 100%. Would recommend you to ask an interpreter from your church next time, it should be free. It is my opnion that any interpreter agency should not charge the fees at the funeral or emgerency for “last minute.” Therefore, the interpreter service still wants to charge them fees not free.

  39. SAL
    February 4, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Part of the interpreters responsibility is to give back to the community. I have personally interpreted funerals for free and know that one of the interpreter agencies in our area also encourages their interpreters to volunteer for funerals. It sounds as though you just encountered an area where that is not supported!

  40. Anonymous
    February 5, 2010 at 7:59 am

    I agree with you 100 percent. I am only child which is diffcult for me to get interpreter for funeral.. if all interpreter is busy with other client or refuse offer service interperter should ask other interpreter to offer service,.. i get to choose my adult child to interpreter that is conflict of interest because it related to family. I do not think interpreter should charge extra for the funeral service.. sadly funeral do not require to provide an interpreter.. who pay for it?? remember I am only child .. I get to pay for the interpreter.. fair??? Nope!!! I think interpreter should give back to the community.. Interperter makes $$$!!!!!! sad that interpreter actually turn down deaf people!!! all I can say choose freelance interperter not agency.. Do not like agency!!!!

  41. Carla
    February 6, 2010 at 7:58 am

    i totally agree with you it doesnt make any sense.. one time my brother died and i got the interpreter and she did not charge me anything.. but of course i gave her something for be willing to come at the last minute…

  42. Renee
    February 6, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    I support your argument regarding your concern about an ignorant interpreter who charged you an extra fee for the last-minute arrangement. The interpreter should have told you in advance what the charge would be for a last minute arrangement. You would have had the time to find a different interpreter who may be willing to do the work for a regular fee. If I were a certified or qualified interpreter working for an independent agency, I would send the Deaf Community a list of charges for different events, including last-minute events. The charges should be flexible, based on the median income of the Deaf Community.

  43. Patty
    February 6, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Kinda cracked me up BUT point taken. thumb up!!!!

  44. Larry H
    February 6, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    It is true same as happen last year my sister pass away there should have program in service Interpreter there have fund somewhere

  45. Vicki
    February 6, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I agree with u 100%

  46. Teresia
    February 6, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Funeral home should provide Interpreter so deaf people should not pay out of pocket. It is not fair hearing can hear not need Interpreter

  47. Anonymous
    February 8, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I AGREE WITH U ONE HUNDRED PERCENT.
    ELDERY DEAF LADY WENT TO THE HOSPITAL AND I WENT TO SEE HER AND FOUND THE TRPS SAT IN THE HALL WAY AND I WAS WONDERING WHY THEY SAT OUT IN THE HALL WAY INSTEAD OF SAT WHERE THE PATIENT WAS.NO COMFORT AND SMALL AND CHEERFUL CHATS. THAT WOULD MAKE HER FEEL SECURITY. SHE WAS VERY LONELY. SHE ASKED ME WHY DID THE TRP SAT OUT THE HALL WAY AND I WAS ANGRY AND THOUGHT TO MYSELF WHERE IS THE COMPASSION???????? I WENT TO A TRP AND ASKED HER WHY DIDNT SHE SAT OUT AND COMFORT HER THAT WOULD MADE THE LADY FEEL COMFORTABLE. THE TRP SAID OH IT IS AGAINST THE RULES TO SIT WITH THE CLIENTS. THATS BULL. I UNDERSTAND IF IT WAS THE COURT OR ANY BUSINESS BUT HUMAN AND SHE WAS VERY ILL AND ALONE. I AM VERY MUCH AGAINST THE TRP’S NEW POLICY. I WILL NEVER AGREE TO THAT NEW BULL POLICY. NO COMPASSION!!!!!!!!!!!
    THE LADY PASSED AWAY. I AM STILL ANGRY ABT THE TRP’S POLICY. I AM VERY UPSET.

    GEORGIANNE

  48. georgianne
    February 8, 2010 at 11:15 am

    u may e mail me at geneim@aol.com
    let me know what do u think abt it>

    thnks,
    georgianne

  49. Anonymous
    February 8, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    many people need with everything. all different. Porta rica’s Italian polish german. If we need to pay. why not the hh. this is Bullcrap. enough is enough most people on ss or ssd. man work and women get extra for kids not fair either. My husbamd work and he pay for kids only deaf person should get in not the fullfamilyit’s wrong men good jobs and we support the kids and wives. some wives have kids and cant work we cant have a excuse like u all peoples

  50. Nancy
    February 9, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I am a freelance interpreter from the midwest. Most interpreters around here are freelance. Funeral homes are covered by the ADA and it is illegal to pass the cost along to the deaf consumer. I am not familiar with interpreter agencies or their fees. But I know it costs a lot of money to run a business. The more employees you have, the more support staff you need, and the cost keeps going up. As a freelance interpreter, my expenses are for myself only. But, freelance interpreters drive all day long from job to job, so there is travel costs. We don’t get any paid sick leave, or paid vacation, or health insurance. If we are sick, too bad for us. If we want a vacation, we don’t earn income while on that vacation. we have to pay our own health insurance out of pocket (my insurance has a $5,000 deductable). We also pay the full social security tax at 15%, if we worked for a company, they would pay half. We pay income tax every 3 months. Some days you have a full schedule, other days only one or two jobs because everyone wants an interpreter at 10:00 or 2:00. We spend time and money keeping records. We have to pay for workshops, we have pay for testing, we pay for RID memberships, we also pay for a state interpreter license every two years. I do not know any interpreters who have gotten rich interpreting. If we are lucky and our body and mind hold out we are middle income at best. I do everything I can to never charge the deaf individual and if there is no other way I offer to do it for free. Please understand that funerals are very stressful and difficult to do. The songs alone will make you lose your nerve. So I understand the frustration. But I would like to beleive that there are more good interpreters out there than bad and greedy ones. I hope you can find a few you trust. If the funeral is a religious funeral the best interpreter is an experienced religious interpreter. If you don’t do religious interpreting often it is a very difficult situation to do well. I am sorry to read so many negative experiences with interpreters.

  51. Leslie
    February 10, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    I just want to say I understand both side of this… the Deaf and also the Interpreter. Nancy comment on what it does cost the interpreter to keep their job. Plus if they are working for themselve…. health care insurance and all, does cost them money. Getting rich, I am not sure but I don’t think the interpreter do back on the job.. Most of you have husband or wife that helps bring in two income in the home. But I would like to beleive that there are more good interpreters out there than bad and greedy ones. My brother had passed away unexpectly and I had to go out of town to where my brother was being view at. The funeral home was able to find us interpreter, I was the only person who was deaf, rest of the family were hearing. This interpreter heart was such a heart of gold. Only getting a few hours notice, she was willing to stay with me to the end. She would NOT charge my family or the funeral home, since I was from out of town. We did my family collected money from each other to give this woman a donation. This was my best interpreter experienced. I use alot of interpreter for my work, which is cover, but for on a personal level, that would creat a hardship for me if I had to pay out of my pocket for the interpreter. I understand the two weeks notice, but sometimes that not possible when there is a death in the family. You need to take the good along with the negative experiences when it comes to interpreters.
    Hey interp…. you need to have a heart of gold at a time like death in the family too. You know…. the interpreter needs the deaf community to have a job, and the deaf person needs to have the interp to help them know what’s going on when being with the hearing.

  52. williams
    February 11, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Should not cost for the interpreter which sudden death notice ,when someone need interpreter for the funeral .

  53. robin egg
    February 27, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    A Deaf pastor or Deaf ministries goal is to minister to you and your families needs in any type of emergency or stressful time.( births, deaths, weddings, hospital,marital counseling, prayer, problem with kids). There are many benefits to belonging to a Deaf Ministry, one is that you will have a support network including interpreters to work with you in the most difficult times of your life, Deaf Ministry are not in it for the money but to show the love and compassion of God to others. They will work with both members and non members. They will conduct funerals at other churches as requested. Some ministries provide free interpreting services for those who cannot pay because the interpreter is usually paid by the Deaf Pastor or Ministry. If you are feed up with big informal agencies charging hourly rates for unplanned life emergencies then you should consider contacting a Deaf ministry. Every religious denomination Catholic, Jewish, Muslim, Christian, etc has Deaf Ministries all across the US and around the world. The benefit is that a Deaf Ministry has plenty of experience dealing with all types of family crises and does not charge extra for coming to you in your hour of need. They can assist you with funeral arrangements for all of your Deaf and Hearing family members.

  54. Sue Philip
    February 28, 2010 at 9:25 am

    I wondered whose interpreter’s policy you mentioned? Is it under private interpreter agencies or under state agency which may give you different responses. I agree with you fully about “no control on family death” and a need of communication access. Should we challenge to the private interpreter agencies if it is their policy ? YES we should!!!

  55. xyz
    February 28, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Im a interpreter and Ill tell you what that is not my policy. I wouldn’t charge a dime for funeral. why?? that’s a service to god and to god’s people. There should be NO cost for this. Yes granted it is last min but that is how death, births etc happen LAST MIN! But some interpreters are GREEDY. I agree. I think interpreters need to go back to basics for service. I am getting tired of these so called Interpreters taking advantage of deaf community. Interpreters should at least volunteer 25% of their work to the community. If other interpreters read this I am sure some of them will be furious and maybe some wont. I just feel I need to speak out and let deaf community know not all interpreters are GREEDY! thanks and i hope this doesnt happen again. God bless!

  56. Kristen
    March 10, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I do sympathize. Agencies have standards that match the current situation in that location. I am an interpreter (freelance, agency, volunteer, etc) and I don’t think an individual should be charged for funeral, wedding, family reunion, etc. These type of situations are appropriate to volunteer our time for. My advise is to know what the recourses in your area are. I keep an eye on Deaf related websites so that if there is a request for a volunteer interpreter, I can consider volunteering my time and services. I think this is becomming more common.

    I believe that Deaf people DO have a choice in how agencies are ran… Deaf people are the consumers/clients! If not for Deaf people, agencies would not be in business. They are here to provide equal access to communication for both Deaf and hearing people and should accommodate everyone’s needs as much as possible.

    People have to speak out to be heard. Thanks for sharing your experience!!

  57. March 20, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    I am an interpreter and CODA in the Fort Lauderdale, Florida area and also an agency owner with 25 years of paid interpreting experience. I cannot speak to specifics in your state, however here, we do not charge a flat fee for last minute services. There is a higher per hour rate (generally $15/hr) for requests made with less than 24 hours notice, but we generally waive that for funerals for the very reason you mentioned–you cannot foresee the death of a loved one.

    More importantly, keep in mind that the funeral homes are required under the ADA to provide accessible communication to their customers. This would include any services that are arranged under their program. If you have a church led memorial, generally the church will be able to provide the services via donations or possibly a member of the church (if there are members who are Deaf who attend regular service.) Very rarely–if ever, should the family be burdened with the cost of the interpreter. This is an accommodation issue and it seems that in your area maybe the funeral homes are not being pressed to follow the ADA. They are required to provide accessibility because they provide services to the public. The only ones who would be exempted would be private organizations–and for those, generally there are other ways to obtain services without burdening the family during such a trying time.

    I am very sorry to hear about your experience. Though we are in Florida, we do provide national services and I am always happy to provide advocacy to help educate those businesses and agencies that are not aware of the ADA (surprisingly, many still aren’t.) Thank you or sharing your story. I know this happened two years ago, but it still shows up in the searches. Maybe you could post one of your videos to help educate your followers about their rights should this happen to them. Press the funeral homes and make sure they do not charge you back for the services. Read the bill and if it’s more than what was originally quoted (indicating they added the interpreting services) you need to let them know that they are not allowed to do this. Thanks for reading my post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.