Home > Poll > Poll: Video Relay Service (VRS) company

Poll: Video Relay Service (VRS) company

November 20, 2008
Categories: Poll
  1. November 20, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    I like HOVRS and Second is Sprint on VRS. I have not tried Hamiliton,yet.. I was not sure because Hamiliton say that they can chat on Gmail under Google. I just found out a month ago.

  2. Sheri A. Farinha
    November 20, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    There are approx 11 VRS companies and you only listed 5 of them?

  3. November 20, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    This would be a more revealing poll if you also had a side-by-side widget to ask “Which VRS company do you use most?” There is room to dispute this rather unscientific poll because there isn’t any indication to demonstrate whether people dislike but continue to use a VRS service. If they dislike and don’t use the service, it isn’t a clear indication whether the service has gotten better since they stopped using it.

  4. A.J
    November 20, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Any VRS company sucks.

    Sheri-these company names on the list are well known in deaf community like you see them in deaf expo.

  5. Misha
    November 20, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Anonymous #5

    HELLOOOO! There is HOVRS up on that list. It’s HandsOnVRS. Duh!

    Misha

  6. November 20, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Anonymous #5

    Can you read HOVRS mean HandsOnVRS. it is short name of company.

    you cannot read or just klutz as peabrain!

  7. Areumoron
    November 20, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    HOVRS is the best! MVP coming out soon and it will rock the world and all other vrs providers will shit their pants!

  8. Just me
    November 21, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Soon there will be a new NMPVRS. Hope it will be better than all.

  9. Anonymous
    November 21, 2008 at 9:00 am

    This poll doesn’t give me a better picture. What do you mean “worst service” ? Are you referring to as whole of services in customer service and technical supports etc? I think it would be interesting to see what area that has worst service. You could recreate a poll by customer service, tech support etc.

  10. chevy57
    November 21, 2008 at 9:00 am

    HOVRS are changed to Purple Communications, Inc. now.

    I never heard about NMPVRS ?

    What is NMPVRS ??

  11. November 21, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Sheri, approx. 11 VRS companies? I think there is more than 11 companies? Reason why I list 5 is that the people use their service more than others.

    Bryen, you got me as I was thinking about it before making a poll here. Maybe I will do it in another topic. Thanks for your feedback.

  12. November 21, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Anonymous, the poll talks about the whole of general services like in tech support, customer service, lousy interpreter, how long does the call take?, etc

  13. November 21, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Areumoron,

    I had talked with HOVRS at Deaf Expo and was told me that MVP will delivering to your house if you have a more than 5 purple line up since they dont need to full 20 purple line up. They will come to your house after they will email you before they will bring a MVP.

    For example, Similiar as Viable and MVP.ut MVP is very smaller. Heard that Viable is very qualified and dont know if MVP might be worth to get free. Viable is on sale while Deaf Expo

    Areumoron, One things, I puzzle about NMPVRS,

    Just Me, What is that heck?
    I don’t familiar “NMPVRS?” I never know about that.

    Can you explain to me better?

  14. November 21, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Areumoron and Just me, You can email me at DeafPixie@gmail.com.

  15. Billythegoat
    November 21, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    you forget to add Hamilton relay, Hawk relay, LifelinksVRS, SnapVRS in the poll. 😉

  16. HOVRS... This Doesn't Look Good
    November 21, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    It’s unbelievable to see so many votes against HOVRS in this poll. And honestly, I don’t think I should be surprised. I’m sick and tired of waiting for the MVP release and I’m sick and tired of them telling me how soon the MVP will be released. My VRS of choice is either, SorensonVRS or Viable since they both have very honest service.

  17. November 21, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    HOVRS say,

    I complete understand it took so long to count on VMP is now processing to make sure it accurate and instead of send MVP it is not working.. They want to make sure double with no problem instead fix wrong MVP.

    You need to control of your anger managerment!

  18. Sorenson Rocks!
    December 1, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I have to give credit to Sorenson VRS for being the leader for VRS for the past few years and what I have seen, SVRS is very supportive of the Deaf and Interpreter community from the business perspective. I never hear SVRS talk about other competitors in a negative manner, in fact I have heard few times that they are supporting their competitor because they believe that D/HH community should have variety of options just like other people in the world having options of which phone companies to sign with. SORENSON IS AMAZING!!!

  19. hOVRS... just a cheater!!!
    December 1, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    HOVRS has been cheating alot, did you know that?

    One of my friend who works for HOVRS. They making alot of money because they’re required everyone HOVRS worker to show up for the meeting everyday! no wonder they just wanna a penny from FCC.

    Back in 2005, HOVRS was using a “brown bag” they’re cheat!!!! And what’s more HOVRS annoying me too much from VP. Like “Hey do you wanna get a free MVP?” i got this like 4 or 6 times a day! how sick is that!! They’re annoying too much while CSDVRS, Sorenson, and Viable didn’t being a annoying like HOVRS!!! I so so so hate HOVRS so fucking much.

  20. Viable CSD liars
    December 5, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Everyone knows Viable is sneaky company, who pretends they are honest. They lied and don’t even have FCC Certification, and their interpreters are not required to meet confidentiality rules. I would never use a not FCC certified provider. Viable tried to get certification, but FCC says NO because they found out Viable was faking VRS calls in their TX call center….they play all deaf company but they are sneaky, sneaky….be careful…at least Sorenson and HOVRS are certified…also, CSD let’s anyone use thier certification they don’t care what the rules are any one with a video phone can become a VRS provider thru them…I think I’ll start my own VRS company thru CSD and hire deaf peoople as VI’s 🙂 I’m sticking with the big guys who follow the rules, HOVRS and Sorrenson.

  21. Tim
    December 13, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Certification applications and approvals/denials are public information. The comment about FCC denying Viable certification is not true and can be checked by anyone responsible enough to look. Just because you read it on a blog doesn’t make it true. Read Responsibly.

  22. Sorenson
    December 15, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Hamilton is no longer in VRS business as of now.

    Viable VRS isnt getting money from FCC since it is not certified by the FCC/NECA.
    See it here http://www.neca.org/source/NECA_Resources_4285.asp

    There are at least couple start up VRS companies that have filed with FCC recently asking for certification. If you know where to look for, it is all there. URRelay and Pah VRS.

  23. March 21, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    How much does it cost to start a VRS business from scratch?

  24. Kumgo
    July 16, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Yes!!!!!!!!! I heard brand new NMPVRS coming in soon. I cannot wait! Thanks for remind me.

  25. Mothman
    July 16, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Me 2! I love night NMPVRS!

  26. Michael Kamers
    October 6, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I LOVE HOVRS, why? Certificated interpreter, what about SORENSON? HUH? HUH??? NONE! or less than 50%!! Boo Sorenson!

  27. John Doe
    October 6, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Hold it people, Dont just hate HOVRS, just because you guys are SORENSON? JUST REMEMBER Who invented the FIRST VIDEO PHONE with VRS?? HOVRS! And sold the device to Sorenson. Good grief. where is the peace? I dont HATE Sorenson. I just dont like the Video Device itself, baddddd picture on the video. I just buried the VP200 2 feet below the ground!! Good day!

  28. sherri
    January 28, 2010 at 10:43 am

    did you ever get an answer how much to start vrs business from scratch?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.