Home > Opinion > Snowman signed, ‘I Love you’ on the cover of the catalog

Snowman signed, ‘I Love you’ on the cover of the catalog

November 19, 2008

By Fookem,

At my work, my mom came to me and wanted to show me something. She said, “Look at the cover of the catalog.” I looked at it and smiled because she loved to collect the snowman things. But she reminded me again and said, “look at it very careful.” I looked at it again and realized that the catalog showed the picture of the snowman signed, ‘I Love you’. The catalog was from the Land’s End. I told my brother, Jason to take pictures of it since he had iphone with him.

Photobucket

Me with the catalog

Photobucket

Close-up catalog

So, I told my mom that I would try to contact one of the representative at the Land’s End store to find out why they chose the snowman signed, ‘I Love you’ on the cover of the catalog. I got email from Mary. Read this.

Dear Dino Lomanto,

I’ve verified with the creative department that the hand signal on the snowman is not intended to represent anything specific. The photograph was done while the glove just happened to take that shape.

Thank you,
Mary Kay McNeill
Lands’ End – Marketing
mary.mcneill@landsend.com

Your opinion about her message that she wrote?

Categories: Opinion
  1. Mike
    November 19, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Interesting. Maybe the artist would do that on the purpose but we would never know.

  2. Janna
    November 19, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Ouch!

  3. Yolanda
    November 19, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I think it’s awesome. Perhaps the photographer was trying to say something. Perhaps the Universe was trying to say something. Either way the pic puts a smile on my face.

  4. Billythegoat
    November 19, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Well, I think she is in denial. Why did she picks ‘I love you’ in sign language? What’s wrong with ‘waving the hand’ like saying hello or the ‘peace’ sign? Nice to see the hand sign (I love you) on the snowman, though.

  5. November 19, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    “the glove just happened to take that shape”…my eye! The gesture is so commonly seen today among hearing people that this seems improbable. Somebody is trying to avoid an AGBell fiasco with Pepsi.

  6. A.J
    November 19, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Unbelieveable.

  7. Joseph Pietro Riolo
    November 19, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    The handshape is not exclusive to ASL. Other place where the same handshape is used is Spider-Man. Notice that he used the same handshape as I-Love-You handshape when he shoots web. Some variations of the handshape are also used. See http://www.deafdc.com/blog/vikki-washington/2007-10-23/the-i-love-you-sign-is-evil/ for the author’s view on the handshape.

    The answer given by Ms. Mary Kay McNeill seems to make sense and we should give her the full benefit of doubt.

    By the way, the I-Love-You sign is not aesthetically and linguistically accurate in respect to ASL and is an anomaly that is widely accepted by the ASL users.

    Joseph Pietro Riolo
    josephpietrojeungriolo@gmail.com

    Public domain notice: I put all of my expressions in this post in the public domain.

  8. Areumoron
    November 19, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    This is hogwash!! Mary is in denial! Keep it and frame it!

    ILY handsign is universal sign but it is originally from ASL!

  9. November 19, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I’d rather the I-Love-You sign be on a catalogue than to see
    idiots, like Obama or Chipper Jones taking advantage of it, for their own glory and benefit.

  10. KAREN
    November 20, 2008 at 9:46 am

    THATS SO GREAT HEARING PEOPLE TO LEARN HOW TO USE SIGN LANGUAGE WHY NOT MORE DIFFRENT MAGAZINES USE ILY

  11. Anonymous
    November 20, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    We should find who drew this picture then ask that person. Why dont we send email to Mary and see if we can find who drew this picture.. what do ya think?

  12. Ciaran
    November 20, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Hey dino!

    It is interesting! It is that magazine or novel book!

  13. November 20, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    I think that for legal reasons, they can’t say if it was something specific with the way the hand ended up. They’re covering their butt by saying it doesn’t mean anything, instead of take the chance that some weird deaf person might take offense and sue them. Thats just my thought. At first I was excited to see this ILY on this catalog, but now I’m like ehhhh so it meant nothing to them. Pfft.

  14. November 21, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Readers, thanks for sharing your opinion with us how you think about it. I still can’t figure out why they pick ‘ILY’ hand sign after all there is more than a hundred hand signs available.

    Must have a reason why they picked that ‘ILY’ hand sign. Oh well. It is different perspective between hearing and deaf people’s thought.

  15. November 21, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Ciaran, it is a catalog (winter clothes) that you can order through phone or internet.

  16. November 21, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    ****FLASH NEWS****

    I got another email from customer support. Read this

    Dear Customer:

    Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments about the recent Lands’ End catalog cover.
    We are so glad that the cover appealed to you. I am sorry for the delay in responding to you.

    The snowman making the sign for ‘I Love You’ was a happy accident. We were trying to get the glove to stay on the stick and found it would stay in place when we bent down some of the fingers. We then realized what the sign meant and thought it was a great idea to keep it that way. I hope this information is helpful to you.

    Thank you again for contacting us. Your past patronage is valued and we look forward to serving you in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Jenafer Humphries
    Customer Communications

    I got two different messages between Jenafer and Mary. WOW! So, I don’t know who is telling the truth.

  17. December 1, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Hi this is Claudia from Texas. I just want to know if you send me the catalog by the mail? Pls let me know, thank you, Claudia.

  18. J Caine
    December 3, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I contacted Mary at LandsEnd to express my disappointment in the response shown above. Mary contacted me immediately saying that it is unfortunate that only part of their response was put on this site — and that her response was longer, and went on to say how pleased they ALL were when they saw what had actually came out in print.

    For me, they’ve got my support back again!

  19. Michelle
    December 15, 2012 at 6:03 am

    Love It! & So Do The Deaf Kids I Teach! Excited It See Sign Language Being Used Any where, But It Is Wonderful To See Or Hear I Love You This Time Of Year

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.