Home > Deaf History > 17th-century Deaf Dutch painter

17th-century Deaf Dutch painter

October 2, 2008

Photobucket

Ice Landscape
Oil on canvas
Staatliches Museum, Schwerin

Hendrick Avercamp (1585-1634), one of the first Dutch landscape painters of the 17th century, was deaf and mute and known as de Stomme van Kampen (“the mute of Kampen”). He is especially noted for his winter landscapes of his homeland. His landscapes are characterized by high horizons, bright clear colors, and tree branches darkly drawn against the snow or the sky. His paintings are lively and descriptive, with evidence of solid drawing skills that made him an ideal recorder of his contemporary life.

His drawings were very popular in his time, and he sold many of them (enhanced with watercolors). His landscapes have a narrative quality, telling the tale of a crowd of people walking, skating, tobogganing, golfing, selling soup, making tea – each busy with a slightly different occupation. Currently there is an outstanding collection of his drawings at Windsor Castle in the possession of Queen Elizabeth II.

Paintings in Museums and Public Art Galleries:

The Guide to Great Art on the Internet: Artcyclopedia

World Classic Gallery (7 different paintings)

1st-art-gallery – Hendrick Avercamp oil paintings

The biography of Hendrick Avercamp

Categories: Deaf History
  1. Billythegoat
    October 2, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    WOW!! it is real interesting for me to read his biography. I should go and visit one of his paintings in National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.

    Thank you, Fookem and Bug.

  2. Sherri
    October 2, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Very impressed with Deaf Dutch art! I would love to buy one for my grandparent because they are Deaf Dutch.

  3. Dwayne Hughston
    October 2, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    I like to own his oil paintings on my place. Great art work of time by Hendrick Avercamp. Awnsome.

  4. A.J
    October 2, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Cool paintings, something different from what I see.

    I love the way how they dressed up.

    Use your imagination to see if you can deal with the clothes they wore in the past?

    I wonder if he knew sign language?

    Thank you for sharing.

  5. Jean Boutcher
    October 2, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    I have fond memories about the painting. My mother always bought reproductions of his painting to send greetings to her relatives and friends
    for nostalgic reasons. (By the way, the painter’s contemporary artist, Van Kampen, was also deaf.). Thanks for sharing.

  6. JustJodi
    October 6, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Hi gang,,since I live in Holland maybe I should see if i can find reproductions of the works by those two artisits .. I actually never knew that there were any Deaf Dutch artists, neither did my Dutchie LOL
    Thanks for the info F & B

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.