Home > Uncategorized > Earthquake Hits Los Angeles

Earthquake Hits Los Angeles

July 29, 2008

By Bug

A strong earthquake struck at 11:42 a.m. (2:42 p.m. ET), it happened in the Los Angeles County, Orange County and other counties. I was alerted when I receieved many emails from many Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and Hearing people saying that they are having an earthquake. One of them reported that a Deaf caller used her video phone to chat with her sister. She noticed her sister’s slide window shaking on her videophone before she realized it was an earthquake hitting there right before it hit her next hometown.  Another report says that Deaf man was sleeping until an earthquake shook his bed and scared him off. He ran down to get his mother out of house. His family is okay.

It is too early to tell if there is any damage but all police are checking overpasses, bridges and tall buildings.

Did you feel any of the shaking? Share the phots and video around you and tell us what the scene is like in your area. Email us at fookembug@yahoo.com

More stories will be coming soon. Stay tuned.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nuttyguy
    July 29, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Yes, my son and I felt it for about 5-10 seconds. It was a strong jolt and slight shaking. We’re from San Bernardino County area. The epicenter was about 40 miles from us.

    I didnt panic because I felt this earthquake a couple of time and am used to it. Remember, when there is an earthquake, dont panic, just stay calm.

    You may call California a “Wake Up State”. It is better than a alarm clock so it can wake up all deaf people in California!

  2. drmzz
    July 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Hi Fookem & Bug & JFLMad and Jimactor. I guess a higher power finally shook up RR. Wake up call?

  3. David
    July 29, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    LOL @ Drmzz

    Right now there are several minor damages. Lots of bricks fell off, ceiling fell off, water pipes exploded and so on.

    All ABC, NBC and CBS local TV news has been on all day.

    I was sleeping that time, it woke me up. I just sit up and wait for it to be over. :] I’m about 20 miles away from Chino Hills.

  4. Elaine
    July 29, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    it scared the heck out of me i was panicing and ran to my son’s room he was calm his girlfriend laughing at me sheesh..
    one of my cats was cool and just lay there doing nothing but other cat was scared and ran to hide.
    Im from West Covina. my other son told me a building next to skate park was cracking windows braking.. news also said at Mt. Sac book store warehouse all books and boxes fell off shelves lucky noone was hurt..
    Water pipe lines near Cal State college broke thru the streets cracked too…

    Glad nobody was hurt whew….

  5. Nesmuth961
    July 30, 2008 at 12:20 am

    The ASL-Illiteracy Aftershock! http://ocdac.wordpress.com/ check it out!

  6. Dude
    August 1, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Yeah someone told me within 1 hour before CA had earthquake. I kept wondering if everybody is okay in CA. I checked out news at CNN online to get the latest update. No major damaged which it is good news.

  7. bettyboop
    August 4, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    news states the be prepared for a bigger one within weeks or a month.
    im ready i baught lots of first ad supplies and blanket and jacket in my trunk car.
    my kids and i made aplan where to meet if we are not together at home..

    i believe ABC news is giving away first ad kits to low income im not sure ..

    I also have a flashlight doesnt need batteries which is very good to have…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.