Home > Photography > Fookem’s vacation trip: Southwest of Colorado

Fookem’s vacation trip: Southwest of Colorado

July 22, 2008

Photobucket

The hawk circled and got my attention. I picked up my camera and took a few pictures of hawk.
By the way, I don’t have any food for you, hawk. Sorry. (Mesa Verde National Park)

Photos by Fookem

Note from Fookem: If you have not read my first story, ‘I am backkkkk’. I am going to leave put the link here in case you missed. ( https://fookembug.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/i-am-backkkkk/ ).

Anyway, we left our friend, Bug’s house and drove to Mesa Verde National Park. Mesa Verde National Park is located in the Four Corners Area, which has one of the highest concentrations of archeological sites in the United States and borders the Ute Mountain Ute Indian Reservation. Mesa Verde National Park was established in 1906 to preserve sites built by “Pre-Columbian Indians” on mesa tops and in canyon alcoves.

Photobucket

This is Cliff Palace which is the largest cliff dwelling in North America!

Photobucket

The Spruce Tree House is the third largest cliff dwelling at Mesa Verde!

Photobucket

Before entering the site of cliff dwellings and canyon, we were stunned to see burned forest on 52,000 acres.

Photobucket

We later found out that Mesa Verde has been the site of numerous fires. In fact, between 1996 and 2003, five large wildfires burned over half of the park’s 52,000 acres. The bottom line is that we really enjoyed ourselves about their historical sites. If you plan to go and visit there, we recommend you, it’s a MUST with no doubt.

Photobucket
We went to the four states corner right after visiting Mesa Verde National Park. Four Corners Monument is a granite marker, southwest of Cortez, which marks the spot where Arizona, Utah, New Mexico and Colorado meet. The first marker was placed in 1912 and then replaced in 1992. It is the only place in the United States where four states intersect at the same point.

Photobucket

We were thrilled to touch the four states at the same time. 🙂

To be continued….

Categories: Photography
  1. caitybird
    July 22, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Great pictures of a great area. Just a note – the bird you took a picture of is actually a vulture.

  2. July 22, 2008 at 9:59 am

    I know it is a turkey vulture however my mind keeps telling me it is a hawk. Thanks for the correcting. 😉

  3. Deaf Pixie
    July 22, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    That’s cool! My friend did mentioned me about four corner of four states

    These picture are so beautiful view! I like picture of view at Spruce Tree House! Beautiful!

  4. July 22, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    *grins*

    Yes, I was there at the four states at the same time when I was a teenager with my family 🙂

  5. A.J
    July 24, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Post more pictures please.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.