Home > Vlog > DeafRead Guidelines Follow-Up

DeafRead Guidelines Follow-Up

July 22, 2008

By JFLMad

Summary: Talk about DeafRead Guidelines Follow-Up

Categories: Vlog
  1. July 22, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    B E A U T I F U L Said! :o) Aidan

  2. ?%$^)&@!
    July 22, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Someone left the comment for you, http://www.deafvideo.tv/video/watch/15111/

  3. Penny
    July 23, 2008 at 2:36 am

    I would like to hear your opinion here. How do you feel when some Deafread editors are active in his/her blog and vlog? For example, Amy Efron Cohen had resigned from DBC and she used her blog/vlog to share her views about DBC. She stated that DBC was not giving first impression in Wisconsin. She also made a smart aleck facial expression on vlog that DBC core team giving thanks too long. I made a comment somewhere that I do not blame DBC core team for thanking people for 22 minutes because they have been accused for not delegating their duties to other people. Most of us knew it was not true. Their vlog gave proof to the whole wide world that many other people were involved in the rally.

    Amy complained that the core team could have posted a message to thank people or to thank briefly rather than thanking for 22 minutes. She stated that she was waiting for core team to answer some questions from the community. I was surprised when she brought up because the title of the video from DBC was to thank people and nothing more. Also what role was she playing? Actually everyone has its own style how to thank people. Some may write or some may do on video. Audism is here again. Why not use ASL to thank people and there is no rule on how long or how short we can express thanks in video.

    Do you find this conflict of interest on Amy’s part for being an editor and participate in her blog/vlog about DBC and core team? How can we really be sure that this editor stays neutral at all times? I was appalled that Deafread editors thought it is absolutely alright for her or others to play two roles. I feel that Deafread editors should always stay neutral because they are ones who screen and approve blogs/vlogs. Playing two roles can confuse readers and writers. I think the Greatest Irony is Amy Efron Cohen.

  4. Penny
    July 23, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Another thing here…who approved Barry Sewell’s blog where he published personal conversation with DBC core team? Who? Was it Amy Efron Cohen? How do we really know that she did not approve or approve? We will never know. If she approved then she is playing two roles and being biased too. She has been working closely with Barry about DBC and yet she is an editor for Deafread. No…Amy needs to resign as editor here. She can’t have both. It is a no no. It is not acceptable. I am not accusing Amy for approving Barry Sewell’s blog. It is a question that we need to think about and what is really going on behind the scene.

    I have no malice or hateful feelings toward Amy Efron Cohen. If she wants to be active in her blog/vlog about DBC then that is fine. She is entitled to voice her opinions. Sure. She just need to pick one role. Not two roles.

    I feel bad for David E because when he and I chatted at the Bar/resturant last fall along with other Deaf people that if there is a law protection for Deaf children not to get CI then we would not be bothered if Deaf adults go for CI. I even told him that sometime I wish I could get CI but I refused to do so because there is no protection for Deaf children. It was and is my decision. He did not even mock at me for wishing to have CI. Not one bit. He did not challenge me or called me for being silly and etc. He also talked alot about bilingualism. I am being truthful here. What he shared in AIM conversation should not be shared to the public. It was a private conversation with core team. It is shameful that Deafread editors approved this information. One more thing here…I recalled giving some ideas to Ella and David (I forgot what my ideas were) and they kept telling me go for it…go for it…they showed no control or manipulate over me.

    If my discussion here is off point, please feel free to remove it. I will understand.

    Thanks

  5. Richard Roehm
    July 23, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    What kind of guidelines are ever to be followed by a dysfunctional group of editors like you see at deafread?

  6. Bobby Lopez
    July 23, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Hey
    Thank God!
    Please keep it. I really kiss fist you, no joke because you are very great,thumbs up!!!!
    Please no joke.
    Thanks,
    Thumbs up!!!
    Bobby L.

  7. Jenny
    July 23, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Remove Roehm’s comment, please. It contributes nothing to the discussion, does not back up his contention that the DR editors are dysfunctional, etc. Let’s keep the focus on the issues, please.
    Thanks.

  8. A.J
    July 24, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Perfect example but their heads are like a big rock that can’t break a little. Favorism plays role too.

  9. dimsum
    July 28, 2008 at 12:18 am

    bravo bravo!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.