Home > Videos, Vlog > Fookem and Bug on the mountaintop! (see videos)

Fookem and Bug on the mountaintop! (see videos)

June 19, 2008

By Bug

Transcript:

Bug: Hi! I am at the ummm elevation12,2..umm..05..whoa! My friend Fookem from Chicago is here! Do you want to see him? Ok, come on and let’s meet him, my lousy leftover friend! Here’s Fookem! Surprise! Proof! That’s Fookem and I am Bug! He is traveling all the way to Colorado from Chicago. Why is he here?. I think he just wanted to explore around and takes a lot of advantages to stay at my place and eat for free! I suffer! Ha ha I think he will be gone tomorrow or Monday so I can sleep better! Can’t wait! Hey Fookem, ahhh, you must be shy! Say something to (my camera)

Fookem: Wow, it’s very amazing to get on the top of the mountain. It’s so much fun and really cool. It’s so peaceful and beautiful. Thanks to him!

Bug: yeah, maybe he is lying. Let’s wait and see until tomorrow he will say “ I don’t feel good”. Maybe we will have the bear for dinner tonight!

Fookem: ha ha, far out, later!

Story:

It was a delight to see Fookem, his wife and two boys last week. They’ve been traveling across the western U.S. such as Iowa, Colorado, Nevada, California and other states. Fookem will share his story about his family vacation when he gets back.

They stopped by and rested at my place for a few days before they headed down to Mesa Verden and visit a concentration of ancestral Pueblo Indian dwellings, build from the 6th to the 12th century. After that they were going to hit the road for Grand Canyon, Hoover Dams, Golden State, etc.

I happily drove them throughout the magical mountains such as countryside, the deep forest, and the wilderness. It was the curving descending roads that made them nervous or maybe they felt ill if they didn’t want to admit. Fookem tried to grab something to “hold” himself not falling off. Or maybe if his stomach was crawling up in his chest and would ultimately end up in his lap still attached to his intestines.

Did I forget to say there are no guardrails? While going up and down, I wanted to use my hands in American Sign Language to communicate with him and his family in the back seats because I love talking. I noticed Fookem’s Italian facial expression became frozen. I asked, “ what’s matter? It’s not a huge drop-off, but it’s still pretty scary, isn’t it? Are you okay? So beautiful view!” He was handless (“speechless”)! His eyes glued to the road, oh gosh, I think he wannabe my driving assistance. That was so cool, of course, I didn’t let him drive my vehicle. I wanted him and his lovely family to enjoy the Rocky Mountain spirit! What a great rocky experience for them!

Finally, after a long, slow drive up the back road, there was a great place to stop and stretch my legs. There was snow on the green grass. His family decided to stay inside because the weather was “cold” for them. I offered them my BIGGEST socks, coats, blanket, etc and encouraged them to hike but no luck. I guess my warm clothes were too big for them. Fookem and I were ready to hike up to the mountaintop at 12,005 feet high. He was excited about it. I warned him to be careful or he would get attitude sickness if he hikes too fast.

Fookem walked fast than me. I was impressed and said to myself, “ Look at Fookem the Chicago guy who can hike fast than you! You have got to be shitting me!” I tried to catch up but he was too fast to get on the top first. I had to take it easy to keep a good steady rhythm to help my hiking at the same intensity level and helped me avoid overexertion. We had fun together.

While hiking down, he felt dizzy! LOL! I knew it was his “ first attitude sickness “ for a short time. But the fun did not stop us. What causes high- altitude illness? The higher you climb or hike above sea level, the less oxygen there is in the air. This causes problem for people who normally live at lower altitudes because their bodies aren’t used to working on so little oxygen. If you stay at a high altitude for a long time, your body gets used to the low oxygen level and you don’t get sick from it.

We were on the way back to my hometown…..Fookem spotted the brown bear first. I braked and hope that we could capture picture of bear but no luck. We enjoyed watching the cute beary animal running through the woods. A few minutes later the deer jumped in front of my vehicle, of course, I didn’t hit! The trip was worth and fun. Here’s another short video:

Categories: Videos, Vlog
  1. Just Jodi in the Netherlands
    June 20, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww It was so good to see the two of you together..
    Glad you guys got to hang out together for a bit,,
    Hmmmmm hey Fookem how was the bear dinner LOL
    JustJodi

  2. Vera Hawkins
    June 20, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Hello,
    I am really enjoyed your vlog/blog..
    I know it must be scary up the mountain, my sons and I went to grandfather mountain in NC, I was so scary of height.. I would like to know about Bug is he married? He is darn good looking hee..
    Vera

  3. Jacey125
    June 20, 2008 at 9:11 am

    You both looks so great up there! It is so awesome to finally see Bug signing! I can see that Fookem are having fun with him! he he That is great!

  4. Jenny
    June 20, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Strong ASL! Nice-looking guys on the top! 🙂

  5. Nuttyguy
    June 20, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Fookem, been gasping for air?

    Why didnt you wear a spacesuit from NASA?

    Next time, wear it you climb above 12,000 feet or 2.3miles above sea level!

    And for you Bug, you are goofy!

  6. Dude
    June 21, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    nice to see some left over snow on another mountain. LOL. Good to see both of you in the video.

  7. Samantha
    June 21, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    nice to finally see who bug is and good you two got together. yes, me curious too, is bug married or taken? wink

  8. guess who
    June 22, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    wow ok you have been buggin me to go to Colorado you know who this is so ill go its so beautiful..
    move there hmmm maybe..
    it will take me a few visits to think about moving there..

    ill ttyl Bug..

  9. A.J
    June 24, 2008 at 9:58 am

    I can see that you had a good time.

  10. Karyn
    June 27, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Hiking the beautiful mountains of Colorado is both exhilerating and soothing. Such tiny creatures we are in contrast with the blue and purple walls of rock rising above us. Your video brought back many memories of enjoyable times spent with family members and friends exploring both well-worn and uncharted paths in the Rockies and elsewhere. Thank-you Fookem and Bug for sharing your delightful experience!

  11. June 28, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I am BACKKKKK from three weeks vacation. CHAMP!

    I had much fun up there with Bug…I was laughing at him when he signed to his mini camcorder.

    The trip was rich experience for me and my family, too. Many thanks to my friend, Bug, for a long journey.

    I will write my vacation story soon…

    -Fookem

  12. Dude
    September 16, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    haha. cool. I think I saw this videos few months ago and I watched it again. you guys are funny. nice mountain there.

  1. July 1, 2008 at 10:16 pm
Comments are closed.