Home > Bedtime Stories, Videos > 8 Year old Deaf Storyteller in Video

8 Year old Deaf Storyteller in Video

May 9, 2008

Written by Bug

Should Deaf children be taught American Sign Language? Would you like to communicate with your child before they can talk? Do you want to increase your child’s reading and language abilities? Learning to read and write English takes years, much patience and practice for young children. But they effortlessly use their hands for comfort, communication and acquiring information from birth. Parents should introduce Deaf children to language as early as possible. The earlier any child is exposed to and begins to acquire language. Research suggests that the first six months are the most crucial to a child’s development of language skills.

See the video of 8 year old Illionis Deaf girl (see below), she learned to sign at 10 months old. Her name is Jennida. She is in 2nd grade. Her family is Deaf too. She learned about ASL poetry this year. She is very eager to add more and more. Her ASL expression is getting bigger and more expertly. Her favorite book is “The Rough-Face girl” by David Shannon.. Her favorite TV channel is animal planet. Jennida would like to share her classifier ABC story for you to enjoy.

Categories: Bedtime Stories, Videos
  1. Jen
    May 9, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Very cute girl. I love her story.

  2. Deaf Pixie
    May 9, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Excellent ASL .. .Wow.. I know one of her parent signed her for back up if she can remember.

    I love that one! Cute!

  3. ron
    May 9, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Old News! This clip was on Deafread.com last march 24, 2008

  4. Billythegoat
    May 9, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    really cute

  5. May 9, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Ron,

    Maybe it’s an old news for you. I doubt that you know more about Jennida’s interests, favorite book, etc until today. Not everyone has a chance to see her video. Something old is new again.

    Bug

  6. TJ
    May 9, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    That’s so cute. Wish you see my dad’s face. He’s hearing and had me growing up in hearing world and made me take speech classes during my early childhood. He met my old friend who happen have 2 deaf children age 3 and 5 yrs old. They sign with their tiny hands, communicating with me and friends. My father’s stare and awe…said they are so tiny and sign beautiful. He never understood till I gave him Deaf’s World’s poem. It inspired him. Not many people feel that way. Need more educate and more spread words of ASL!
    TJ

  7. darlingdi
    May 9, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    SOOOOOO CUTE! She made it enjoyable for me to watch and laugh. Soo Cute!

  8. Lisa C.
    May 9, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Excellent!

    Ron,
    Its an old news to you and I hadn’t seen it till last week. Most people hadn’t seen it.

  9. jessy
    May 9, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    aww thats my sister! CUTEE

  10. DeafKitty
    May 9, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    AWSOME!!!!!! I love you !!!!!

  11. Roger Vass
    May 9, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I am proud of her!

  12. May 9, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Ron

    Bug and Lisa C is right.. It is not old news.. I think these girl is very Princess! She is adore girl.. she is very effort to learn Sign Language with a A-Z.. I love that!

    Again, Ron…Next time to be nice comment in this blog.. You made me annoyed!

  13. Just Jodi in the Netherlands
    May 9, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Whahoooooooo an ILLINOIS girl yipppeeeeeeee… LOL

    She did a terrific job.

    And Ron this is the first time i have seen this video clip, not every one SEES every thing YOU do.

    F&B thanks for posting this cute clip and story about this precious child
    Mwahhhh
    JJ

  14. A.J
    May 9, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I did not see this. video before. This girl reminds me of Barb Digi’s daughter, Brianna?

    Thanks for sharing the video with us.

  15. Bobby Lopez
    May 9, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Hey Bug,
    Wow!! she is very clever.
    Thumbs up!!
    Bobby L.

  16. Nuttyguy
    May 9, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Very cute and bright girl! Keep posting video like this!

  17. immy
    May 10, 2008 at 6:56 am

    she s fantastic,,reminds me of my daughter too,,kids really do wonders these days

  18. Paulette
    May 10, 2008 at 7:39 am

    I love it when children especially Deaf ones tell stories. Make sure and save the videos so parents will see them again and again still appreciate them because children grow up so fast! Thanks for sharing.

  19. Dave from Aussie
    May 10, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! Our Aussie signs are a lot different but gee I could follow her story! More please!

  20. May 11, 2008 at 6:36 am

    May 10, 2008

    Hi Everyone…

    I support the idea of teaching deaf babies the signs for words such as:
    “eat”, “hungry”, “sleep”, etc., before they are able to comprehend simple sentences at age 1. Here’s why. I had a deaf student named Lori who is a product of a deaf home. Her mother read stories to her when Lori was 4 months old. At high school Lori was mainstreamed in the HONORS Program and graduated 4th in class. She is a summa cum laude graduate of Gallaudet University. Her goal is to obtain her Ph.D. degree in Psychology.

  21. C C
    May 11, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Aww, she’s clever girl and awesome with A to Z sign language. She can act herself when she grows up…I am looking forward to see her new video again. Congrat!!!

  22. Jacey125
    May 12, 2008 at 11:56 am

    So darling girl! I love to watch the deaf expression on her face. She did a great job!

  23. April W
    May 14, 2008 at 7:51 am

    AWWWWW…
    She is adorable I also have a deaf son, I am hearing but my parents are deaf and my husband is also and now our son Jared. He is VERY ASL himself and he is 6 yrs old. She did a great job i want to give a pat on the back to the parents who did such a WONDERFUL job teaching your child the language. She did a very good job!!! u should make new videos of her telling stories and post them. My son jared was VERY fascinated 😉

  24. waqas
    July 28, 2008 at 4:21 am

    waqas , salam , how are you >?????????????????????????

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.