Home > Opinion > Deaf Lady Steals $5, Dog Hides In Driver’s Car….Phony Story?

Deaf Lady Steals $5, Dog Hides In Driver’s Car….Phony Story?

April 22, 2008

Written by Bug

I was reading the real pizza delivery stories at http://tipthepizzaguy.com/stories/ . A pizza deliver wrote a story about his experience with Deaf lady as he was delivering the pizza. The way he wrote as it sounds like he was making fun of the Deaf ladys speech like he wrote ”“Oowa boowaghna offnaf woulda obbbABABABABA OOOH!” Does it offend to you as Deaf person? His topic caught my attention and thought you might be interested in this story. It might sound phony, isn’t it? Read on:

Delivery Story 249

Beep writes:

I delivered pizza to a deaf couple tonight. Not hard-of-hearing. Completely deaf. I laughed at a comedian with cerebral palsy once; I think I atoned for that sin tonight.

When I arrived at the door, she was standing out there waiting for me, waving both hands and barely managing to not fall off the steps of her trailer house. I’ve delivered to deaf people before. I waved a greeting, and handed her the boxed pizza. Big mistake.

I turned to walk away, and the lady let out a shrill whoop that scared the crap out of me. She was looking at the pizza and she wasn’t happy about what she saw. “Oowa boowaghna offnaf woulda obbbABABABABA OOOH!” she explained. She pointed at the pizza. “Oofnaf WHY oofnaf boooom!”

It didn’t make any more sense to me than it probably made to you just now, so I tried to ask her to slow down and work with me a little, in gestures, complimented with clear lip-speak. She was not to be consoled.

She made a gesture with an open palm, facing me. “WHYYYYF.” Five. “Oooobbaba.”

Then she snatched a five dollar bill out of my hand and pushed me backward off her porch steps.

What the heck? I wasn’t about to go after the crazy deaf woman and get my money back, so I went back to my car and resigned myself to explaining an unauthorized five dollar discount and dirt all over my butt. I drove off through the woods.

Now, when I’m delivering pizza, I tend to zone out and go into a half-tranced state when I’m driving, especially when I’m going a long way on dark roads through the woods. It’s a very relaxing job, really.

Something in my backseat went berserk.

My car has no inside lights of any kind, so while I was finding a place to pull over, I was forming awful images in my mind of what kind of woodland wildlife must have crawled into my car to be raising so much hell. Smashing around against the seats and the sides of the car, howling and making all sorts of awful noises. I was hoping for only a coon, but bracing myself for a bobcat.

I finally came to a stop, jumped out of my car, and shone a flashlight into my seat. All the noise stopped.

A sheepish-looking half-chihuahua mutt was sitting on my back seat looking at me like, “So, shall we continue?” Well gee, I thought, the loopy freak has a loopy freak dog that wants to go home with me. Forget that.

I got back into my car and turned around, back toward the deaf woman’s house. The dog went really nuts. By the time I pulled into her driveway, I was steering with one hand and holding the yapping rat in my other, football style.

The deaf lady didn’t say a word.

Notice: His story can be found at http://tipthepizzaguy.com/stories/story249.htm

Categories: Opinion
  1. Just Jodi in the Netherlands
    April 22, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Gee……I know alot of people will take offense to what the driver wrote.. but really some deaf people sounded the way that he wrote,,and some deaf people THINK THEY CAN ACTUALLY SPEAK CLEAR ..
    I do not think he made this story up, but even if he did… WHY ????

  2. Jacey125
    April 22, 2008 at 10:20 am

    I am not surprise at this.. there are lot of hearing people who think of deaf people this way.

    It is true on some deaf people who act this way…

    Something like this stories do not surprise me either…

    I have seen several hearing people who misunderstand and take it in wrong way.

    This person should not have written this story…what if in some day that this person would have deaf baby? We all need to be careful on the way we write some stories like this….

  3. Kat
    April 23, 2008 at 6:45 am

    No one with any amount of literary background would think this use of phonetics to help demonstrate what was experienced by the hearing sense, would think that it was for any other reason than that; to share an experienced sense: hearing; and the resulting situation arising from that experience is also understandable. It also helps to set the scene for what happened after.

    I would have checked to see if the woman used written english at all, with a tablet and pen. Actually, as a responsible part of the communication situation, I would have had SOME way to back up my communications; and I myself,being deaf, would have had the pen and tablet….a picture, something.

    The use of negative labels later on indicates the frustration and anxiety that was experienced by this person driving away and back again; Anger is often expressed when fear is its foundation.

    While the Deaf Lady was not able to speak clearly enough to be understood by someone who is not used to hearing such speech, her behavior is something she certainly COULD improve and should improve on and has nothing to do with being Deaf. It is just called “rudenss”.

  4. CommanderCowpuppy
    April 26, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I’m waiting for the ending???????
    That’s what makes it appear derogatory is that there is no other point to the story.
    She didn’t say a word……that’s an ending? shrugs

  1. April 24, 2008 at 2:13 am
Comments are closed.