Home > Announcement, Article from newspaper > A Deaf man was killed in an accident while fleeing police.

A Deaf man was killed in an accident while fleeing police.

February 19, 2008

25 year old Colorado Deaf man was driving a 2002 VW Jetta died as he was trying to flee on I-25 in Cimarron in Colorado. He took off at about 90 mph on the wrong way and crashed into 2002 Saturn. 64 year old driver Sylvia Hinklin  and her little dog were also killed. The driver of VW Jetta was Matt Sims.

The accident happened this morning (2-19-08) around 12:30 a.m. Matt was driving on the wrong side of the highway. The police was taking a prisoner to jail in his police car and noticed Matthew’s car stopping and facing south, in the median next to the northbound lanes. Police tried to drive parallel to him in the southbound lanes. Matt took off and the officer turned off the siren and lights but did not chase him. Then Matt crashed into the another car.

The highway was closed for about 4 hours due to the accident investigation.

Matt Sims was known in the Deaf Community at Colorado Springs. He used to be a basketball player.

For more stories, read on:

http://www.canoncitydailyrecord.com/default.aspx?tabid=71&pDesc=2649,1,1

http://www.denverpost.com/ci_8305290?source=rss

video but no cc: http://www.kktv.com/home/headlines/15763192.html

update 2-20-08: http://www.gazette.com/articles/hinklin_33323___article.html/police_south.html

  1. Jodi in Holland
    February 20, 2008 at 6:16 am

    How sad .. I am sure there will be more information on this accident. Interesting that none of the newspaper reports mention that Sims was deaf..I guess this was disclosed later ???

  2. February 20, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Oh, I’m sad to hear about it. I’d forward it on to my deaf brother and he might know Matt Sims.

  3. Richard Roehm
    February 20, 2008 at 8:52 am

    No condolences for the deaf guy driving wrong way and fleeing from the police.

  4. Just another gal
    February 20, 2008 at 9:53 am

    I know the parents–They have contributed a lot to the Deaf community. My heart goes out for the parents of losing a son at young age. Thoughts and prayers with the Sims family.

    (PS- I do not think it is our right to judge for what Matthew did. Let’s extend our condolences to the family who lost a son, which is more appropriate)

  5. Kate
    February 20, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Oh that is too bad to hear about that. My daughter and her bf left that same area and a few hours later, Matt Sims got killed there at the same area. My daughter knows this guy through the poster. We know that other guy.

    We know this other deaf guy in Elk River, MN fleed from police and his car rolled over in the swamp. He is alive. Crazy guys while driving.

    Deaf guys (crazy drivers), pls let cops get you and you should learn your lessons instead of killing any innocent ppls. Don’t drink and drive. Don’t use sk while driving!

    Mom in Colorado Springs,CO

  6. Kate
    February 20, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Forgot to add: this guy (MN)fleed from police, hit one officer when driving past cop cars and almost hit any cars. He sped up to 85? and rolled over 3 times into the swamp. His new car was upside down and he swam out, but cops got him. Amazing, that guy is still alive and his new car was very badly totaled!

    If you let cops get you, you could be charged much less. You have to accept that and let them arrest you instead of fleeing like crazy. You could be charged toooooo much at courts, jail, lawyers, fines, etc. If you are too drunk to drive, just call taxi or parents to come get you. Any friends who don’t drink could drive you home.

    Deaf Mom

  7. Billythegoat
    February 20, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Is Matt Sims related to Ted Sims and Laura Lummer?

  8. Candy
    February 20, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    No relation to Ted Sims? I hope not. I know Lauren and her kids used to live in Colorado. Fookum, can you check into this?

  9. Candy
    February 20, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    NOPE…no relations to Ted or Lauren. Whew….

  10. ABIGAIL
    February 20, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    HE WAS MY FRIEND! GOD BLESS HIS SOUL AND FAMILY….! HE WAS AN AMAZING, LOVING AND SWEET PERSON………I LOVE YOU MATT

  11. Jennipher
    February 20, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Sylvia was my grandmother. Please pray for our family. She was on her way to help another family member who was in trouble and had no idea that her life was about to end.

  12. Kelli
    February 21, 2008 at 1:23 am

    Yes. Sylvia was also my grandmother, who was also killed in this tragic accident. I was always taught to never flee from police and to always assist them anytime possible. I don’t believe that being deaf should be a scape-goat, or some kind of wild card to make it acceptable to drive drunk and kill an innocent loving grandmother. I hope that parents of children deaf or not will teach their children to not drink and drive. Show them videos of what can happen when you flee the police, teach them to respect the police and always stop. Getting a ticket never out weighs killing someone or yourself. I beg of you, please tell your children they ARE NOT invincible and continue to help keep accidents like this from happening.

  13. Katrina
    February 21, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Sylvia was my grandma’s sister, please keep all my family in your prayers.

  14. Cyndy
    February 21, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Sylvia was my MIL for a long time. I loved her alot. This is a very hard time for all family members involved. I don’t want to judge, but being deaf is NO excuse for what happened. If that is the case, should we take all D.L.’s away from deaf drivers? If alcohol was involved….God Bless everyone of you…
    I know this is hard for everyone. I pray that the journey my youngest is taking, is a safe one. I have them all in my prayers.
    God Bless all family members involved in this horrific accident.

  15. TIFFANY
    February 21, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    I KNOW MATT, HES MY OLDER SISTER’S FRIEND. I HAVE KNOW HIM SINCE I WAZ IN 2 GRADE. GOD BLESS U, MATT. WE WILL NEVER FORGET U.WE LOVE U AND MISS U LOTS

    TIFFANY

  16. JCL
    February 23, 2008 at 2:47 am

    I saw updated news that Matt was son of minister Terry Sims. What was his mother’s name? Where was he born/raised up before moving to Colorado? I may knew him – tutored him as very young kid learning sign language after becoming deaf by serious illness.

    Anyone know the newspaper website for me check and read his obititary to identify if this was one I used to know years ago?

    My condolences to both families that lost their loved one by tragic accident.

  17. Gino Villarreal
    February 23, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    I have known Matt Sims since we went to CSDB together. He was a sweet guy I ever have known. I will miss him for sure. And pray for the Sims family. I will alway remember him forever and will never forget him. I cannot believe he is gone.

  18. Amy
    February 28, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Please do not antagonize all deaf people, and say that they should not drive, I knew matt from meeting him through a mutual friend, but being deaf is not a scape goat in my eyes… And please remember that there are plenty of “hearing” People that also drink and drive and to say that all deaf people should have their D.L taken away is ignorant, because then all people of race, age, and gender should have their D.l’s taken away because they each have had someone drink and drive and kill someone..

    Everyone makes mistakes not just deaf people so please do not use this one instance to hate on the deaf community…

    ps. I am not deaf, but am an advocate of the deaf community, because my parents are deaf..

  19. cooper libby
    February 28, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    this is very sad but does anyone know if he got kicked out of school for asking too many questions

  20. John
    March 2, 2008 at 2:10 am

    to cyndy

    i am sorry about ur grandma… i know matt very well than u do… he may do a bad choice… but in other side of him he wonderful young man… and u said deaf people should not allow drive?? look at urself?? lot crazy driver including driver who use freaky phone… i almost got in accident over this…so DONT EVER JUDGE it …. only GOD is judge this

    unknown person

  21. Becca N Eddie
    March 2, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Hey Everyone!

    We really sorry about what happened to Matt and the lady! Which we miss Matt Sims, we knew him from csdb long time! Wish Matt still alive…Dont ever judge Deaf people. Only God Given Period! Alot hearing people got in accident than deaf does. Leave deaf alone! We all PRIDE!!! Look All this NO ONE PERFECT!

    MCQUEEN

  22. Vince
    March 2, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Whom ever talk about deaf bad thing, all hearing dumb! See how i feel as insult! Why all they should argue about deaf! Please shut up about deaf…which Matt is Nice Guy!

    GHOST!

  23. Anonymous
    March 2, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Vince, it doesn’t matter if you are deaf or not. I don’t care if Matt is a nice guy or not. The point is why did Matt cause the accident? He made the wrong choice and poor judgement. Was he NICE for speeding on the wrong way and crashed the innocent lady’s car. He killed her and her dog. That’s NOT very nice of Matt for causing the pain for everyone including his family and friends.

    May all of them rest in peace.

  24. Matt
    March 10, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Didnt matter! The most Hearing people doing Dumb drive alot accident totally about 1,000,000! The deaf not too much in accident! Stupid FOOL! THE GOD ONLY JUDGE US NOT HEARING! DONT GIVE A F**K ABOUT ANONYMOUS! Love yall Deaf ONLY!

  25. JCL
    March 10, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    I may know Matt Sims when he was little guy becoming deaf by serious illness in mid ’80’s. I know his father was minister and am trying to remember his mother’s name – is her name Maggie and has hearing older brother and younger sister? If correct, please let me know how to contact them – I lost contact w/ them when they moved away when Matt was young. I knew his parents as very nice parents.

    Matt made mistake, may not realized that he was on wrong road, not intented to cause tragic accident. Not only him, many hearing people did that too.

    Thanks!
    JC

  26. Illbay
    April 8, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Matt Sims was my ex-wife’s nephew, and first cousin to my children. This is so, so very tragic. I remember when, during a Christmastime visit to his grandparents’ home in another state, when he was around one year old, he began running a high fever. After admitting him to the emergency room, it was discovered that he had bacterial meningitis which led to his deafness.

    This is so tragic, I have felt just awful about it since I heard the news last week. It has also deeply affected my children, who are all of an age with Matt and his siblings. The ripples of effect that such a tragic event has are wide-ranging.

    I pray for the peace of Matt’s parents and family.

  27. Illbay
    April 8, 2008 at 10:40 am

    JCL: Matt’s mother’s name is indeed “Maggie” (Margaret, as we knew her).

  28. Ben
    July 28, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    This is a shock,

    I knew Matt while going to First Baptist Church in Security, CO (it no longer exists). His older brother is Bear (named after the Late Bear Bryant, as Pastor Simms loves Alabama football). Matt was a very sweet and kind person. I am praying for both families involved.

    horrible tragedy!

  29. Annette Garrett
    August 27, 2008 at 10:51 am

    What did the police report say. A person just doesn’t drive on the wrong way street for no reason. Was there a medical problem with Matt?
    Annette

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.