Home > Article from newspaper, Deaf History > Illinois School f/t Deaf had nation’s 1st deaf military company

Illinois School f/t Deaf had nation’s 1st deaf military company

February 1, 2008

By JFLMad

Here are other articles that I found in the newspaper archives that I cleaned out few weeks ago. It is the same newspaper that I talked/vlogged about Thomas Gallaudet wrote a letter to ISD.

Click on the images to enlarge.

isd1.jpgisd2.jpg

  1. DT
    February 1, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Great topic! I remember, as a boy, the military set-up among the older boys was awe inspiring but this ceased before I was old enough to participate. This was at the Minnesota School for the deaf. My understanding as to why this program was halted was because too many parents complained about the rashes in the groin area because of the wool pants that did not have lining to prevent that. Maybe there were other more compelling reasons but this is what I remember. Darn….anyway, may I have your permission to post this at a forum I frequent? With all due credit to you, of course.

  2. February 1, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    DT-

    Yes you may use this article with my credit on it and give me the url address of your forum for me to view it.

    Thanks

    JFLMad

  3. Jan Struhar
    February 1, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Real interesting!!! I remember some deaf institutions such as New York Fanwood, Illinois, Missouri, Maryland, and Minnesota had military drills and bands from Deaf Heritage: A Narrative History of Deaf America by Jack Gannon. I found another source from Gallaudet’s website has an old film about Deaf group had been drilled in military company at Minnesota school for the Deaf. You can copy and paste to see this film website.

    http://videocatalog.gallaudet.edu/player.cfm?video=2471

    Enjoy to watch it.

    Jan Struhar

  1. February 2, 2008 at 6:00 am
Comments are closed.