Home > Article from newspaper, Deaf History, Vlog > A letter from Thomas Gallaudet

A letter from Thomas Gallaudet

January 17, 2008

By JFLMad

click below to read the article

letter from Gallaudet

Hello. I found the history articles of this newspaper. It was in the year of 1989, which ISD (Illinois School for the Deaf) celebrated 150th years of the service. I went there about 12 or 13 years old to celebrated. I went with my brother, Fookem, and my dad, Jimactor. My dad was on the board while my brother and I worked there as volunteers. It’s better than stay home and do nothing. It was in the summer in the month of June, I think as I can’t remember the exact dates but for sure it was in 1989. ISD is located in Jacksonville, 30 miles south of Springfield. It is small town, around 25,000 people live there and it is farm town. People that live there know that there are deaf people around. Lot of deafies went to McDonald’s and the workers know some sign language, really almost all know some sign language. It is deaf-friendly town. The newspaper company call Jacksonville Journal Courier did printed some history stories about ISD celebrated 150 years old. They have the special edition newspaper booklet. Few weeks ago, I was doing house cleaning and found this newspaper booklet and found some fascinating articles in it. The article that I found talked about “A letter from Thomas Gallaudet”. He wrote a letter to the “Prudential Committee” of the first Board of Directors of the ISD. The article is pretty long. Click on the link below to read the article. I have more fascinate articles in this newspaper booklet and I will post it in the next few days. Have some well-known people in it. Enjoy read it. Thumbs up!

  1. Edward Nugent
    January 17, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Does your dad go to ISD? My mom, grandparents, & great-grandparents go to ISD.

  2. January 17, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Just to let you know, Jacksonville, IL is not located 30 miles south of Springfield… it is actually about 40 miles west of Springfield.

  3. January 17, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Wow, how interesting! I read the letter you posted and it’s really interesting.

  4. January 17, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Edward – Yes my dad and mom were in class of 1967 at ISD. I was in class of 1993 and my brother Fookem was in class of 1991, and other older brother in class of 1989.

    Ocean1025 – thank for the correction however I always say that it is locate south of Springfield, don’t know why.

  5. Jodi
    January 18, 2008 at 12:44 am

    That is one event I missed I am also a class mate of JimActors and Deb Ann’s hubby,, we all graduated in 1967.
    I do believe there is another big event coming up..
    I have always thought Jax as South of Spring field too,, but again I have always gotten my directions confused with every thing else LOL
    Thanks for posting that article from the paper.. its always nice reading something about the school I went to many EONS ago LOL

    Jodi

  6. Dee
    January 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    JFLMad,

    And your Great Aunt (your fathers’ Aunt) went to ISD in 1935 –but she did not graduate from there!

    Dee

  7. Edward Nugent
    January 18, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Hello Fookembug.

    My Great-grandpa (Edger Webb) possible enter ISD in 1884 to ?. My great-grandma (Edith Johnson) possible enter ISD in 1885 to ?, plus my great-grandma’s sister name Mildred, and two brother Arthur & Eddie Johnson enter ISD too. My grandpa (Clarence Webb) enter ISD in 1905 to ? and his brother Arthur Webb enter ISD in 1911 to ?. My grandma (Florence Dunavin) enter ISD only one year in 1921. My mom name Daisy Webb enter ISD in 1937 to 1945. When my mom was 14 years old, she move to Arizona deaf school. I hope someday I will visit ISD.

  1. January 18, 2008 at 6:02 pm
  2. February 1, 2008 at 6:58 pm
Comments are closed.