Home > Vlog > My funny experience at the airport metal detector

My funny experience at the airport metal detector

December 17, 2007

By Jimactor

Transcript:

Hello, I want to give you a story about what happened in around 1975. My wife and I were invited to our friend’s wedding in Kansas. We went to O’Hare airport in Chicago. We walked through the metal detector. My wife walked through the metal detector first with no problem. I walked through and the alarm beeped. The woman who worked as airport security said, ‘Come over here as you need to get your belt off’. I said, ‘Oh right, I am idiot’ so I took my belt off but when I walked through the metal detector and the alarm beeped again. She said, ‘Take anything out from your pockets’. So, I took my wallet out from my pocket. I walked through again but this time, no alarm beeped. I asked her why and she said nothing. I put my things back in my pockets. We flew to Kansas. We had a good time at our friend’s wedding. I talked to my friends about what happened in the airport. I walked through the metal detector and the alarm beeped, just only my wallet. My friend said, probably you have something inside of your wallet that had metal in it. I said, ‘Far out’, I had my driver license and nothing metal on the credit card. When we went back to home, in Kansas airport. My wife walked through the metal detector. I learned my lesson so I took my things out from my pockets before walking through the metal detector. I walked through and the alarm beeped. I was puzzled. The woman who worked as airport security said, ‘Come over here and told me to get my wallet out’. Before I went back to the metal detector, the man who worked as airport security stopped me. He patted me to make sure if I don’t have anything on my body. So, I walked through again but this time, no alarm beeped. I asked her why and she said, let me see what you have in your wallet. So I took my driver license and credit card out. She said that one. Know what it is? I used to be member of Playboy club. Their credit card had metal in it. Let me show you my Playboy credit card. When I arrived home and I read newspaper and Playboy magazine. It said lot of people had the same problem as mine about credit card. They had an idea and decided to make plastic credit card.

Years and years for a long time til a few days ago, my mind popped and told my wife, it is far out to have a Playboy member card. She said, ‘Why don’t you send a letter or email to Playboy club to see what they have to say?’ I think sending email to them is the fast way to contact them. I have not heard anything from them so I send email to them for second time. I told them that I had old Playboy club member card. Look like when they get my letter, they think ‘Jim’, he is a cheap person. If I am a movie star or famous person, for sure they will contact me and say where is your card? Maybe they take a picture of me with Playboy card or put it on the wall with frame. The name of Jim is nothing person to them but in my mind, I am happy to have it with me. It is my souvenir. 🙂


Front: Mike Finneran and Virginia
Back: Charlene and me with Playboy bunny

 

My Playboy Club member card

 

Playboy money

Click -> The history of Playboy in Chicago. (http://www.chicagobarproject.com/Memoriam/PlayboyClub/PlayboyClub.htm)

Categories: Vlog
  1. .
    December 17, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Wow! You must be lucky man to meet Playboy bunnies.

  2. Bobby Lopez
    December 17, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Hey Playboy,
    Wow! Honestly,I’m envious of you.
    Bobby Lopez

  3. LOL
    December 17, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    I checked into the eBay to find the value of a Playboy Membership card. Unfortunately, no value but only 20 bucks. No wonder Playboy Club snubbed your email.

  4. Vans
    December 18, 2007 at 3:46 am

    were there credit cards exist during the 1975s?

  5. December 18, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Vans, yes in 1961, the membership was available to anyone willing to purchase a key – $50 for residents and $25 for out-of-towners. The “key” itself was metal and topped off with a rabbit head, later replaced by a gold plastic credit card in typical 80’s uninspired fashion.

  6. Vans
    December 18, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Fook, i mean the major credit cards like visa, mastercard, etc…

  7. December 19, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Vans,

    Ok, yes but you have to use it for Playboy only because they don’t accept cash.

    -Jimactor

  8. December 19, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    LOL,

    Well, I do have three different kind of Playboy cards, one gold metal, one silver plastic and one gold plastic so what you see it in ebay, it is a plastic card.

    -Jimactor

  9. noerapuccino
    May 12, 2009 at 9:37 am

    thank you…..

  10. December 17, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Good quality plastic cards or loyalty cards can help your business.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.