Home > Announcement, Article from newspaper > Fire Deaths Shock Deaf Community

Fire Deaths Shock Deaf Community

December 4, 2007

Yandiri Valencia, left and Melissa Phoenix slept during the blaze.

Written by Bug:

 Three Deaf people in their 20’s, had connections to the California School for the Deaf in Riverside (CSDR). They were close friends. Two of them were killed in a mobile home at Moreno Valley, California not far from CSDR yesterday. Alex Valencia, the husband of one of the deaf women, escaped but reportedly suffered burns to his feet. His wife Yandiri Valencia and her friend  Melissa “Missy” Phoenix did not survive. Their neighbors said they had a cat and several Chihuahuas, which also perished in the blaze.

The fire officals believe that their home was not equipped with special fire alarm for the deaf. An investigation was under way Monday into a fire that killed them.

To read more about them, click: http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-mobile4dec04,1,5860283.story?track=rss

  1. RLM
    December 4, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Very regrettable about seeing two young deaf lives being lost forever! We have to wait for the official fire department’s report findings how and why the fire occurred in the first place. My sympathy goes to Yandiri and Melissa and their loved ones.

    Robert L. Mason (RLM)
    RLMDEAF blog

  2. December 4, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    My deepest condolences goes out to the familes of the two women who perished in the fire. I’ve met one of the women (Ms. Phoenix), and this must have been a crushing loss for her family. Rest in peace, and cherish the memories…

  3. December 4, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    My heart goes out to their families and friends. May God’s comfort and peace be with them.

  4. Richard Roehm
    December 5, 2007 at 2:02 am

    Sympathy for the loss of life, take this as a warning that mobile homes are made out of 95% flammable materials. Remember this when you get in one.

  5. joan valencia-sister in law
    December 7, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    I just want to say thank you to all who have supported in prayers or financially. Our condolences and prayers are with Rubi’s parents and siblings. And also with Missy’s family. May the Lord comfort you through this hard time!!

  6. Dayvid
    December 9, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Meliss was a good person, she was crazy a little, I remember sitting on the bus together, laughing and seeing her smiling. But mostly she was a quiet girl, who observe a lot, but I am sure she has a big heart. Sorry for the family and friends who has lost a great person. She will be missed and bless her heart.

  7. Bruce
    December 9, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Beautiful Hands
    To speak with beautiful hands
    To allow me to see the world you see
    To give me hope that the world is mine
    What I’ve seen through your beautiful hands

    To hear through your beautiful heart
    To speak peace without saying a word
    To know that you’ve touched so many lives
    Through the joy of your beautiful hands

    Your life is a beautiful life
    Called home to a Father’s love
    To share the lessons you’ve taught
    Through the peace of those beautiful hands.

  8. Hekila Matsen
    December 9, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    It was an extremely sad news to learn abt my close friend Missy and how she died. I agree with RLM abt how the fire occured because I know Missy rather well that I seriously know it in my heart that Missy could have escaped. I just hope that they find the details of why she didn’t. Her father is a fireman, ya know? He taught Missy practically everything about fires and tricks how to escape. Also, her dog named La La who died also, is extremely over-protective over Missy and would have woke her up, etc. Ill appreicate if anyone have any information. Hekila@tmail.com
    Thanks.

  9. December 10, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    MY HEART AND PRAYERS GO OUT TO YANDIRI PACHECO VALENCIA’S FAMILY.
    I WILL ALWAYS WILL REMEMBER HER AS BEING A BRIGHT AND HAPPY YOUNG LADY. NOT ONLY WAS SHE MY FIRST GIRLFRIEND AT CSDR. BUT SHE TAUGHT ME ALOT. I WILL NEVER FORGET YOU RUBY AND ALL THE FUN TIMES WE SHARED TOGETHER. I WILL ALWAYS LOVE YOU AND UNTIL WE SEE EACH OTHER AGAIN IN HEAVEN SEE YA NOT GOOD BYE.

    LOVE AND FRIENDSHIP
    JOSEPH M. MACIAS
    CLASS OF 2005

  10. September 15, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I never forget her she help me lot and she been laugth and smile and funny things I never forget her she and I chat on vp last time I want thank to yandi help me I feel reason big time I miss her I know she don’t here she in heaven I hope see ya in heaven

    Ur friend erin oregon from csdr 2005

  11. Someone
    October 21, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    i feel sorry for her families and friends.

  12. Osiris-Cousin
    November 5, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks to everyone for their support after all this time. I visited my cousin’s grave 4 days ago and I can’t seem to really let go.I miss her so much, thanks again for your support and kind words..

  13. anoymous
    December 30, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Something does’nt sound right after reading web articles.Call it a gut level feeling.Im am not sure what the words were but the police and fire marshalls need to stay on this.Other people are in danger from the one that got away.

  14. anoymous
    December 30, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    My feeling was overwhelming,and I have never been wrong when it comes upon me,only wrong for ignoring it.

  15. no name
    October 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    i loved them both he tried his best to get them out he loved his wife and missy as a best friend the one he got away he wouldnt harm a person as he loves animal get that right

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.