Home > Vlog > Interpreter Issues

Interpreter Issues

November 30, 2007

By Jimactor

Summary: I did not want to talk negative about interpreters as I want to express my feeling about interpreters.

Categories: Vlog
  1. IamMine
    November 30, 2007 at 10:47 am

    🙂

  2. November 30, 2007 at 11:17 am

    You did the right thing! We all need to do that, too. One of the interpreters asked me a very personal question and I said to her, ” Why are you asking me?” She just said that I am sorry….She’s trying to make an excuse. I just nodded.

  3. November 30, 2007 at 11:25 am

    I agree with you .. Very rude with you by other interpreter.It is hard to distracted by your conversation straight between person who explained you better than distracted other interpreter. it is very confusion.

    You are excellent example!!
    I have seen anyone conversation were intrupped (bad spelling) dont want to lost your mind between two interpreters in once time of your conversation.:D

  4. Anonymous
    November 30, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Is deaf interpreter acting same as hearing interpreter?

  5. Peachlady
    November 30, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Agreed!

  6. November 30, 2007 at 12:14 pm
  7. November 30, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Ken Davis at DeafNewspaper requested us to post his link. There might be a topic that might interest you:

    http://www.deafnewspaper.com/2007/november/5interpreters.html

  8. michele
    November 30, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Hi, that must have been frustrating for you. I wonder if there was an interpreter supervisor on the cruise that you could have brought your complaints to so that they could discipline the interpreters or were the interpreters basically on their own trying to figure out their jobs on the cruise??

    If the interpreters were on their own, making contracts with the cruise and causing confusion among the passengers, you and other cruisers should speak out so that when there is another deaf cruise in the near future, this problem should be resolved by having an interpreter supervisor to make sure things are going well and to discipline the interpreters when necessary.

  9. Ami
    November 30, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Will you please re-print about Mafia joke? We missed that part.

  10. December 1, 2007 at 12:29 am
  11. December 1, 2007 at 8:53 am

    Ken Davis’ vlog didn’t appear in deafread.com?

  12. Krissy Kays-Greve, New York
    December 1, 2007 at 10:10 am

    HEY — For Royal Caribbean’s Deaf Cruise recently and for all RCCL, ANY PROBLEMS w/ all kind of interpreters, PLEASE REPORT to Emilia Lorenti in Access Relation Department. She is President for Sign Language, INC. for RCCL and she handles issues with situations like yours and the others. She who screening & hiring, definiately wants to S O L V E problems immediately. I have known her through RC’s cruises several times in the past, she is a GREAT lady with big heart. PLEASE please please please contact her!!!!!!!

    In accordance with Emilia’s business card:

    her email address:

    SeaAccess@LorentiWann.com

    Specific email directly to RC’s Access Relation department:

    SPECIAL_NEEDS@RCCL.COM

    Your Best Regards,

    Krissy

    P.S. Overall beside terps, Deaf Cruise is an amazed awesome experience. My husband, Mike & I had BLAST time!!! What a champ “reunion”. And although it was REAL nice relaxed vacation & We deffie will COME BACK!!!!

  13. December 1, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Krissy Kays-Greve, New York:

    Thank you for providing the information so others can contact Emilia if they were unhappy with the interpreters on Deaf Cruise.

    Since you’ve known Emilia, please share and let her know about this so she can follow up. Maybe she needs to remind them that they are just interpreters not babysitters. Actually, hearies need the interpreters….we as the Deafies don’t need one. Make a sense?

    Again, thank you for your help.

    Bug

    Bug

  14. AJA
    December 1, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Whenever the interpreters jumped in and offered to help, I simply said no thank you and I can take care of it myself. Sometimes I could tell they are new learning signers with some excitement as it was their new experience.
    Just try to be friendly with a smile.

  15. December 7, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    WOW! You sure did it, more of US need to tell interpreters to stay “over there” in their own boundaries. I admit, many times interpreters have step over, and I could not tell them to “just interpret” because I don’t wanna hurt their feelings, at the same time, they need to just be an INTERPRETER nothing further……GREAT JOB!! 😀

  16. December 7, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    TO AJA:

    Not true, they can be “years” of expereinced and jump in more. I noticed more of “new interpreters” stand on their boundaries, more than the “oldies” 🙂

  17. Cindie
    December 10, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Perfect what you did right things!!!

    WHY CAN”T INTERPRETERS HAVE HER/HIS NAME ON TAGS?

    Let me telling my story what happened to me with interpreter who work for Passages Deaf Travel.

    Interpreters worked so good but I do not please what interptters was rude to deaf people who had usher syndrome. I am one of them,

    My husband and I walked to auditorium to get front seats. A interpreter man said that reservation seats were for Usher Syndorme people. I told him that I am usher syndrome but interpreter asked me “Can you see closing?” I repeat told him that I am usher syndrome period but he asked my husband same question so he told him nice that he can see but interpreter told that you can’t sit with your wife, only usher syndrome people for resevation front seats. My husband and I never thought of it because it never happened to us before. I told interpreter that he is my husband. He was a little rude to me, Sorry your husband had to sit opposite seat back about sixth rows due to full in front seats on left side. I won’t argue with him and about this one due to alot of people were watching on us, then I was walking through second rows of front seat and was queitly sitting alone and tried to get his name but I realzied that all intepreters do not have name on badges. It happened to my friends and watching them what same interpreter man was doing to them. In my mind, Oh my god, I still disagreed wiat interpreter was doing. I know two friends well, My friend is usher syndrome also going to be blind soon. She paid her own expense to pay her as SSP(Support Service Provider)but interpreter told SSP that you can’t sit with her, because you can see. SSP told interpreter that she can’t see too far and need to use sign by her hand but interpreter told SSP SORRY. I helped her walking trough to get seat by my seat. I explained her what happened. She was disappointed about it.

    SSP and spouse require to sit with wife/husband anywhere so they can be comfortable each other to be with them sitting each other for good memories.

    I had been cruising with Sunset Cruise Agency agent for five times. My deaf travel agent Terzino Bomprezzi provided all interpreters name on tags. It should be for Passages deaf travel agents to do the same if Mac and his wife will do it again for cruise in the future if I will go again with them.

    My reason is to be reach with travel agent about my complain what intepreter was wrong doing to me after pleasure/adventure/cruise trip when interpeter do have name on tag. If no name STUCK ME!!! Ok Look at all cruise worker even Cruise captain, co captain and cruise chef did use their names on tag, then all interpreter do the same.

    To Travel agent, please, put interpreter’s name on tag who will work for you.

    Staff, who worked for Passages Deaf travel should be on duty in cruise ship NOT interpreter.

  18. Emilia Lorenti
    December 10, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    This is Emilia Lorenti CI CT. It was my pleasure to work on the Freedom of the Seas as the vendor for Royal Caribbean Interpreter services. We had the opportunity to have Interpreters on the ship for Deaf-Blind passengers . Sign Language Inc decided to have Deaf Interpreters instead of Hearing for the Deaf-Blind group This way to give the opportunity to the Deaf community to serve as interpreters. If you have any complaints please direct them to me and I will inform the interpreters so we can all learn from this. Here is my email SeaAccess@LorentiWann.com
    As the profession of Deaf interpreting grows, we can use these opportunities to standardize the profession. We have been providing services to Royal Caribbean since 2003 and always welcome feedback. Hope to see you on the next cruise. I love the idea of the name tags!!!! Respectfully Emilia

  19. Billythegoat
    December 11, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Emilia, you said ‘I love the idea of the name tags!!!!’ Oh PLEASE! They are CERTIFIED interpreters and should know better than that but apparently failed to follow law’s requirement? Your people should be in wall of shame.

    Cindie, I feel you. They should not doing this to you and your husband even your friend and her SSP, too. Obviously, they are not real certified interpreters period. I don’t think they screen them, they pick people who they like.

  20. Billythegoat
    December 11, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Jimactor, I am glad that you brought up the issue about interpreter. They need to be spanked sometimes or should I use my little horn to attack them? 😀

  21. Interpreter sucks
    December 11, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    Cindie, I am sorry to hear about your experience. Next time stay and sit tightly. Ask for the manager. They should not tell you what to do. If a blind person with guide dog, will they tell the dog to sit at the different place so you sit in front? That’s wrong. How’s about if Deaf and Usher syndrome mother with her child walks up and sit….will the interpreter tell the child to move and sit somewhere else? That’s discrimination!

  22. Scratch my head
    December 12, 2007 at 12:42 am

    I just watched Gary Brook’s video about Interpreter ( http://garybdir.wordpress.com/2007/12/12/are-you-my-interpreter-part-1-2/ )

    Oh my gosh, he reminds me of Keith Wann. Why? His action is exaggerating like Keith.

    Your vlog is more calm down and professional. It should be if you want to talk and discuss about it. Not like them because the readers think they did not take any serious to discuss.

  23. Anonymous
    December 12, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    CI, Emilia and DFC travel agent, Mac

    No necessary to direct you about my complaints; it is my rights, deaf people need to know about what it was going on.

    Why Royal Caribbean cruise 7 staffs worked at guest relation with only 2 interpreters?

    You should prepare to get more interpreters at guest relation. Whoever was responsible to hire about 100 interpreters, this person or passage travel staff should be check on at guest relation or one of two interpreters should call you to need extra interpreters when there were about over 65 people standing in long lines who wanted to hurry up because they do not want to miss talent shows and dinner time even I had been standing about 35 minutes then I made on my time for my cruise dinner time. Afterward, I passed by guest relation, people still were waiting in lones lines. It was my ninth cruising, this worst one I had been experience.

    After my talking to do with guest relation, then I asked interpreter but she had nothing to do say then asking passage travel staff so I asked passage travel deaf staff about my complain of waiting in line and need more interpreters. Passage travel deaf staff said “Sorry” and nothing to do quick getting interpreter.

    Interpreters should do to better serve the need consumers.

    Why not you hire deaf person who do on duty to do with all interpreter’s job? So deaf staff can keep up on eyes to do better serve fast with deaf consumers at guest relation.

  24. cookiebug
    December 13, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Bravo!! I agree with JimActor because I have been frustrated with interpreters who think they own and control you and you can not ask questions to a hearing person without interpreter giving answers before the hearing person could answer.

    Thanks!!

  25. cookiebug
    December 13, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Bravo!

  26. December 19, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Cindie, I could not believe what interpreters to do you and also your friends as SSP with her. SSP must be stay closer to person period. I was glad that you brought it up so they will do better for next time.

    I had been seen what interpreters were doing to my experience between Passage Deaf Travel, was my first time with Mac and Sunset Cruise Agency. It was very interesting me because it compared very different. Interpreters who worked for Passage Deaf Travel did not involved with deaf people’s activities around during their duty off, because they are certificated RID and CT what Keith Wann said through I watched his comedy video slip from deafnewspaper.com BULLSHIT!! They did not do a good job with deaf/blind people also no name tag. Not for Sunset Cruise Agency hired interpreters who were off duty and still involved activity along deaf people where they went and eating with deaf cruise people, because interpreter were most COLA.

    I was so excited to see my deaf travel agent, Terzino Bomprezzi on Deaf Freedom of Sea Cruise last October. He is first deaf travel agent as Sunset Cruise Agency and had his experience as travel agent for 13 years. I cruised with him five times. He was his excellent job as deaf travel and to do inform deaf passage with activities and tour shore daily making people comfortable and enjoyable time also he put deaf/blind people in front of seat of auditorium with his/her SSP and making them satisfied to see clear. Interpreters who hired were by Terzino evaluated interpreter’s video and checking his/her reference. He told deaf people who were cruising with him, believed that 92% COLA interpreters were doing good jobs and can get along each other with deaf people and know about deaf people’s feeling. I myself agreed with him what Terzino said.

    Few interpreters had been cruising with me in past years ago and told me that he/she were not happy what deaf Freedom cruise, this person was responsible to do with interpreters and did not do job processing. Emeilia Lorenti, How many times did you cruise with deaf people since 2003?

    KEITH WANN

    100 people and I do not please what Keith Wann was doing about sign up card and passport video through Passage Deaf Travel website. We do not mind that Keith Wann was acting silly about sign up card but not through any website or interent because hearing people thought it was true fact but not true. We felt that Keith Wann felt that deaf people are so stupid about sign up card and passport either do not know how to use to do with sign up card so Keith acted so silly wild running around and stupid what deaf people are doing. We disagreed what Keith acted. Keith Wann should not act this stupid one through interent or let someone explain nice or professional how to use sign up and passport, but he can act on the stage or cruise auditorium We heard that about 85 deaf people do not have passport and can not go cruising. Was it true story? Maybe deaf people thought it was funny or joke story what Keith was acting so they do not need to bring their passport. Who know?

    WOW!!! Cruise never bored Terzino Bomprezzi because he had been cruising about 40 times. He told me that he will be retiring next year. I told him, Oh No!! so I asked him where will your last cruising be on? He said “ITALY” I wanted to go since he will retire so it will be my last chance to be with him for Terzino’s Last cruising. I know that he will miss by many who know him. I wish him all the best.

    Do not MISS Terzino’s last cruising next year!!

    Here is Terzino’s website http://www.deafcruises.com

  27. Anonymous
    January 24, 2008 at 3:10 am

    I CANT BELIEVE THAT MAC HIRED KEITH WANN SLOOPY INTERPRETER AND TALENT SHOW LIKE DEAF STUPID.. FRIENDS AND I ENOUGH SAW KEITH ..
    WE NEVER FORGET KEITH SLOOPY IN THE HISTORY..
    IF IF MAC STILL HIRE KEITH CRUISE 2009 .. HUNDREDS DEAF WILL NOT GO CRUISE 2009 ..
    KEITH WANN NEVER SAY SORRY OR APLOIZE TO ALL DEAF PASSENGE. YOU THINK DEAF PASSENGER DUMB..

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.