Home > Dear Fookem/Bug > Please Save Wyoming School for the Deaf Building

Please Save Wyoming School for the Deaf Building

November 29, 2007

 Note:  FB receieved an email from Deaf person asking for help. We should share this with you. Hope you can help. Read on:

Do you guys have any ideas of what the local deaf community could to to fight against the School District to keep the Wyoming School for the Deaf building open?  Or perhaps you might know of people who would be able to help us take action?

This was the email I just sent out a few minutes ago to a lot of people that could possibly take action (hopefully!):

I just wanted to let you all know that there is still a chance that we CAN save the Wyoming School for the Deaf building from being torn down!  We need to take action.  Write letters to the editor and express your opinions and concerns about the building, pester the school district, etc.  Get your friends and/or families involved!

I myself cannot write a letter to the editor since I work for the Star Tribune and employees cannot write letters.  So it is up to you guys to write the letters.  You can send letters to
Casper Star Tribune
Letters Editor
170 Star Lane
Casper, WY 82609

or email your letters to the editor at:

Or, you can send your letters to me and I can take them directly to the editor.  Whichever works best for you.

Keep passing around those petitions.  There is NO good reason for the building to be torn down.  So if you want to see the building saved, take action!  Spread the word and fight against the demolition.  There are even many who are working for the school district that want to keep the building up and are against the school district’s plans of tearing down buildings and replacing them, and just wasting money.

I’ll do all I can to help keep the building up, but you guys can help out too.  It’d be great if we all can work together and get the school district to change their plans.  I know we can do this.

I’ll keep sending out any more information when I know more, and doing what I can.  I can help with petitions outside work, etc.

Here’s some contact info for the school district if you guys want to send letters:
Superintendent: Jim Lowham
supt@ncsd.k12.wy.us

Central Services Facility
970 N. Glenn Road
Casper, WY 82601

There is no reason to let the school district win.  They just want to waste money by rebuilding every school in the district when it’s not even necessary.  Lets fight them and keep the WSD building open.  The WSD building is still being used on a daily basis; people are constantly coming by to use the library/resource center or the offices, and the building is still in great shape.  Pineview Elementary was condemned, the WSD was not.  And the WSD building is a unique building design, and it was built to last many, many years.  Let’s save it!

Also, I am still trying to work on the WSD Archives website.  I am having issues with the current host server, so I am looking for another host for the website.  I will let you know as soon as I can of the new web address.

Maybe you can be of help too, I don’t know.  I just want to get as many people involved as possible to save the building.  Hopefully you’ll have some ideas or people that could really help.

Categories: Dear Fookem/Bug
  1. November 30, 2007 at 12:18 am

    Thanks and this is the important message. I am going to pass it to all of my friends I know. I used to go Wyoming every Summer to hang out with Deaf friends when I was young. I will write a letter to Casper, Wyoming . What else we can do?

  2. Richard Roehm
    November 30, 2007 at 1:59 am

    You have to be kidding. It’s as useless as the devil’s tower.

  3. KingT.
    November 30, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Who actually wanted to keep this eye-sore building?? Anyway, I don’t care if the state replace this school with a newer school, as long as, they don’t establish a Starbuck coffee store there. 🙂 One thing that the state could never take away from us is our memories!

  4. CD
    November 30, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Useless? The building is still being used on a daily basis by parents seeking info on how to raise their deaf kids, people wanting to learn sign language, etc. Building is not useless at all.

    Eyesore? Not so. It’s in great shape, and has a unique design that you don’t normally see.

  5. CD
    November 30, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Adding more to this post:

    In June of 2007 during the WSD’s 50th anniversary and reunion, it was the alumni’s wish to have a small archives museum to be created in this building, as there would be historical meaning. If the archives museum is placed in another building (should the library/resource center be moved), there wouldn’t be the historical connection. Let’s achieve the alumni’s dream!

  6. Barry Carpenter
    November 30, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    It is not useless ! I was former Student in WSD for 7 years, They education me to speaking and education too.
    I would like to see to building to remaining there as it can be use for Department of Vocational Rehabiltation , sign language class, Singing Interpreters workshop, Community Center for all age of Deaf folks, It can use for Deaf Club for social & museum of DEAF Heritage.
    What is reason to tear down that WSD is in finest shape as there is nothing wrong with the building so don’t waste our tax dollars for tearing WSD down….
    WHY don’t we tear down the towne hotel & Former national Bank on Second street in downtown on Center street is total eyesore !!!! Wyoming Deaf School IS NOT EYESORED !!!!
    Those people saying it is eyesore & USELESS is THAT person(S) who is discrimnation against Deaf Cultures as disability! shame on you for saying that.
    It have MANY offerings for everyone to use the WSD.
    Those building belongs to all Deaf People not hearing people,,, I tell you why…

    READ the sign on building “Wyoming School FOR the Deaf” , now you see word “FOR” as that meaning is belong to Deaf and let Deaf People decide not the state school or natrona county school board to make decide because the board members is not have any deaf persons on the boards to make decide sabout the building… It is total WRONG!

    We all need to stand up and speak out to save the WSD building from tear down.

    I’m proud member of National Association for the Deaf & Deaf Association of Wyoming will fight to keep school for other purpose to allow deaf folk to use it with state funding to provide the needs of its service.

  7. S.Carpenter
    November 30, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    I didnt go to Wyoming School for Deaf but my husband did attend WSD. I did visit WSD last June which was 50th anniverary and I saw that school looked fine and good shape. Its very shame to tear down. There is no such eyessore!! WSD could use much as we need like social with deaf or meeting or tour around WSD when other people visit.

    SHAME ON YOU!!! Wyoming School for Deaf means it belong to deaf people not you or hearing people. Dont be GREEDY!!!!!!!!

  8. Holly C.
    November 30, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Well, I was born deaf and partly left eye blind…. I have never forgotten those days at old deaf school from school house to school… man, how can I ever forget that deaf school that which helped me to learn and how to speak (not tooo well, ha! But still do anyway!) and I have never forgotten my former speech teacher who passed away a year later after I was there for 25 yrs Annisnveary and I was very saddend of all cuz of my favaort speech teacher was gone but I was very glad to see her for the last time and I damn very glad! So I AM VERY PROUD TO BE DEAF ALWAYS!!! Deaf is what we are stand for cuz to help other deaf people as well as hearing peopel whose have deaf kids to understand what the real mean of “DEAF!” So that deaf school is real mean to all of us, the former deaf students yrs ago… would like to see DEAF SCHOOL STAY ALIVE PLEASE!! DO NOT TEAR DOWN!! God have gave us to live on to be happy and learn how to do… etc!!! That was most the important to all of us…so we can learn some more at either college or anything else for that matter!! That is what I have learned so much, had not for that, I wouldn’t be here and I would be DUMB… that is bad! Yikes! I would rather be like hearing do except for hearing! Be happy for us that we had learned from that WYOMING DEAF SCHOOL!!

    I love them very much and I was glad to see them last time! PLEASE LEAVE WYOMING DEAF SCHOOL ALONE!! Just what Barry said above…is good idea that can be use for something like that!

    Thank you for listen to us the deaf formaer students as well as me! I was there for nearly 11 yrs or maybe 12, I can’t remember! Ha!

    All in all, I AM DAMN PROUD TO BE DEAF, PEROID!!!!!!

    Thank you.

  9. Holly C.
    November 30, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Oops and forgot one more thing is that my English is not too well, tho but hoepfully u all can understand this that I AM SUPPORT THAT WSD BE SAVED!!!! DO NOT TEAR DOWN!

  10. WSD alumni
    November 30, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Little Rich-areyoujealousbecauseourbuildingisbetterthanyours?

  11. ALAN JEFFERS
    November 30, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    WOW IT SHOULD NOT TORN DOWN DUE VALVE OF HISTORY DOES WYOMING LIKE COLLECT HSUISTORY LIKE COWBOYS HISTORY OR INDIAN HISTORY IS VAVLE OF HISTORY LIKE WYOMING SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF. BUT IF THERE IS REASON LIKE CRACK WALL THEY CAN REPLACE IT NEW BRICK OR WOOD WHATEVER HISTORY TAKE IT. I THINK IT IS WORTH IT KEEP IT FOR HISTORY LIFETIME. HOW MANY WSD DOES IT HAVE IN ONE STATE FOR EXAMPLE LIKE NORTH CARLONIA AND VIRGINA HAVE 2 DEAF SCHOOL. I THINK I SUPPORT TO NOT TORN DOWN BECAUSE OF WYOMING OF HEART OF HOME WSD CAN SAVE OUR VALVE DEAF HISTORY Valve LIFETIME IS BEST FOR EVERYONE IF TORN DOWN THEN GET LOST HEARING PEOPLE IN WYOMING SHOW THEM NOT HAPPY LIFETIME MAKE THEM REALIZE HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT SAME AS OUR USA DEAF WILL NOT HAPPY TOO WE NEED TO KICK THEIR BUTT.

  12. ALAN JEFFERS
    November 30, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    OH ONE THING WHEN IT GOING TO TORN DOWN LET ME KNOW RANG ALARM WHAT DATE AND YEAR BY TIME SO WE CAN GET STOP LIKE DEAF STANDING WALL PROTECT FOR WSD LIKE STRIKE SIMPLE LIKE GALLUADET U AND NUMBER TWO IS WSD. KICK THEIR BUTT.

  13. December 1, 2007 at 12:34 am

    Send us the pictures of Wyoming School f/t deaf campus as we would like to make a project for you.

  14. Stratching My Head
    December 1, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Any web site up running about the plan on tearing WDS down?! What is their reason to tear WSD down? What specific organization or agency is using WSD now? Which specific building would WSD staff, faculty and students like to see that being kept? I don’t see any point for them to tear all buildings down. they should keep one up standing, possibly the oldest one and have it used for like a comment on here, for VR, Deaf Social club, any agency regards to Deafness, Deaf Museum of Wyoming or Wisconsin.

    Look at California School for the Deaf, Berkeley. University of California got CSD’s property. What they did to everything was remodeling everything and keep old CSD campus and building as much as it looked like when it was CSD. WSD could be done the same way.

  15. December 1, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Richard Roehm,

    Memory is the dairy we all carry about with us. It is not usless. It’s like the true tomb of the dead is the heart of the living.

    Bug

  16. CD
    December 2, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    I’ll have to see if I can find the pictures. I know I have some older ones saved somewhere.

    And there isn’t a website with any plans for the WSD. The school district just wants to tear down the building just because. There is no real good reason for them to tear down the building. Staff from the conjoining elementary school is using part of the building for office space, and the State Department of Education is using the original section of the building as a library/resource center for the deaf, and there is also an office in the original section that serves as a resource center for the blind.

    I am trying to get a website going at http://www.wyomingdeaf.com but haven’t heard back from the host yet about the account being activated.

  17. Sherrie P Martinez
    December 10, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I am attended WSD for 11 year. Last summer I was going to WDS for 50 year reunion. I want support that WDS be save. The People deaf love WSD could be social other each will come again. PLEASE DONT TEAR DOWN!! I prayer for that.
    I appreacate it.
    Sherrie P Martinez

  18. Daniel Browne
    January 5, 2008 at 6:36 am

    NO!!! Don’t take it away from the deaf. We need it for our future generations. Not all of us are into the so called cochlea implant which is taking over the world (and those who wear it still hang out in the deaf community!). I attended St Andrews Public School mainstream. 20 years ago there were two classes, one for kindy to year 2 and the other year 3 to 6. All up there were roughly 20 to 30 deafies. Now it has been closed down due to the lack of deaf children enrolled. What a shame! Now my wife and I have no choice but to send my daughter to thomas pattinson school at north rocks. We shouldn’t have to if it wasn’t for the government shutting down schools instead of offering education to hearing parents with deaf children. Keep the school alive! Shut down the cochlea implaint factory instead!

  19. October 9, 2008 at 8:33 am

    hi how are you and friend ? i am very happy to write this my faw word .i am from cameroon .i am boy .i love you and name pls say you want for apply me.i am deaf mr harrison nojang.
    thank you much for you.

  20. October 9, 2008 at 8:38 am

    i am very happy to today .ok ask where is your live from?PLS REPLY ME.YOU FAST TIME TO SEND ME .ASK YOU HAVE HEAR OR DEAF .I DO NOT KNOW TO HIM.
    THANK YOU.

  21. October 23, 2008 at 11:18 am

    So what happened? The only updates and comments I’ve been able to find are no more recent than January 2008. Did the school district proceed with demolition plans, or what?

  22. Barry Carpenter
    November 28, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    It seem WSD still standing there. I’m very much like watchdog over this WSD building from being destroy.
    If WSD torn down then We the deaf Cultures will never forgiven any hearing person from Natrona County and State of Wyoming Department of Education for doing that. Hearing have been under influnced by A.Graham Bell Founders to demolished deaf world to join the hearing world by having Cochlear Implant in all deaf newborn babies at age 12 months old and up. When Toddler to younger age have served problems from Implant of cochlear and even death.
    Why do hearing world and A.G. Bell founders destroyed GOD;s imaging as he is the creator the DEAF World to testing Hearing world to accepted the Deaf Cultures and love Deaf with whole hearts, We deaf gave all love with big heart to hearing world with all support as full services then what do we all Deaf got from hearing in returns, Barely little as not whole lot.
    Please don’t hurt each others between Deaf and Hearing… Like respect and honors each others.

    Let Deaf cultures have it as it so memory.

  1. November 29, 2007 at 10:28 pm
Comments are closed.