Home > Fookem and Bug's Believe it or not! > Ghostly Hearing Dog

Ghostly Hearing Dog

October 30, 2007

Written by Bug

In 2002 I lost my beloved hearing dog Fancy after a drunken driver crashed into my vehicle. I was injuried at the site where I held her close to my chest while she was struggling to catch her last breathe. My spirit was broken. A few days later I buried her at Precious Pet Cemetery not far from where I live. Since then it started with strange feeling around the familar  feeling (“sound”) of her nose touching my shoulder while I was sleeping. It would take a second for me to realize, to remind myself, that she was dead. Was my mind playing tricks on me? Was I feeling something else, perhaps squeaks in the bed that my mind interpreted as dog sounds because I was so used to feeling her. Did I ever she her in ghost? No.

Two or three year ago my mother came from another state to visit me. She said that it started with strange noises at night …the familiar sound of Fancy’s whimpers and barks in the empty room. My mother felt the dog licking her hand while she slept.

When thinking of ghosts, we usually evision people, but what about animals? Are they any different from us? Who knows?

  1. October 31, 2007 at 12:46 am

    I do recalled about your story from vlogger and were read your stories It did made me cried breif time. I know it is much hard on you. I never had expereinced the situation that you already go through difficult time.

    I always beleive the ghost around. but never expereince with a ghost pet. I thought it is possible as similiar as human. I never thought and apprectice of your memory of your belove pet. I learn alot from you and other people,too..

    Of course you missed her alot! It is always important in your life.

    Thank you for sharing about ghost hearing dog

  2. deaftechmom
    October 31, 2007 at 3:48 am

    Sure, there are pet ghosts. Ghosts are really spirits, and after a pet has passed away, I can feel its spirit in my home for a while.

    I had a cat who passed away, and every time I’d pass the place where he used to have his litter box, I’d feel *something*, like a presence. When my dog passed away, I’d occasionally see out of the corner of my eye a shape like a dog scampering across the floor. It’d be fleeting, but I’d see it.

    I have a very strong 6th sense. Really causes me great distress at times. I’m too darn sensitive! You and your mother may be “sensitives”, too. People who see/feel spirits are “sensitives”.

    Thanks for sharing this story.

  3. October 31, 2007 at 6:07 am

    WOW!!

    Yeah I remember you sharing this story, it is heartbreaking big times.

    Yes there are pet ghosts. OR is it we believe that we missed our animals so strongly we feel their presence?

  4. October 31, 2007 at 8:48 am

    My recently deceased cat, “Toozey” will often come to me in my dreams. She is so real sometimes that I feel I can reach out and touch her, but of course, I’m asleep. But I think we do get visitors from the other side now and then. My grandparents sometimes pop up in my dreams so vividly that I feel I’ve just had a visit with them. I can’t say I’ve ever seen or felt a ghost, but in my dream world, things can feel pretty real!

    ~ LaRonda

  5. October 31, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Dear all, thank you for your comments.

    Here’s a story you might want to read. Also, there is a picture of my beloved dog in her last snow. read on:

    https://fookembug.wordpress.com/2007/02/11/do-you-really-need-a-hearing-dog/

  6. Deafkathy
    October 31, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Wow and amazing how the spirits really do exist. I remembered one early morning (at around 4:20am) I woke up after I felt a breeze and gentle touch on my hand then about half hour later I got a tty message from my brother to tell me that our dad passed away at around 4:25am. Every once a while since dad’d death, I felt the same breeze and gentle touch whereever I am. Is it him to let me know he’s around?

  7. October 31, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Almost every night, as we begin to fall asleep, we get the faint sensation of a few cats pattering on our bed. We’ve lost 4 cats (and 2 dogs) over the 18 years of our marriage and we like to think those ghostly patterers are our beloved kitties.

    That was a nice tribute of Fancy, and I enjoyed reading it very much, albeit with tears in my eyes.

  8. *Boston
    October 31, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Yes, it is Fancy coming to see you. I believe the spririts of our loved ones are close by… I’ve had my share of the “visits” throughout the year. Yes, please assured that Fancy is watching over you because she was assigned to in her life. I assume it’s a she. Smiles.

    You’re lucky you’re able to sense her being around you. That is a GIFT.

  9. Michelle D
    October 31, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    I do believe there’s animal spirits around us. When I first moved in an apartment in 2002 and I felt cold nose touching my leg (I have a dog – keep in mind) and I looked down to see if my dog came by but she wasn’t around. It gave me chills. Sometimes I felt fur brushing by my leg and I looked down and still not see my dog. I believe the owner’s dog passed away in an apartment where I lived in.
    Real strange about this.. I moved to my new mobile home from apartment for 5 years. I still felt dog’s cold nose and fur brushing on my leg here in my home. Guess that dog followed me here. It doesn’t bother me now. It’s nice to have that dog – who knows that dog may be my guardian angel!? Heh.. Smile..

  10. Bridget Connolly
    October 31, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Yes, it may be true to know that there are animals spirits around protecting us because of the special relationship developed between humans and animals.
    I lost my family dog, a Maltese named Spanky, to the lymphoma cancer, he never stop loving me and my Deaf brothers. We trained him in ASL signs and he always join us for our ASL conversation.
    After we buried him in the family backyard under the stature of St Francis of Assisi, patron saint of animals, I realized that he had a wonderful seven years(7×7=49 in dog years) of being a dog on this earth. I still miss taking him out for a walk, his licks and its wagging tail.
    I feel that your beloved dog, Fancy is around you, trying to alert you about something. Probably Fancy had to be there for your sake. She is around you watching for you. Remember that, Fancy is not alone, she is roaming acoss the rainbow bridge with other dogs, cats, and other animals.
    Yes, all dogs and humans have real special relationships. Remember that.

  11. October 31, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    My black cat, Jena was missing for a month and one day I can feel her trying to tell me that she’s here with me. I can feel it. I was thinking a lot of her.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.