Home > Deaf History, Vlog > Dummy Hoy and My Deaf Uncle Conway French

Dummy Hoy and My Deaf Uncle Conway French

October 11, 2007

Click to view

By Jimactor

Transcript:

Hello again. I want to talk a little about my family. I came from Deaf family. My mom and dad were deaf. My mom had old brother who was deaf. His name is Conway French. I knew him as a famous baseball player but I did not know about him. Until my mom passed away, she had lot of pictures in the box. I do not dare to open the box because I remembered about my mom. I left it alone for a long time until a few months ago, I decided to clean the box. I found the newspaper article and I read it. I do not understand because it talked about Dummy Hoy and my uncle, Conway French. It talked about baseball and I still do not understand it. They had their own team which was successful. It does not tell me where they played, what year? and why did they become famous? Conway raised up in deaf school which is in Danville, Kentucky. I hope one of you find more information about Conway French. Please let me know why he becomes famous and I want to know about him more. Thank you.

(The newspaper article that I found it in my mom’s box)

Categories: Deaf History, Vlog
  1. sweety
    October 11, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    hi i dont know you but i see the picture if thats right if it is a right person on the right side ,, he looks like you ! i may be wrong

  2. Rog
    October 11, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Maybe you could try search in internet about him. I’m sure internet does save history from past. Maybe you could find more information about him. I could try this for you too. Let see… I’ll reach you again if I find some information. :o)

  3. Rog
    October 11, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I find some information about HOY, but I’m not sure if it’s correct. But I know you are look for Conway French, I’m still work on it. :o)
    http://www.baseball-reference.com/h/hoydu01.shtml

    I find better information. He’s first deaf baseball of MLB. I’m talk about Dummy Hoy.
    http://images.search.yahoo.com/images/view?back=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.yahoo.com%2Fsearch%3Fei%3DUTF-8%26p%3Dphoto%2Bof%2Bdummy%2Bhoy%2B&w=157&h=237&imgurl=clerccenter.gallaudet.edu%2FWorldAroundYou%2Fimages%2Fhoy_photo.jpg&size=30.1&name=hoy_photo.jpg&rcurl=http%3A%2F%2Fclerccenter.gallaudet.edu%2FWorldAroundYou%2F2005-09%2Fhoy.html&rurl=http%3A%2F%2Fclerccenter.gallaudet.edu%2FWorldAroundYou%2F2005-09%2Fhoy.html&p=dummy+hoy&type=jpeg&no=1&tt=26

    http://library.thinkquest.org/5852/deafhoy.htm

    http://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images/view?back=http%3A%2F%2Fimages.search.yahoo.com%2Fsearch%2Fimages%3F_adv_prop%3Dimage%26fr%3Dyfp-t-471%26va%3Ddummy%2Bhoy%26sz%3Dall&w=253&h=330&imgurl=www.deaflife.com%2Fback_issue%2Flisting%2FImages%2F053nov92.JPG&rurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.deaflife.com%2Fback_issue%2Flisting%2F053.html&size=36.7kB&name=053nov92.JPG&p=dummy+hoy&type=jpeg&no=13&tt=54&oid=f17cd86b2ef25952&ei=ISO-8859-1

    http://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images?_adv_prop=image&fr=yfp-t-471&va=dummy+hoy&sz=all

    You may find more information about HOY in yahoo search… you typing photo of dummy hoy… You will see many website link of him. I learn something new today about it. Its really good to know about Dummy Hoy. But I couldn’t find about Conway French but I’m still work on it.

  4. Rog
    October 11, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    I find more information about D.Hoy. Very interesting about him. He’s first deaf baseball player to be in mlb. He was a very good baseball player. Click below link, then you can click different website about him. Enjoy….
    I didn’t find anything about your uncle. Maybe he was his good friend, or on same team of high school… I’m not sure about it. I hope someone else can help you with that. :0)

    http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=photo+of+dummy+hoy&fr=yfp-t-471&toggle=1&cop=mss&ei=UTF-8

  5. October 11, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    As an leading expert on Dummy Hoy (as they said it) I would like to request a lasered copy of this and be send to me.
    Would like anything you might have on Dummy Hoy. This is something I didn’t know of.
    Thanks for bring this to light.

  6. reader
    October 12, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Why dont you start with KY school for the Deaf. You might be surprised to discover more information about your uncle, Conway French.

  7. ASL Risen
    October 13, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Very interesting! I hope that he will find out about his uncle. Did he find out what or where local newspaper and the date of newspaper publish? Maybe that will help the KY School for the Deaf to find more info about his uncle with the year of enrollment?

  8. October 13, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Hi everybody,

    I got some interesting information from “anonymous” through email. Right now, we focus on Conway French timeline. (born, education, death, etc) Will keep you posted.

    Thanks so much for your little tip, Readers.

    -Jimactor

  9. October 15, 2007 at 7:37 am

    fookembug, May you send me anything that shows Dummy Hoy info you have in your mother’s treasure box? Check the link and will contact me. Its necessary to know the year since I have 1920’s team picture of the ADWS (or something like that) – Adult Deaf Welfare Society 4 big letters on the uniform where shows Dummy Hoy in uniform as well.
    Your respond is appreciated.
    Dmyhoy

  10. October 15, 2007 at 11:04 am

    Dmyhoy,

    Well, since you want my newspaper clip so what’s your purpose? I did not intend to give it away as it is my personal thing.

    -Jimactor

  11. October 20, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Fookembug, I mean no disrepect, I only would want a laser copy at 600 dpi. You will always keep the orginal copies of the newspaper.

  12. December 13, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Hello folks! Wow! It is amazing to see another famous person related to Dummy Hoy….I just checked into the books and found that Conway French #1979 enrolled KSD Sept 16, 1914. He is from Union County. I can check into our files where we have records of students and staff. Also one of our museum committee members are reading books to find historical facts. So if we find something about him and a picture of him I will let you know. The picture you had scanned is very diffucult to see it clear and not able to read the lines…could you try to get this picture newspaper clipping into a professional picture made type or check the archives at the newspaper where it was printed and ask for the neg to print a nice picture of it. We can add this picture to our KSD Jacobs Hall Museum in the Sports Room as we are renovating the building with whatever funds we can get. It is a long process to do this.
    Keep in touch!

  13. December 13, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I am curious if you have a better picture of your Uncle Conway that we can check in our pictures section as I saw a recent picture of a baseball team in 1900’s. Perhaps we can identify him in that team picture if you can send us a portrait of your Uncle Conway. It is great to see that he somehow played with Dummy Hoy or whatever this started. I will ditch into the history books again during the holidays….I will let you know if we find something. Thanks!

  14. Ed
    December 14, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Hi,
    I am intesting about your uncle, Dummy Hoy so wow!!!.
    I like asking you to call our vp about this.

    http://www.insightcinema.org/dummyhoy.html

  15. December 15, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    Barbie and Ed,

    please send me email privately about it through fookembug@yahoo.com. Subject will be ‘Conway French’ and it will get my attention immediately. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.