Home > Vlog > Phone rings make Deaf family angry

Phone rings make Deaf family angry

September 18, 2007

Click to view

By Jimactor

Note: Keep in your mind, this incident happened about 20 years ago. No relay service, video phone or ID caller.

Transcript:

Hello, I have another story to share with you. That incident, one Saturday night, before dinner time, you know a long time ago we had a big machine TTY which called MONSTER with coupler. The coupler means the phone on the TTY. Anyway, I happen to gather with my family and see the phone ringing with light flasher. We look at each other and wonder who calls here. I come to TTY and answer it. Nobody answers, I see the red light on the TTY machine like beep, beep. It means hearing person speaks. The hearing person is idiot so I hang up. About three minutes later, the phone rings again. The red light on TTY still BEEP BEEP again. The hearing person still speaks again. But three minutes later, the phone rings again. My second son, Fookem, he comes and says, ‘I will scream on the phone’. He picks up the phone and SCREAM then hang up. All of my family laugh at him. He is funny. Farout. Three minutes later, the phone rings again so Fookem says, ‘I have an idea and I run upstairs and bring the gun’. You know a long time ago, the gun has red caps with blank bullet which is for kids to play. Anyway, he put it in his gun and start to bang bang bang bang bang on the phone. I feel that people on the phone hear so loud. WHOA WHOA, we laugh. He hangs up. He says he is filled up with these stupid hearing people. I say yes, right. Three minutes later, the phone rings again so my wife put the phone on the TTY and type. The red light beep beep so she decides to pick up the phone and speak. She explains to them that we are deaf family and can’t hear you what you say. But she will get her neighbor to answer the phone to see what you have to say. HOLD. All of us are in hurry and run to our neighbor. We say to our neighbor, we are sorry to bother you but people bother us and try to call us. Don’t you mind to answer the phone? And why did they try to call and bother us? The woman says, sure, and walk with us. She listens to the phone and speak, yes, right. It is Lomanto. She says yes, oh I see and tell us that your christmas picture is ready to be picked up. We look at each other with disbelief looks. We say at each other, who will go to the store? We look at each other again and don’t want to be embarass when confront them. You know the hearing people will think that the deaf person is idiot. But end up, I go to the store. The people look down at me and wonder. Nice picture and thanks, I say. I pick it up and zoom.

Categories: Vlog
  1. Lisa Marie
    September 18, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    * laughing*

    My youngest son was answering the phone….He was two years old and I thought he was just playing with the phone. I was cleaning in the kitchen…Later, my mom stopped by my house and told me that she tried to call us, but my two-year-old son was talking with her and then hang up on her few times.

    *oops*

    You are not alone. My other son did fart on the phone and thought it was a business selling over the phone. It was actually his sister’s friend.

  2. So FUNNY!
    September 18, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    I SCREAMED at the phone when I picked up assuming it was a telemarket. Police came. They thought I was screaming for help. I explained to Police. They laughed and left.

  3. Deaf Pixie
    September 18, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    One bad time when my older daughter sick and the man called us from insurance agent. Lilly told him I dont feel well . Please use relay service. They won’t stopped to call without relay service.
    the man keep nagged us for all night.

    Next day I called insurance agent about it. and they apologized. the man from other state. I have no way to know what was going on. Frustrated! Very frustrated. No fun of him at all.

    Deaf Pixie

  4. dimsumla
    September 20, 2007 at 1:23 am

    I really loved ur story! *laughin laughin laughin*

  5. Anonymous
    September 20, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Really funny

  6. seekgeo
    September 21, 2007 at 9:53 am

    LMAO!!! That was hilarious..

    Oh no.. at first I was thinking.. damn telemarketing.. I can’t stand them!!!

    Oh no.. poor people at the store, I was shocked they even still keep trying to call even after all these what happened! Didn’t they know you all are deaf to begin with?

    But it’s still sooo funny story!! Thank you for sharing this with us..

    I gotta say this one more time.. LMAO!!!!! He he.

    -SG

  7. mishkazena
    September 21, 2007 at 10:41 am

    LOL!

    Did you ever go back to that store again? 😉

  8. Rosa Lee
    September 21, 2007 at 10:53 am

    I absolutely love those kind of stories. They are precious! Thanks for sharing it with us. *chuckling along with others*

    -Rosa Lee

  9. Lisa C.
    September 21, 2007 at 11:07 am

    LMBO! Very funny.

  10. Levi
    September 21, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    very funny, brave jim is the victim and had to get the picture. Wonder if the picture still there?

  11. Misha
    September 21, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    OMG!
    That’s too funny!

    I still remember that monster and clunky TDD! It was hard to type while it kept rocking back and forth. It was so annoying!
    Everytime I fill the emergency cards for my kids’ schools for years, I usually fill in the relay number along our home number. Did/they bother to use the relay? Noooooooo, they called us first before they ended up calling my mom or mom in law. That was so annoying. I kept telling them over and over.
    Last year, my youngest son (he was freshman last year in his HS) bought home an emergency card. Again? Yes, again. I filled them out with the relay service. They called us WITHOUT relay. That was sooo annoying.
    This year, I’m going to put in two relay services in the capital letters to emphasis that they have to call the relay first.

    Misha 🙂

  12. ALAN JEFFERS
    September 21, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    LOL LOL THAT STORE TRY CALL TO YOU VERY FUNNY BUT I USED BE ANGRY ON PHONE MYSELF CUZ WHEN I USE TDD ON SAID HELLO HELLO HELLO NO ANSWER AND AND I GET NEXT DOOR MY FREIND SAID SURE AND CAME AND TELL ME IT IS SALEMAN TRY CALL TO YOU AND WANT TO KNOW IF YOU INTRESTING BUY I SAID WHAT FOR MAKE CALL AND IT SHOULD MYSELF GO STORE SO FAR AGAIN I ASK EXUSE ME AGAIN PAIN IN ASS PHONE AGAIN I TRY FIND WHO IS THAT AND SAID SALEMAN AGAIN I SAID ALWAYS MAKE CALL AND I SAID AAAHHHH NOW I WILL KNOW SO I THINK AND THINK WHY NOT GET ANSWER MACHINE LIKE HEARING PERSON ASK MY DAD CAN I BORROW YOUR VOICE FOR ANSWER MACHINE AND SO FAR NO BOTHER ME NO MORE DUE I HAVE CALLER ID CHECK WHO IS THAT THAT DEAF PERSON TRY CALL ME I NOTICE NAME ON IT PEACE YOU KNOW MY DAD SPEAK SAID ANSWERMACHINE ” THIS IS MR JEFFERS AND WE ARE DEAF PARENT AND WE ARE NOT HOME PLEASE LEAVE YOUR NAME OR CALL RELAY TDD NUMBER IS 800 LATER ON I NOTICE NEVER CALL BACK SEEM SCARE OF DEAF PEOPLE ??? OR DONT KNOW HOW HAHA BUT PRESENT IT IS LOTS BETTER FREEDOM SORENSON OR SNAPVRS ANYTIMES FOR INTERPETER MAKE CALL OR DOCTOR MAKE CALL ME WHEW

  13. Experiences with hearing callers
    September 21, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I have several experiences with persistent hearing callers. One was a very determined (or should I say stubborn?) telemarketer. The first week I got a call which turned out to be a hearing person so I used my voice and told him I am deaf and please call me via relay service 711. The person did not get it. He did again the next day so I hung up on him. The third evening, I hit the key 10 times to make him think it is a machine. No luck. I gave up and let him call.

    As always, it was 6 rings, not less or more… I shrugged… Guess what? The telemarketer was at it for almost five months. It was always during the week (Monday to Friday and between 7 and 9 pm.) I could not call back because the caller id showed no number. Soooo I simply ignored the call visualizing the frustration on the telemarketer’s face, lololol. Peace 🙂

  14. Mike Jones
    September 21, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    I never have problem with since my wife is hearing.. LOL.. Other than that its very funny!

  15. September 21, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    This story actually caught me by surprise and it was funny. Poor you have to face them.

  16. September 21, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    I would fake an accent and speak in gibberish. They will hang up right away.

  17. September 21, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    That was funny! Deaf members of my family have tried all sorts of tricks to stop telemarketers’ persistent calls…leaving the phone off the hook, blowing a whistle into the phone, tapping it on the desktop, breathing heavily into the phone, you can imagine the craziness that gets into people annoyed by stupid hearing people. Thank goodness for the federal Do Not Call Registry, those calls stopped. Their website is https://www.donotcall.gov
    , just go there and register your phone numbers (cell and pager numbers too) and it’s good for five years.

  18. Jac
    September 21, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Funny, oh yes, I remembered that old times. It was a pain in a butt! Today it is GREAT technology! LOL.. Thanks for bringing this old memories up!

  19. Diane
    September 21, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Same here when I live alone. I just picked up hello and tell don’t call here again or swearing etc … No calls ever since due to the Do not call Registry. I heard it will be expired in 08.

  20. JungleForest
    September 21, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    *laughing* reading those stories *laughing*

    I love those hilarious stories like that. At that time, my children were small until they were about pre-teens, not anymore now. When a salesperson (and telemarketing, of course) call my number, tell one of my children about silly selling stuff, and one of my children keep telling them that “My mom is deaf and cannot talk to you on the phone. Need to talk with her through TTY.” The salesperson was too stubborn, instint (spelling?) have me to talk to them. I told, “No, that’s not necessary. Please hang up and ignore the salesperson.” Guess what? There went again! They have NO clue that I’m deaf! 🙂 There’s many list go on from different callers like that.

    Good memories story!

  21. T...
    September 21, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    (laugh) I did share this story to my mom at lunchtime today and she laughed! Ha. Thank you for sharing this store.

    Dianrez, thank you for information about http://www.donotcall.gov. Afew years ago, I did sign that but I moved to new place one year ago and I got about ten to twenty calls a week! Telemarketing??? What a nut! I better check this website soon!

  22. kira
    September 22, 2007 at 5:13 am

    oh my gosh, u made me cry lmao!

  23. September 22, 2007 at 8:58 am

    I totally forget about it til Jimactor (my dad) brought up. In the past, I was angry but today I laugh.

    Thanks for the memories. 😉

    -Fookem

  24. September 22, 2007 at 11:12 am

    mishkazena, no I did not go back to the store as it was out of business.

    -Jimactor

  25. mike
    September 22, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Whew. A good story to share!!! Thanks!!!

  26. Lisa C.
    September 22, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Dianrex,
    Thank you for the website of “Do not call” and I had registered it last night. I had heard it years ago and didn’t know how to do that.

  27. September 22, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Oh my gosp..Just happen not expect…Make your family feel embrassement on phone…U went to pick up of pic.Make u feel nervous think of hearing look at u..Why little boy yelled on phone and fake gun..Oh poor..Just happen..Now much better ready has teach can touch it
    Yes make me hard laugh..Enjoy watch for your sharing

  28. September 23, 2007 at 7:07 am

    These great stories remind us that we have to keep defending relay and make it work for all the new digital technologies. Come visit the Coalition of Organizations for Accessible Technology to see what we are doing to pass a new law updating relay, captioning, etc.: http://www.coataccess.org

  29. JANICE TUCHMAN
    September 26, 2007 at 9:46 am

    REALLY VERY FUNNY. IT WAS ALMOST LIKE THAT HAPPENED TO ME BUT IT WAS A CALL FROMTHE HOSP TO CONFIRM ME WITH THE DATE AND TIME. I WAS REALLY EMBARRASED. I BENTED MY HEAD DOWN WHEN I WAS ADMITTED.

  30. nobody
    September 28, 2007 at 12:03 am

    OMG good thing they did not call 911 that they thought you were shooting at each other. It would be hilarious if the cop stops by and finds out that your little boy plays with a toy gun.

  31. Christina
    October 16, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Hey. Its so funny thats great story to share with us.

  32. May 12, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done an impressive
    job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.