Home > Opinion > Top 10 why blogger is better than vlogger

Top 10 why blogger is better than vlogger

August 18, 2007

10- no blur text
9- forward the story to others
8- type any kind of computer anywhere like library
7- print the story if you like
6- no sign language correction
5- read it through pager (sk, blackberry, etc)
4- no video plug in required
3- translate easy, video can’t
2- write and put it in draft
1 – everyone reads

Categories: Opinion
  1. August 18, 2007 at 6:59 am

    10>Less Personal – you can’t see who is talking
    9>Less Expressive – you can’t see the expressions as they talk
    8>Less Authentic – you can’t be sure of the intent/feel
    7>Less Authorative – you can’t see who is writing
    6>Less Exclusive – vlogging keeps out hearing people like me…

    OK, I am done. I like watching vlogs, but I have to determine the content from the comments, because I am virtually illiterate in ASL.

    There is a place for all.

  2. Grassroot
    August 18, 2007 at 9:11 am

    reason-10-blog-not-better-than-blog

    10-big-word-me-not-understand
    9-friend-not-understand-what-for-forward
    8-hands-hurt-me-think-cts
    7-print-still-hard-read-better-record-on-dvd
    6-people-cross-my-english
    5-still-hard-understand-big-word-on-small-screen

    more-back-soon

  3. Edward Nugent
    August 18, 2007 at 11:24 am

    1>blog less views

    2>vlog more views

  4. ASL sucks
    August 18, 2007 at 11:51 am

    ASL sucks!

  5. MM
    August 18, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Vblogs are the main POINT of a deaf community site I would have thought, being as deaf sign, the problem is that even the best signers are reluctant to go on a screen and be seen by millions, we aren’t all potential film stars sadly ! It raises some point about what really is effective communication in medias for the deaf, and like captioning/subtitling, sign seems to come off second best as a preferred option…

  6. August 18, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Now 10 Top Reasons why Vlogging is better?? no make it 20… my challenge to you.

  7. cali
    August 18, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Handwaves!!! Yes, yes! I think vlogs are a great tool for us. But I don’t watch them for 2 reasons. I do most of my blog reading on my pager and I can’t watch vlogs. And when I’m on a computer, most vlogs are blurry or they bore me. I can’t skim them or anything.
    BLOGS RULE!!!

  8. Barb DiGi
    August 18, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    If at all possible, just do both. I try my best to make my b/vlog accessible for everyone but it is not that hard although it takes more time. I tend to do a vlog and provide a written blog at the same time so why not call it a BILOG ? No need to have blog vs. vlog then!

    But again it is a matter of choices that they decide how to convey their messages as I enjoy some blogs and vlogs especially that are clear with good quality or well organized. Do pray tell why the number of vlog hits are higher than blog posts ? What’s more deafread is considered a cyber deaf community so it is appropriate to enjoy the vlogs in ASL.

    There are so many of them produced by hearing people in youtube and none of them are captioned let alone no transcripts. Why are we criticized for just doing ASL only ? Just let them vloggers have the freedom to express in ASL just like those bloggers in English.

    By the way not everyone can read as USA ranks as the 7th or 11th country (not sure about the number but defintely not in top five) that is literate as compared to other countries. Also I’ve seen criticism on grammar errors in some blogs. You can forward the vlog links though. So your all of your top ten list is not necessarily true.

    Yeah I’d love you to do Ella s challenge request and see what is beneficial when vlogging. There are always pros and cons to both sides though.

  9. JFLMad
    August 18, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    nah, don’t need to compare which one is better between blog or vlog.

    What’s wrong with both of them same time? You vlog and blog the story below the vlog! EASY!

    problem solved!!

  10. seekgeo
    August 18, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    I hope you posted this just for laughs.

    -SG

  11. Lisa Marie
    August 18, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    I like both. B/vlog sites aren’t any problem. Blog or Vlog is fine with me..
    But I think if Dino and Bug do vlog on this page, it’d create a whole site hotter!

  12. August 18, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    Whoa! It is just for laughs so take a deep breath, folks. 😉

    SG, should I give you a big gold star sticker and put it on your forehead?

    Elle and Barb, sure, sure, I will take Elle’s challenge. Give me a week to think about it….deal?

    -Fookem

  13. Grassroot
    August 18, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    me-back

    4-eye-stress-read
    3-change-english-to-asl-in-mind-hard-work
    2-write-save-write-save-too-much-work
    1-not-everyone-read-not-me-almost-everyone-watch-vlog-more-than-blog

    🙂

  14. August 18, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    hee Hee! Fookem and I are thinking about vlogging for all of you …oh wait a min….some people are attacking……should we vlog? hmm…..*thinking hard*

    To ASL sucks, sorry about your unhappy experience and struggle with ASL.

  15. Lisa Marie
    August 19, 2007 at 12:36 am

    Hurry Up! I don’t want to wait! =D

  16. August 19, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Lisa -Hurry for what? Sound like you’re experiencing the tunnel and bright light. *turn the light off* Here you fall and stay.

  17. August 19, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Hey Barb Digi – Your idea sounds like a Deaf Bilingual suggestion!

  18. August 20, 2007 at 8:52 am

    I second that, Barb Digi. “BILOG” benefits the search engine functions across the Internet network.

  19. Lisa Marie
    August 22, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Bug,

    Did I attack you?

  1. August 18, 2007 at 6:00 pm
Comments are closed.