Home > Announcement, Videos > Storm Hits My Hometown

Storm Hits My Hometown

August 3, 2007

Written by Bug

Yesterday I was sitting by the window of restaurant while eating my dinner in my hometown at Fort Collins, Colorado. The storm arrived and it started to rain so hard. There was a handful of lightning strikes for about two hours but none of those strikes resulted in fires. I was using  IP relay my sidekick to communicate with my mother in California. Somehow it was disconnected with shown “x” on my sk. It means no signal. I think the storm cut our communication off for the short time.  

The National Weather Service issued a FLASH FLOOD WARNING and activated the Emergency Alert System for the city of Fort Collins due to heavy rainfall and street flooding across the town. A reverse 911 call was made to alert residents across the city. How nice of them letting the hearing people know but not Deaf people. How did I know about them calling to alert everyone across the city? I was watching the news on TV a few hours later after the storm.  

Anyway, I left the restaurant and the rain was really bad. The rain swept through the Fort Collins area causing street flooding in some areas. I emailed Fookem and told him about this situation. He told me to take some pictures or video. I tried using my sk 3 but no luck because it was dark so I decided to use my digest camera. I emailed my Deaf friend Vanessa to tell her about this horrible weather. She lives in Fort Collins too. She said that she closed her car window. I guess I saved her car. Ha. Also, I sent a text message to my good friend Cindy at Yellowstone, Wyoming about this horrible weather. She is away for a week vacation with her family. After she got my message. She called her son at home and learned that he was dealing with the flood damage in the basement but not much damage. 

While driving through flooded street to get home, the Emergency personnel were blocking off flooded intersections and streets. Some power outages were also reported in southern Fort Collins. Some cars got stuck in the flood. I almost joined them but managed to get out of it. At the intersections people made their way through knee-deep water to cross the street.  Also, I’ve learned that a few roads outside the city were also washed out. 

My other Deaf friends contacted and asked for my assistance to help pulling their car them out of the flooded street. I told them that I was not be able to come because the roads were blocked. I told them to wait until the storm passed and maybe the flood would go down. A few hours later they emailed saying that they are okay and got their car out. No damage. That’s good.  

McDonald’s was closed because of flood. You can view my video, I saw some people trudging through knee-deep water in the parking lot.  

The experience was interesting and I can imagine how difficult for us the Deaf people to go through when there is no communication or warning. 

Meteorologists on TV news says we can expect scattered showers and thunderstorms late Friday and some storms could produce heavy rain. Flash flooding including street flooding could also develop in some areas by late Friday evening. Oh no.   

 At the corner of Prospect and College Ave…GASP, lighting is on my video!

McDonald’s in flood

Out of control creek

City employees try to figure out with flood at College Ave and Prospect 

Categories: Announcement, Videos
  1. Dennis
    August 3, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    OMG! Glad to know that you are ok. Interesting video. Thank you for sharing.

  2. August 3, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    In the Western NY area we have severe weather or health alerts sent by the local news stations. Look on their websites. Sometimes I get three or four pages from them starting WARNING, extreme weather in one day, but many times it is in the next city. Some news websites will also send you school closing information.

  3. August 3, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Scary!

    ~ LaRonda

  4. Lisa C.
    August 3, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Sounds like you were in Texas where we live! We had very severe thunderstorms and flashfloods almost every night during the month of June which was the wettest month but it didn’t break the 1929 record. The lightnings kept me up all night, our cat kep walking around our bedroom that would have caused the baldness on the carpent and our dog slept like a log. We had fwer severe weather during the month of July. We had driven thru the flooded area and once drove thru the slight flashflood. We would not drive thru that if its real big and fast. Last year I went down the street from our home to watch the flashflood which I had never seen before when I lived in Washington state.

  5. Lisa Marie
    August 3, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    Last night, driving back to Greeley from Denver was an awful experience for me!! Starting to rain really hard and there was a lot of lightening every 30 second after Brighton and then continue driving all the way to Greeley! My kids were so scared and so silent. One of the cars was driving wildly and fast, splashing water onto the windshield, blocking my sight. The driver didn’t go straight, just riding plain wobbly…I felt it was so unsafe and had to honk to let the driver that they didn’t show any respect. I passed many sewers in East town , and could smell an awful stench. When we finally got into Greeley, we saw two police cars blocking the sewer on the corner of highway 85 and 37th street. The sewer was overflowing, about 3 feet high!

  6. ccm14er
    August 3, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Very typical weather in Colorado — very unpredictable everyday. I used to it very well which I live here in Colorado. But of course, the Weather Gods would not cooperate with all of us in Front Range. What I see yours, it look so extreme weather event — of course you know, its all spotty in areas that could be so bad or no problem at all. Here in Lakewood, it look not a big deal at all, just some rain — very short storm. Sure hope you could carry through anyway safely.

    Oh yes, we the deaf people have somewhat disadvantage about “reverse 911” call — why not they (any cities) could expand the service to include email (especially to cell phone and pagers) so that way it would be automatically. I dont think it would be too costly … just little bit.

    Before in years back, I used to live in Washington DC area — its so terrible, very unpredictable to what to do on back-up roads to drive if one real street or major road could be blocked out. In DC area, its so hard, because it dont have GRID map system at all — just weaving and curving all over there. Thank God, I like here so much — because of GRID system so we can move around easily etc.

    Good question about “reverse 911” !!! I think Emails will be excellent idea, not just for deaf people, but for everyone, like other foreign and other people overall.

    At least, you dont get completely wet, but if so, what’s big deal !!!

  7. jflmad
    August 3, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Bug,

    noticed that you have a cracked windshield in the first video. Did the lighting hit it while you videotaped? lol

  8. ASL sucks
    August 3, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    If you can speak on the cell phone then there is no problem for you. Too bad you are deaf.

  9. Lisa Marie
    August 3, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    One more thing:
    I watched your video…they are cool to watch! ;)) You are a good driver.

  10. August 4, 2007 at 3:22 am

    Ccm14er, you’re right about unpredictable weather here in Colorado

    Lisa C, ahh…you sent Texas weather to here …thanks a lot!

    Lisa M, good to know that your family and you made it through the storm.

    Jflmad, I bumped AGB’s gravestone.

    ASL Sucks, I am sorry to HEAR that your ASL suck. Keep working on it.

  11. Lisa C.
    August 4, 2007 at 6:37 am

    You are VERY welcome!!

  12. coaks
    August 4, 2007 at 10:47 am

    “Just when I thought you couldn’t get any dumber, you go and do something like this… and totally redeem yourself!” – Dumb and Dumber

    http://www.coaks.wordpress.com

  13. August 4, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Wow…that’s cool video. I live in the neighborhood directly across College Ave from that McDonald’s and didn’t know there was that much water in that parking lot. The gutters on my house were overflowing, though.

    I also saw the intersection at College and Prospect that night and there was at least 6″ of standing water when I went through it early in the night.

    Glad it wasn’t like 1997!

  14. ASLisRisen
    August 4, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Wow! Glad that you are okay! Whew! Thanks so MUCH for showing those video clips! HOpe everything okay with other Deaf people over there!

  15. ASL sucks
    August 4, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    ASL is a sloppy language therefore I do not want to learn it. I speak well than you do. Again, if you can speak and hear on the cell phone and your story will not be published here. What a lame story that you wrote. You should do it better than that. Oh that deaf’s tend, look for pity. Spend your welfare on something else and do not waste a cent on your internet line.

    That’s my Helen Keller coin suggestion.

  16. JustJodi
    August 4, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Eric…
    Glad u did not need a Jonboat to get back home 😀

    JJ

  17. Garfield
    August 4, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    Glad you escaped the storm.

  18. August 5, 2007 at 4:57 am

    ASL suck, try to stay on the topic. you are still welcome. watch your behavior, anything else, mr troublemaker?

  19. Mike
    August 5, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Hey ASL Sucks! Who care? I can speak on the phone too. I can hear well. I learned ASL 3 years ago and love it. You need to be a good role model for AGB and oralists including myself. You are embarrassing us. Stop being an audist asshole!

  20. Bonnie
    August 5, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Whoa.. It’s scary. Glad you are okay. Also, It was great video you show.. Surprised you did good driver while you did video camera on the road.

  21. ASL sucks
    August 5, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Am I being a troublemaker? No, I make my statement here, can’t I?

    Mike- can’t you make up your mind? At first, you said “who care” then you said where is my role model? Your talk sounds like you DO care about it.

  22. August 5, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    ASL S, If you get childish or say something off the topic then you can’t make one.

  23. Kamig
    August 6, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Hehe…ASL Sucks sounds like a teen who is still trying to find himself as a deaf or HOH person. Hopefully he will come around but I don’t see that happening any time soon. So here is my message: “Dude, you are griping about ASL in the wrong forum. Judging from your posts, you know damn well the kind of ruckus you are creating here–so stop acting like dumb-ass by posting off-the-subject statements. Pop some happy pills and go back to working on yourself–you seem to have your work cut out for you in that area.”

  24. deafgun
    August 6, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Wow!! Looks bad this time. Long time Coloradoans knows extreme weather can hit anytime. Just be glad was not like the Thompson Flood of the 1970s. THAT was bad!

    One time my neighborhood had reverse 911 happen, but was not until fireman knocked on our door, we did not know. Someone hit a gas line somewhere near our house. ev1 else (H) had already left the neighborhood. However by time we were getting ready to leave, fireman told us they found the gas leak and shut it off, so we did not have to leave the area.

    Recently saw CERT (Community Emergency Response Training)classes being offered in Denver for Deaf and HOH ppl to learn how to be self rely and help the pro/vol. Emergency Responders. What say we take this course ev1? We need to take care of ourselves, and let the hearing Responders take care of themselves since they have no time to help us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.