Home > Humor, Opinion > Bad news for you…..your baby is deaf!

Bad news for you…..your baby is deaf!

July 27, 2007

 

By Bug

When the doctors find out that baby is deaf. They bring the news to new parents and say ” Bad News! Your baby is deaf. Let’s contact Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AGB)….” Bad news? Their clinical view of Deaf people that always see a medical problem. Most physicians and audiologist may be able to identify deafness, but they know little or nothing about DEAF people.

If you say ” oh that’s a great news. that’s okay….” then they would think there is something wrong with you. Hearing people feel sorry because we the Deaf people do not hear. But they are the ones who are really deaf to our voices, our needs, our language, and our culture.

Imagine this….

Mother calls the baby’s name, jingles the bell, claps her hands. Then she picks up the baby, who immediately perks up, wiggling and cooing.

“My God, She’s deaf. It doesn’t even mention the other possibility, that the baby is deaf. And all I know is that my baby doesn’t hear a thing. I’ve got the worst feeling about this. Maybe it’s because my grandfather was deaf. If that beautiful baby is deaf and it’s my fault, I’ll never forgive myself “the father says.

Is that sad? Helpless father feels guilty. Guilt is an inevitable part of every parent’s reaction to having a Deaf child. “What did I do?” or ” What is wrong with me?” are predominant sentiments voiced by these parents. I think it is important for the hearing parents to ask DEAF community or DEAF professionals for help, options, or advice. We have learned much from the history of Deaf people, but hearing people continue to make oppressive decision and mistakes. Hearing people including AGB feel sorry because Deaf people do not hear. But they are the ones who are really deaf to our voices, our needs, our language, and our culture.

Categories: Humor, Opinion
  1. Lisa Marie
    July 27, 2007 at 8:42 am

    yeah, we need to do something and it’s time for us to change and to be there for hearing parents by providing a program for them. No more “bad” news, we can change something!

  2. Lisa Marie
    July 27, 2007 at 11:35 am

    my 10 year old daughter, Emily said to me that the doctors shouldn’t use the words like “bad news”…just that they could say like , ” we are here to inform you that …..the baby is deaf…” They shouldn’t show any emotional thing, just be normal when they come in to meet the new parents with their newborn deaf baby. My daughter believes that the information is just fine and it’s not bad news at all and also believes that deaf baby is a regular baby… just a difference is that they can’t hear.

    I have seen some vlogs about changning for the future. Yea, and I’m glad that the topic is open in this page, so we need to debate and pour out new ideas and show our supports in this page. We as Americans need to work hard to change, we need strong Deaf leaders to get involved to change. Black people did their job so it’s our job to do to beat AGB for the new coming Deafies in the future. I wish I could go and get involved, but I can’t. I hope the Deaf strong leaders will WIN. Wish them the best luck.

    I still think…if they could produce some dvd of baby signs and songs…for new parents with their newborn deaf baby. They need so much positive and happy ideas about how to communicate with their baby. Talking to their baby in the sign language, laugh, dance, sign in the songs, touch, tickle…etc..They will feel good to be bond with a deaf baby. It’s much a blessing for a deaf baby to experience with the parents who will be happy to be part of his/her life.

  3. July 27, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    I dream of the day where all nurses or doctors will announce this way to parents with Deaf babies:

    “I have some good news for you. You are the fortunate few selected to experience an additional language and culture and will become better human beings because of your child.”

    Just imagine how fast the parents will get over their confusion and grief and start feeling good and ready to bring forth their child as well as other children into the big world–happy and healthy!

  4. mother goose
    July 27, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    my best friend (she doesn’t have a computer) wanted me to post it here. She said, “why don’t they show on alive on T.V.

  5. Grant
    July 28, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Ella you are on drugs!!! And the imagine this bit is stupid! Hearing don’t feel sorry for deaf people all time most don’t worry at all about deaf issues so get over it!! I don’t know of doctor who say it bad news either, most just tell you what it is. This whole thing is made up

  6. Tonia
    July 28, 2007 at 10:22 am

    This is a reply to Grant….. Are you deaf yourself??? Probably not tho bec I have a deaf daughter and I am deaf myself and i have came across people who dont know that i am deaf bec i have alot of residual hearing and a good speech language skills and english skills as well. i would be chatting with someone who is hearing and along the converstation they would say oh i am so sorry that you have a daugther that is deaf adn i told them well i am proud bec i am deaf my self adn they say oh man you really talk good or have reall good english skills i thought you were hearing and if it is in person i would show them that i wear hearing aid they tehy would be flabbergasted after the fact. So again i say you are sooo wrong and soo misinformed.
    Tonia

  7. Tonia
    July 28, 2007 at 10:27 am

    i ment alot of residal hearing with my hearing aids.

  8. Whopper
    July 28, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Grant doesn’t have experience with deaf struggles. he doesnt know anything because he is stupid.

  9. July 28, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Emily, you are very smart than the doctors. I will vote you for U.S. President when you grow up. – Bug

  10. Lisa Marie
    July 28, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Emily: ***giggggggggggleeee*** Thank you. (Red face)

  11. Tracy
    July 30, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    I remember years ago someone ask me how do you drive with the fact that I am deaf..the thing was I was young at the time felt insulted by it. So I pretty much told off this person heheh sorry to say i felt bad when i looked back i could have handled it differently…I drive just like any of us can…so that person would ask again. How would you know if the tire gets flat or something wrong with the car. This may sound strange to you. I actually ask this person this…. how do you go to the concert? stand next to the big fat stero thingy? That person then realize…Its all about feeling thats it! so i added along the respond to that statment..just becuase I am deaf does not mean i have to hear like you do! i can feel like any of us so i would know if something is wrong with my car! lol Guess that person was flabbergasted!
    I also had several family members years ago mentioning this as well as some of the friends family does this pretty often…every child who is deaf and grown up too should be on colhear implant if i spelled this wrong dont wring my neck! I go like why do we need to be hearing like the rest of you when we are actually deaf and dealt with it? Some thinks its easier for hearings to be able to communicate to us wihtout having to deal with signing to us when we go out there everyday being frustrated trying to be heard or understand our needs so forth.
    Lastly,
    there was alot of this communication going around a couple years back recently about this insurance guy I could not remember where i had this converstation. Anyhow, this guy was telling me that there was high percent of deafs accedients so on as he pointed out by someone else higher up teling him. Beleieve me i blew up! I told this man….how many population in this city entirely? so he goes telling me about 65,000. Okay i told him how many deafs population out of the entire 65,000? he went stump. of course i go explaining…if you say 65,000 in entire population of this city. Let’s say 10,000 deafs while 50,000 and 5000 blind among other disablity? who knows about the extact amount now ya telling me deafs have the higher percent of causing problems on the road? with that fact alone he knew i was right.
    forgive my grammer just too tired to correct them.

  12. Tracy
    August 1, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Seem i wrote my comments in the wrong place!?!

  13. no name pls
    May 1, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    When the hearing parents find out that their baby is deaf, they have options (C.I or hearing aid). They won’t accept or face the truth that their baby is deaf.

    When the deaf parents find out that their baby is hearing. They did not care anything but love/accept who the baby is.

    Different attitude.

  14. valerie
    July 21, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    back when my daughter was born in 1990 they did not have the test they have now. At almost a year of age i noticed big time something wasn’t right. When her pediatrician sent me to an audiology clinic i was treated like a mother who didn’t know what she was talking about. They had me in tears. she had 2 brothers and a sister older and hearing and i was made to feel like nothing. when the tests came back the walked in with a social worker to announce my daughters profound deafness. Never a sorry nothing just passed it off.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.