Home > Dear Fookem/Bug > Deaf Softball Team Sick In The Airplane

Deaf Softball Team Sick In The Airplane

July 24, 2007

Interesting story…..yesterday I flew to Denver to visit a another teacher. On the plane was a Deaf softball team that had played in a tournament in St. Louis. Not long after we took off, one the players started getting sick. Not just airsick…..pulse was very fast, breathing was difficult. A flight attendant was trying to help her, but was having problems communicating. I offered to interpret….as best I could. Then another team member got sick. The flight attendants asked if there were any medical people on board. There was a doctor and a nurse. Eventually 5 of the softball team members had the same symptoms. I’m no doctor, but one of the team members told me they all ate the same thing last night…..so I think it might be food poisoning. The captain radioed to the Denver airport and had the paramedics meet the plane as soon as we landed. It was quite an experience, and a lot of the team told me they were glad somebody on the plane knew enough ASL to help out. I’m hoping the airlines gives me a free flight…..hahaha.

Abe from St. Louis

UPDATED: 7-25-07 We received an email from our concerned reader asking how they are doing. We were told that the doctor said one of them might be going into liver failure, and the paramedics had an IV in him as soon as they landed. If you happen to know anything, contact us or leave your comment. We hope they get well soon -FB

Categories: Dear Fookem/Bug
  1. SBommer
    July 24, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Oh no! I hope everyone’s okay afterward. I am sure you did do well interpreted in between deaf and hearing passangers/Flight Attendant. Good job.

  2. C
    July 24, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    As luck would have it, there’s an interperter, doctor and nurse on the airplane. How fortunate.

  3. Root Beer
    July 24, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    very interesting story.

  4. Lisa Marie
    July 24, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    Glad you shared the story in this site! ;))))

  5. July 24, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    I am sorry to know that the group got sick. I wonder what restaurant did they go to? We had good time all weekend.

  6. Anne Maldonado
    July 26, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Same here..was in Denver years ago, got in plane for New York and felt so sick and can not take food and drink. It must be the air in the plane.When arrived in New York and got off the plane, I felt better.Strange wssnt it??

  7. July 27, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    I am with both men and women softball team on the airplane. It is not from the resturant where we ate. Three are fine expect our women softball’s coach has been staying at the hospital since rode on the ambluance from DIA. I visited him last Wednesday. Hope he is getting a new liver real soon! Let’s prayer for him…

  8. July 27, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Janice, thank you very much for letting us know. Glad to know that three people except the softball coach got well. How did it affect his health? Why did four people get sick on the same plane? We are very sorry about this situation and wish him to get well very soon. -Bug

  9. Abe
    July 28, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Janice, thank you for letting us know. I was the guy on the plane that tried my best to interpret. Please let me know how the coach is doing. When you visit him again, tell him I said “hi” and am keeping him in my prayers.

    Abe

  10. ASLisRisen
    August 4, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Hey, how’s the softball team health ?? I was so worried about them.. Hope they will feel ok!!!

    Shawn

  1. August 12, 2007 at 5:24 am
Comments are closed.