Home > Opinion > Children are welcome.

Children are welcome.

July 18, 2007

Dear Reader:

There are some children around the world who do not have the basic necessities and experiences of life are both serious and challenging. We welcome them to be on our page so they can use as a discussion starter at school or home. Every child is curious about the world. We feel this website open for anyone to visit, read, learn, express, discuss, etc, no matter how old they are. However, Internet control access is a parent responsibility. We encourage the parents to check each page on Fookem and Bug website because some pages are not happy to read. It is a challenging and provocative blog/vlog. It is also a hopeful one allowing parents to show their children how some people are facing, struggling and working to make this a better world for all of us. Children who begin to think about others with understanding and compassion grow up to be understanding and compassionate adult. We believe this website can help children become the kind of adults who will make the world is better place. We need to remember that we build the future for them because they are our future.

Sincerely,

Fookem and Bug

Categories: Opinion
  1. Dennis
    July 18, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    COOL. I let my kids read FB (I read your website first before I let them). Thank you for your hard work. You guyz are really cool.

  2. mother goose
    July 18, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    I do the same here. I check before my children read.
    Thank you, fookem and bug! **winks**

  3. JD
    July 19, 2007 at 7:12 am

    “Internet control access is a parent responsibility.” Bingo! It does not make sense to ban children from internet or Deafread. We can learn a lot from them and they can learn a lot from us. I am happy you welcome children. How do you want children to use your page?

  4. July 19, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    This is a good idea to do. I may make a post welcoming children to my blog as well. Nothing tasteless in my posts or comments. Good thinking.

    I do, however, understand the issue about children and DeafRead. Some of the comments or posts can be downright crude!!! Parental supervision is a necessity either way.

    ~ LaRonda

  5. July 20, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Dennis and Mother Goose, thank you.

    JD, we are thinking about making a new youth page like The Mini Page and put it in the categories. The final decision is not made yet. Any suggestion, idea, or question, drop an email to us or leave a comment.

    LaRonda, thanks for your support. We are aware of that. Unfortunately there are plenty of awful things out there in the innocence of children’s eyes. Maybe broken toy is a sign of broken hearts or other technigue teaches everyone’s unconscious to creat new neural pathways corresponding to a new resonse to the crude comments at the different places not just FB website. It directs the woundup feelings to move straight to an experience of calm and feeling good about herself/himself.

    Bug

  6. Lisa Marie
    July 25, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    I wanted to add the comment here since I still welcome my kids read your site.

    My kids enjoy reading your FB site. I read and when I think the topics are interesting for my kids to explore. I asked them to come read some articles and vlogs. It’s a good experience for them to know more about the deaf culture and deaf news. When they saw me watching some vlog, they come watch with me. I helped them to understand more about their sign language and gestures in the vlog. They are getting better at reading other people’s ASL. I want them to be part of the deaf world! I can’t image if I leave them during I check FB pages, I welcome them to this site. I am so grateful for FB to put so many cool articles and I encourage that you all the parents can share the news with your children. Once you share the topics with your kids, they will call you to come read their sites and discuss with you. My kids did call me come and sit with them. We did share and discuss..impress our feelings and thoughts. You did a great job, FB and it’s a wonderful site for every Deafie/deafie but also for the CODA kids/deaf kids as well!

  7. My
    July 25, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Vlog, vlog, vlog, please so the children will enjoy to watch. šŸ˜‰

  8. Lisa Marie
    July 25, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Yeah,
    Why not? Can you, Fookem and Bug “sign & gesture” in your vlog on this site?
    I think it’s going to be cool! I’d announce my kids to you both on this site!

  9. April 28, 2009 at 6:39 am

    What a neat site! I plan on sharing this with my children. Thank you for your work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.