Home > Not Deaf-Related Issues > July is National Ice Cream Month

July is National Ice Cream Month

July 15, 2007

In 1984, President Ronald Reagan designated July as National Ice Cream Month and the third Sunday of the month as National Ice Cream Day. He recognized ice cream as a fun and nutritious food that is enjoyed by a full 90% of the nation’s population. In the proclamation, President Reagan called for all people of the United States to observe these events with “appropriate ceremonies and activities.”

The International Ice Cream Association (IICA) encourages retailers and consumers to celebrate July as National Ice Cream Month. In 2007, National Ice Cream Day will be Sunday, July 15.

The U.S. ice cream industry generates more than $21 billion in annual sales and provides jobs for thousands of citizens. About 9% of all the milk produced by U.S. dairy farmers is used to produce ice cream, contributing significantly to the economic well-being of the nation’s dairy industry.

Craving more? Satiate yourself with the 25 most-searched flavors this summer.

  1. Vanilla
  2. Chocolate
  3. Strawberry
  4. Peach
  5. Banana
  6. Coffee
  7. Green Tea
  8. Coconut
  9. Butter Pecan
  10. Peanut Butter
  11. Lemon
  12. Pineapple
  13. Apple
  14. Ginger
  15. Mango
  16. Mint
  17. Cinnamon
  18. Spumoni
  19. Oreo
  20. Blueberry
  21. Pistachio
  22. Apricot
  23. Custard
  24. Cherry
  25. Cheesecake
  1. July 15, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    My favorite ice cream is mint chocolate chip ice cream. YUMMMY!!!!!

    Fookem

  2. wink-wink-wink
    July 15, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    My dear Bug, I want to lick you. Can I?

  3. JFLMad
    July 15, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    he might taste like some kind of shit flavor hehe.

  4. July 15, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Wink, No because I am too spicy.

    JFLMad, bee nice or you’ll get a pie in your face.

    My favorite….Oreo and Banana

    Bug

  5. mother goose
    July 15, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    Wink-wink-wink,

    No, you cannot have Bug, he’s mine! No matter if it’s too spicy. I’m a mother goose. ;)))

    My favorite ones are coffeeeee and peanut butter!

  6. Anonymous
    July 16, 2007 at 12:10 am

    What kind of brand do you eat ice cream?

    Baskin-Robbins
    Ben and Jerry’s
    Carvel
    Dairy Queen
    Edy’s
    Häagen-Dazs
    Oberweis Dairy
    TCBY

  7. I_C_Voices
    July 16, 2007 at 8:49 am

    My favorite ice cream story happened in 1982 when I first moved to Louisiana. I went to an ice cream store and ordered a cone (Baskin-Robbins, I think). I sat down to enjoy my delicious pleasure, and noticed a guy standing in line, waiting to order his ice cream. He had a “holster” attached to his belt.

    When they have him his dish of ice cream, he opened his holster, and pulled out a bottle of Tobasco Sauce! He then poured Tobasco all over his bowl of ice cream, and sat down to eat it!! He had a huge smile on his face…

    Some people like their food spicey, yes, but ICE CREAM????

    Welcome to Louisiana!! Culture Shock…

  8. July 16, 2007 at 10:02 am

    I am a big fan of CHUNKY MONKEY ( Ben and Jerrys )
    At Baskin and Robbins.. pistacho almond
    If in a fine Italian restraunt SPUMONI ( no question )
    any other time it will be BUTTER PECAN with big chunks of pecans,,,,,,,
    Yummmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  9. July 18, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Moose Tracks!!!
    Vanilla ice cream with fudge and peanut butter cups!!

    My next favorite is Pistachio gelato. Yummy.

  10. July 20, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    That pic of bubble gum looks good….Here is a poll: What is your favorite Baskin Robins Ice Cream? Peanut Butter and Chocolate for me. After working there when I was a kid I soon realized that they clearly make the best ice cream there is. For those of you that disagree you must remember quality of the product ends when it is in your hands. If you bought it in a grocery store it’s automatically crap even if it says Baskin Robins on it. Here is the link to the poll I mentioned: http://www.apopularitycontest.com/display_poll.php?ID=14

  11. December 23, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    Well said. I would be happy to read anything else you might contribute on this subject.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.