Home > Opinion > Are Deaf basketball players being passive?

Are Deaf basketball players being passive?

June 12, 2007

 

Written by Fookem

I often play basketball with my deaf brothers at the park, in the gym, league, scrimmage, 3 on 3 hoops or some else place that has a hoop. We can’t live without basketball. That’s for sure. We used to play together everyday. The gym (Camelot Park) that we played have a rich history. Lot of hearing players hate us if we play together as team, we always win the game. The record for us as team would say over 500 wins and less than 20 loses. You must remember that we were younger and they were experience and more physical than us. Anyway, get back to point where it bothers me the most….every games we played, always see lot of trash talk such as using cuss, brag, insult, disrespectful to others, etc. We get used to it.

Now, about deaf basketball players, I go to deaf basketball tournament and deaf basketball invitation, I rarely see them talking trash. Yes, they talk trash before or after the game but not during the game. I wonder why. For example, let me mention some deaf basketball veterans, David Hamilton, Jimmy Newsome, Kevin Smith, Brian Bippus and Shawn Stringfellow. (For people that I did not name, sorry about it but these people have been around that long.) Have you seen them talking trash to the opposite team? No, except Ron Matteson, formely played for Chicago Club for the Deaf (CCD). I remembered him when I was a senior high school student. I watched my brother who was on CCD team. I loved Ron…you know why? He does not talk trash but he had a plenty sense of humor. His favorite words were ‘Situation happened’. When he came to the free throw, he loved to tell the opposite players, want bet $1.00 that ‘I will make the free throw’. He made it maybe 99 percent of the time. 😀 He talked too much and knew how to make other players talking back to him, not only players on the court but benchers, fans, coaches, even referees, too.

Hmmm….are Deaf basketball players being passive? Don’t know how to trash talk? I am curious. What do you think? Let’s discuss.

Categories: Opinion
  1. JFLMad
    June 12, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    right on Fookem!

    the reason why we won many games as a teammates is that we know how to play, play smart, have the patience if we were down, etc.

    not many players are capable of doing that nowadays that really disappoint me. most of them play the individual game and think fo themselves, not the teammates.

  2. June 12, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Wow,, interesting you observed that. Seem true to me. My times I had not seen any trash talk.

  3. Annoymous
    June 12, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Maybe you played with church players! Maybe they noticed how you play like a girl, they don’t want to sign trash in front of you. I can beat you in those games this summer and watch for my trash talk. LOL

  4. dimsum
    June 12, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Fookem… ur observation into the games was very interesting. I think I can make a good point in your discussion. I think most deaf ball players prefer to stay focused or pay attention whether ball is. As I can remmy, my HS coach once bawled at me out for not paying attention to the opposite ball. So u would not wanna let a player pass by u if you do trash talk …or your coach would tell u “stop talking too much” and “paying attention to the ball” Does it make sense? huh ha… wait and see what others have to say..

  5. Flakyboy
    June 12, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    For anyone who talk trash, is considered as uneducated because they don’t know what else to say! That’s the way I always taught my players when I was a coach. Smile.

  6. Billythegoat
    June 12, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Flakyboy, what about NBA players, some got degrees and are you trying to tell us that they are uneducated people?

    I think Deaf people did not know how to talk trash.

  7. June 13, 2007 at 9:22 am

    JFLMad: true

    Annoymous: We played with church players? Oh please, in your dream. Talk is cheap, action is loud so bring your 2 guys and play against us.

    Dimsum: Stay focus or pay attention to the ball? What about player that calls timeout or when the ball is dead, they talk to their teammates and coach, not others. Right? There is a chance for them to talk trash to others but it never happens.

    Flakyboy: we talk trash to others sometimes. It does not mean we are uneducated people as we are not perfect human beings.

    Billythegoat: I agreed with you.

  8. Flakyboy
    June 13, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Forget NBA players. They are the worst role models for our children. NBA players do not CARE about us… They just worried about their salary… It is not necessary to talk trash… What benefits would be from talking trash all the time except for making them more idiotic! Smile.

  9. James
    June 13, 2007 at 10:39 am

    I do trash talk but mostly to referee. It is kind of fun when I do trash talk. You should try and it is more of getting new friend.

  10. Shawn R
    June 13, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Maybe talking trash in ASL is too visible, and players on a court might not want fans to clearly see their conversation…Nah I don’t think that is a good reason. I dunno.

    Shawn R.

  11. Billythegoat
    June 13, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Flakyboy, come on, let’s face the reality. Look at the statistic. Talk about USAD ( http://www.usadb.us/) 32 different teams (Men), more than 320 players. Again, they don’t know how to talk trash. Ok ok ok forget about trash talk, what about normal conversation? And they did not even bother to talk to others, either. Smile.

  12. Nikeboy
    June 13, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    interesting

  13. Sharon Williams
    April 10, 2008 at 10:15 am

    You observed very well. 😉

  14. April 14, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    I don’t want to talk about being passive, I would like to talk about he old AAAD, and If you know what I am talking about, you will have a smile on your face just as I am typing this. My name is Dennis Fine, son of the great HALL OF FAMER DANNY FINE I am so proud and honored to be his son. I am now 32 years old, married with two beautiful children. I can remember traveling all over the US with my Mom and Dad for every AAAD tournment. It did not matter if it was Basketball, Softball, Bowling, or a convention. (We were there) I have so many wonderful memories traveling with my parents. Then not to meniton that my DAD is in the HALL OF FAME makes it so great.
    My Dad, Danny Fine has GOLD MEDAL in Basketball. From the (1969 OLYMPICS in YOUGASLOVIA) That is unbelieveable. Thousands and Thousands of deaf people play sports all there life, but few have accomplish what my DAD has done. I can remember being the batboy for the Miami team in the early 1980’s and batboy for the Carolina team in the late 1980’s. Also beig the ballboy for the Chicago Basketbll team in the late 1980’s to early 1990′. It was great to see the some of the best players ever to walk on the basketball court. (Newsome, Torres, Ashford, Morison, Brown, Stringfellow, Wetzel, Bingham, Holliday). and the list goes on and on. I am just so proud to have my father bring me up in the old AAAD…

    Dennis Fine

  15. The Coach
    May 1, 2008 at 10:00 am

    A real player doesn’t have to trash talk he does all his talking with his game.I have coached deaf basketball now for 19 years and my best players didn’t let a loud mouth player keep them from doing what they needed to do. Most of the time the trash talker ends up eating his own words. As players you represent the deaf couminity and is a loud mouth show off the way you want people to look at the deaf if you wnat to impress them beat them fair then shake thier hand and make an impression that will last and do the deaf a great service.My players have never been passive because players are players deaf or hearing either you have it or you don’t. So play hard,play smart but have fun too.

  16. June 4, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    you funny man. lol.. ok, ya… im that mr HOLLIDAy, that played on the team. Ron Mattson…is a true dude, that negotiate and bet monies, over free throws, and do that accuracy thingee, only makes it funn.

    Im the rebounder of that team, only to carry the team alittle further to champs.
    thank you.

    Brenton Holliday

  17. June 12, 2012 at 5:48 am

    My heart to u is given,oh dear do give urs to me,we’ll lock them up together and thorw away the key…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.