Home > Fookem and Bug's Believe it or not! > Law for the Deaf Bikers

Law for the Deaf Bikers

June 7, 2007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Imagine new law requires you to carry a sign saying “DEAF” on your bike so others won’t honk horn. It could happen in the future. Hope not!

  1. M
    June 7, 2007 at 9:15 am

    It is the same idea with blind (snow) skiers wearing “Blind” on their back so that others would be aware of that.

  2. Annoymous
    June 7, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Oh crap! I am leaving for Eyeth.

  3. Billythegoat
    June 7, 2007 at 9:37 am

    It will happen someday, who knows.

    Some Deaf people apply the special license to let the cop know that they are deaf when they are pulled over by a cop.

  4. deafperson
    June 7, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Yeah, not surprisedly. I nearly got knocked down by others because I don’t hear them yelling at me to move aside. I would hate to announce to world that I am deaf, but geez, when people try to move around me, it can be hair raising experience.

  5. June 7, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    It wont happen and I wont approve it.. I am superbiker which means racing motorcycle. Excuse me I had to say superbike because I am on opposite side from Harley Davidison.. ;o)

    It is based on our eyes. Everything is too noise and with a full helmet, hearies wont be able to hear the horn, so what is the point?:o)

    Oh, Maybe Harley bikers maybe will need it. ABC and JAY, what do you think? ;op

  6. June 7, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Opps.. It is about a bicycle… Sorry.. Not about motorcycle.. I learned my lesson to look at picture first and not assume bike means motorcycle..

  7. June 7, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    I don’t like the idea of a label on me. Might as well slap a “ME DEAF” on a t-shirt and wear it 24/7. I think it’s because being deaf is an invisible “handicap.” Not obvious like a white cane or guide dog for blind. I think people are just making a big deal over this. It’s like “OMG this person is DEAF! Must put label on so everyone know to give special treatment.” People just need to be aware and use their brains and realize that maybe this person is deaf. No big deal.

  8. June 7, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Really, it is bad idea because it can lead to their house and find out that parents are deaf, too. They have a good chance to break in or make terrible crime case during evening. Missouri did try to make an automobile license say “deaf” and also put deaf sign at front of their house. Ideas came from the hearing parents of mainstreamed deaf student. We, deaf people of Missouri, sent the letters to the House of Repesentatives to kill that bill. Successful!.

  9. June 7, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    In Japan or China (I forget which) it is illegal for deaf people to even ride bikes. Sigh. I guess because bicycling is the primary mode of transportation among street cars and traffic. Dangerous I imagine, but to make it illegal? Gee…

    ~ LaRonda

  10. CFM III
    June 7, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Dennis Bacon, you are absolutely right! It will invite criminals to “Deaf” house.

  11. June 7, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    well, i know in arizona they have license plates that start with a letter to indicate whatever handicap you have, so that when a cop pulls you over, they know.

  12. June 7, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    soo wait is that mean all hearing poeple put hearing sign on their bike too?? i dont think so! treat us the same.. also dont use your honk just shut up and drive right! by the way i am fedex driver.. do i have to have a deaf under the word fedex?? NOOOOOO!!!!

  13. Enrique a. Ruiz-Williams
    June 14, 2007 at 10:15 am

    How can a deaf HD rider heard the noise? Or even he/she should wear a hearing aid or a cochlear implant could help in the roads…That law is pretty risky to every of us deaf bikers.I am not one of them but knew it is a real tough mandating by law…

  14. cynthia
    November 19, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Why picking on the deaf bikers? Trying to make us look idiots

  15. April 15, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I AM DEAF & MOTORCYCLE RIDER, HEARING PEOPLE DON’T OWN THE ROAD WE ALL PAY TAXES TOO , JUST REMEMBER WHEN DEAF PEOPLE ARE TOOOOOO GOOD WITH EYES THAN EARS , HEARING GET JEALOUS, FIND WAY TO MAKE US FOLLOW THEIR ORDER, WHICH I WON’T BUT OF COURSE FOLLOW THE LAW OF OUR SAFETY : )

  16. Misha
    August 21, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I am deaf motorcyclist. Ok..I have been reading negatives. How can those negative talks help us? I want to see solutions and better constructive ideas to help both deaf and hearing to get along on the roads.
    I learn lessons in motorcycle safety foundation known as MSF about possible dangers. The best course is to let other pass you and me on the roads. We have to share the roads. Do not let “road rage” take over you riders. We have to ride cool as much as possible. Deaf bikers or hearing bikers do not own the roads. Who owns the roads? Taxpayers! Those laws are designed to keep us all riders or drivers safe and sound as possible.
    Remeber, keep your heads and feelings cool.
    Thank you for your time.
    Misha

  17. BadRat
    August 21, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    somebody, the jackass/jillass brought up BS but how abt if this Law will be applied for Deaf Bikers of America, FEEL BETTER NOW?

    FTW
    BadRat

    “Highway is my legend
    I am the outlaw man
    I was born an outlaw man’s son”
    Eagles

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.