Home > Opinion > Blogroll is like a cookie

Blogroll is like a cookie

May 21, 2007

After watching Barb DiGi’s video at ‘Is having a blogroll helpful or hurtful?’

We think it is nothing wrong for any v/bloggers to choose their favorite since it is their decision what they want to do with their blogroll.

Blogroll is like a cookie. Everyone likes a cookie. All kind of cookies are on the list so everyone comes and pick it as a favorite one. Maybe they want more than one different kind of cookies, we don’t stop them. Let them enjoy. Just like you go to the Newspaper Stand or bookstore to pick your favorite newspaper. Maybe you want your local newspaper. Some people like Washington Post. Others like New York Times. Maybe Los Angeles Time or Chicago Tribune? They have the list for anyone to see what they have or offer. There is no reason why we should enforce them. If you can’t find your favorite one, what will you do? Ask or walk to somewhere else? Just like we think it’s up to Bloggers and Vloggers, they can provide the lists on their blogroll or put nothing. It is not all about the judgement. It is all about the likeable and dislikeable just like you pick your own favorite cookie. Chocolate Chip cookie makers should not feel hurt if others dislike chocolate chip cookie.

We are not used to Jared ‘s new random blogroll. The random list will be updated in 5 minutes. We don’t think we feel comfortable with it. It’s much easier for readers to check the list of blogroll instead of waiting for another 5 minutes. Save 5 minutes of waiting. lol

We have many list of v/bloggers on our blogroll, don’t assume that they are our favorites. We make every effort to find blogger/vlogger and put it in our blogroll. Newcomers and not member of Deafread are the main reasons why we decide to list of all the bloggers and vloggers as possible. We will update the blogroll soon, maybe next week or so.

It would be nice if you add the link on your blog directly to our blogroll page. If your blog or vlog is not on our blogroll or wish us to remove yours, let us know.

Categories: Opinion
  1. May 21, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Well written! Beautiful explanation. Don’t tell chocolate chip cookie makers that I prefer oatmeal cookie.. shh!

    After looking at sites and had some thoughts, I decided that random blogroll won’t do any good for my site. I like everything to remain the same on my site so my readers know what to expect when they come to visit.

    And they usually ask what I like so having a blogroll that helps them to know these ones I like. But doesn’t mean I don’t like all of others I did not list. I add to my blogroll only when either we trade and have some connection. Blogroll is a cool blog feature I like.

    Glad you brought it up!

    -SG

  2. Cheryl
    May 21, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Beautiful job! I agree with everything what you said! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

  3. Elle
    May 21, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Well said. Good example. 😉

  4. Anonymous
    May 21, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    I like the idea how Seek Geo put his blogroll with the bottom of link to Fookem/Bug’s.

  5. May 22, 2007 at 10:12 am

    I didn’t realize my blog was on your list, thank you.

    I agree, for me a blogroll is a list of blogs I personally like. Ones I would like others to see, either for information, or discussion.

    Thanks again,

    Dennis

  6. Jackie
    May 24, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    True! True! True! Well said!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.