Home > Article from newspaper, Sports > Deaf Liberty junior entering NBA Draft

Deaf Liberty junior entering NBA Draft

April 17, 2007

By Jeff Goodman / FOXSports.com

FOXSports.com – Liberty junior swingman Dwight Brewington, who is trying to become the first deaf player to play in the NBA, has decided to forego his final season of eligibility and declare for the draft. It’s unlikely that the talented and versatile Brewington will be chosen in the June 28 draft. The 6-foot-5 Brewington, a native of Lynn, Mass., played two seasons at Providence and averaged 13.3 points and 4.3 rebounds per game as a sophomore for the Friars before transferring to Liberty. He averaged 14.7 points and 4.7 rebounds a year ago after sitting out the first seven games of the season.

The Flames recently hired former New Mexico coach Ritchie McKay to replace Randy Dunton.

“I believe Coach McKay could be one of, if not the best coach I could ever have, Brewington said in a statement. “But it is time to take care of my family. I am going to get my degree regardless, but for now I am putting it on hold to pursue my dream of playing professional basketball.”

  1. April 17, 2007 at 11:39 am

    Good luck! to Dwight.I hope that he make it.

  2. ernie
    April 17, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    amazing news. i do hope this will happened, he desered a chance. Good luck and god speed.

    I am thrilled.

  3. April 17, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    I hope Washington Wizards picks him because there is a large group of deaf people live in metro area. Lot of supporters out there, I believe. 😉

  4. john
    April 17, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    cool!

  5. AnonymousCoward
    April 17, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Why would he declare for the draft if he’s been told that its likely that he won’t be drafted? If he doesn’t get drafted, he can’t go back and play his senior season. That’s not a very smart decision.

  6. April 17, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    I agreed with AnonymousCoward. Since there is no guarantee that he will be drafted, so why he declared for the draft then?

    Something is fishy here.

    -SG

  7. Anonymous
    April 17, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Anonymouscoward and seek geo,

    I am sure that there is another option for him if he will not be drafted.

  8. Billythegoat
    April 17, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    AnonymousCoward and Seek Gee, stop being so negative. There is other players who delcare for the draft probably will not be guarantee like him too.

  9. James
    April 18, 2007 at 7:03 am

    AnonymousCoward and Seek Gee,

    He can go back and play his final senior year only if he did not get agent at all. If he did, then he cant go back and play but can return to school to finish his degree.

  10. AnonymousCoward
    April 18, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I stand corrected. I thought that you automatically forewent your eligibility when you declared. I should have checked my facts before posting.

    I certainly didn’t mean to give the impression that I was being negative. I’d love to see the guy succeed at the professional level, but at the same time, I hope he makes the right decision as far as his NCAA eligibility is concerned. It looks like he had an impressive season, and I think that another season of college ball would increase his stock value should he not be drafted this year.

  11. April 18, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    There was a note stating that he already hired an agent, I’m not sure if I overlooked. I asked my friend and he said he heard he did hire an agent. Is this correct information?

    Well, let’s hope he did not hire an agent already so he can go back to school if he was not drafted.

    -SG

  12. April 18, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Hey Billythegoat,

    I wasn’t tryin to be negative here, I’d hate to see him to get disappointed if he did not get drafted only if he already hired an agent which I thought he already did. But if he hasn’t hired one, then I stand corrected.

    I know there are plenty of other players that never get drafted but because he is deaf like us so I’d hate to see deaf people getting disappointed. It’s just natural feeling for me 🙂

    Let’s hope he will get drafted, but if not then at least he have one more year to go, I’m just hoping he did not hire an agent, yet though.

    -SG

  13. edward cook
    May 9, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    you better bring your own interpretor and talk with NBA coach while you play. good luck

  14. TRACEY
    November 2, 2007 at 8:46 am

    TO ALL WHO DOUBTED… if the dream is big enough, the facts dont count! TULSA here comes DWIGHT BREWINGTON!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.