Home > Dear Fookem/Bug > Dear Fookem and Bug, It’s Friday the 13th!!!

Dear Fookem and Bug, It’s Friday the 13th!!!

April 13, 2007

 Dear Readers, we collected some emails about their “bad luck”. We wanted to share this with you today because it is Friday the 13th. Happy Reading!

Maryland: …..I drove my home in MD to Gallaudet University in D.C. and helped the protesting people. On October 13, 2006, 135 Gallaudet protestors were arrested in D.C.

Maine: …..my hearing girlfriend cheated on her promise and broke it. We broke up on Friday, October 13th in 2005.

Baldwin Park, California: …..About 15 years ago I lost my finger while working on the printer machine. I remember it was Friday 13th. I can still fingerspell without one index finger, lol.

Unknown Location: Hi Bug and Fookem, Every time Friday the 13th comes, it always remind me of my broken finger, teeth, and wrist. I fell off the cliff when I was 14 years old on June 13, 1982. It was painful. I couldn’t sign for 4 months because I wore the casts.

Virgina:….we got married on july 13th and we did not believe about superstition, next year we divorced.  

Washington, D.C. : …..I was arrested for protesting last Oct 13th at Gallaudet.

South Bend, Indiana:  …..went to camp (June 13) and my friend wore the jason costume and scared the hell of us and we never went to that place again.

Dallas, Texas:…. I dropped my sidekick in the toilet two years ago. I know it was a bad lucky day on Friday. I dont remember which month. Hey I love your Fookbug site. Hope you have a good luck tomorrow.

Seattle, Washington: …..Hey yo! Remember my TTY? It was stolen in 1997 on 13th of Firday. Damn it. lol.

Unknown Location:…. Had four tests on same day. I didn’t study. All MSSD teachers gave me F. Perfect “F” for Friday!!! Good Luck on 13th. LMAO!

California: ….cop pulled me over beecause i was sped fast. me forgetn seatbelt. I said “me deaf”. Hope no ticket but I was wrong. Cop know sign. I got one ticket . Friday 13 happen. oh well.

Buffalo, New York: … ha ha ha I have a good story. One night on Friday 13th, my ex boyfriend sneaked through my bedroom window. We slept together. My parent busted us.  They kicked him out. They refused to tell me how they knew my boyfriend was in my room. 12 years later I asked them how they knew. They laughed and said it was my ex boyfriend’s hearing aid. They knew it was him in my room.

Las Vegas, Nevada:…. My husband (hard of hearing) and I (deaf) lost 1,800.00 in the poker game on March 13. That was a long time ago.

Texas: …my friend and I ordered some pizzas at Abbey’s at Gallaudet. The pizzas were very greasy. We became sick and threw up in the dorm at Peet Hall. We would never forget that day (Friday 13th) in 1992.

Categories: Dear Fookem/Bug
  1. Anonymous
    April 13, 2007 at 5:05 am

    A long time ago, I was freshman at Gallaudet College. I heard the story about coffin door in college hall. Most people who already walked through coffin door left Gallaudet and never come back to finish school. I did not believe it so one day, out of blue, I told my close friend that I go ahead and walk through coffin door. My friend said, ‘no’. I did and the month passed by. I told him, SEE, the story was myth. But a few weeks later, I left and never come back to finish. Is it worthy to walk through coffin door? My answer is yes because I always remembered it when Friday the 13th comes up. lol

    – Miami, Florida

  2. Wolfers
    April 13, 2007 at 11:11 am

    It’s just a date. 🙂 Amazing how folks would include bad luck on dates and things (black cats, walking under ladders, etc.) Psychology say if you believe in it, it’d actually happen. If you don’t, it doesn’t happen. And before you wonder, I had a lot of good times on Friday 13th. A knee disloction happened on a 13th, on a Tuesday. My broken leg happened on a 27th, the broken toe happened on a 20th, an incident that included two broken legs, a cracked neck vetebra, and a torn neck artery happened on a 22nd, a loss of a SK pager happened on a 3rd, I believe. So, I’d say… 13th is a good luck day for ME.

  3. April 13, 2007 at 11:34 am

    I wonder if you understand the history of Friday the 13th. It’s not about bad luck. Heh.

  4. Sue
    April 13, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    Today is my birthday, it does not mean that day is ‘bad luck’ for me.

  5. April 13, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Anonymous, omg! We remember that part! Is the coffin door still there?

    Wolfers, it might be true or maybe not. hee hee. Ouch about your bones and injuries…..glad to know that you overcame the pain with your good luck.

    Deaf258, thank you for checking with us to see if we are familar with the history of Friday the 13th, may we hire you to be our history tutor? 🙂

    Sue, Happy Birthday!! That would be a bad luck for us if we didn’t know your birthday ….however you gave us a good luck so we won’t be in trouble for not greeting you. Again, Happy Birthday.

  6. A.J.
    April 13, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    Nothing happened to me so far. *knocking on real wood*

  7. April 13, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Oh shoot! I dropped my glass and broke today! *sighs* I guess it’s Friday the 13th. I will be careful next time. – Bug

  8. JFLMad
    April 14, 2007 at 12:35 am

    Hey FookemBug,

    Please research the dates to be sure it’s accurate! There’s no Friday 13th on Oct 2005 (Thurs) and June 1982 (sunday!?!)

    Thanks! 🙂

  9. April 14, 2007 at 11:43 am

    JFLMad, now we know yesterday was a bad luck for us to know that they (writers) put wrong date. lol. thanks for bringing this up.

  10. Cy
    April 14, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    My brother in law committed suicide on a Friday the 13th, 7 days shy of his 23rd birthday. The fact he died on that day is always with all of us in the family. And his brother, my other brother in law, nearly lost his life in a car accident where he broke his neck on a Friday the 13th. Fortunately for this one, he was outfitted with a head halo for 18 months for his neck to recover from near-fatal fracture. I don’t think my parents in law could survive if their second one died on the their son’s death anniversary. This is beyond weird. I’ve wondered whether their deaths were predestined? Why both met with such tragedies on that day, Friday the 13th?

    I almost didn’t go to work yesterday, but I told myself it is just another day, and I went. And nothing happened. So, is it really just another day??

  11. April 15, 2007 at 1:15 am

    Dear Cy, That’s sad. We are sure he gave a great deal of thought to his decision to depart at a time of his own choosing. It would require an untold amount of courage for you and your family to carry on, but we have faith that you can surmount the tragedy. Your family and you have the courage, we know, that you will need to face the days ahead. The “fate” protected your other brother in law from the death, it means he got some blessing lucks for that day (13th). Thank you for sharing. We send our regards and sympathy.

  1. August 12, 2007 at 7:04 am
Comments are closed.