Home > Article from newspaper > Death Penalty Cruel and Unsual for Deaf?

Death Penalty Cruel and Unsual for Deaf?

March 27, 2007

Can a Deaf Person Get a Fair Trial? Addressing a deaf person’s ability to get a fair trial. ABC News is giving a story (March 27th). If you can’t see an interpreter on the video, look for “Go Big” then click it. 

Here’s a link:  http://abcnews.go.com/Video/playerIndex?id=2935914

  1. Peachlady
    March 28, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Wow! Who is that interpreter? She is great with ASL!

  2. Julie Rems-Smario
    March 28, 2007 at 9:14 am

    I wanted to share this with you all.

    http://www.starterupsteve.com/flash/html/execution_by_america.shtml

    Julie Rems-Smario

  3. Casper
    March 28, 2007 at 10:07 am

    I was already aware of this topic but I was more impressive with this interpeter! She’s an example of what type of interpeter should be participating in a high profile case like this.

  4. chickinagamestore
    March 28, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Is that interpreter particularly great? To me (and I’m hearing so maybe I don’t belong here- just tell me and I won’t comment here anymore if you want) she looks about the same as the two hearing people I knew who were very fluent- one was an interpreter and the other became one later. I thought about becoming one for a while. So I assumed that all interpreters were like that. I’m reading in a couple of places on this blog that they’re not, that’s awful!

  5. March 28, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Yes, the interpreter is great. Her ASL is very fluent.

    Chevyl
    Deafloves.com/blogs/

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.