Home > Opinion > WATCH FOR DEAF CHILD!!!!!

WATCH FOR DEAF CHILD!!!!!

February 27, 2007

* SCREEEECH* Deaf Child signs are posted to warn the drivers that there is a deaf child in the area and proceed with caution. Do we really need a street sign for the drivers to watch out for deaf child in the area?  Every time I see it and it makes me wonder why do the cities posted like that. This doesn’t slow every driver down, nor is it a guarantee of your child’s safety, however, it will bring neighborhood a wrong idea that the deaf children are not able to “hear” the cars.. I think it is okay to post ” children in the area” sign not just ” Deaf Child” sign.

Categories: Opinion
  1. Lantana
    February 27, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    I have seen these signs on Maui in Makawao. I presumed that the parents asked for the sign.

    I have also seen “Duck Crossing” and “Turtle Crossing”. There are also lights that flash when a bicycle passes through a tunnel. ‘Not to mention “Pedestrians”.

    *Shrug*

  2. Wolfers
    February 27, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    Mother had ordered a sign for where we lived because I would use the road all the time for baseball games, riding my bike or going to the bookstore across the road. I had never thought about the identifying of a child as deaf. I have seen signs for blind pedestrations(sp), blind-deaf child (yes I had seen one in Wichita, KS when I was a teenager), and many other signs.

  3. Nikeboy
    February 28, 2007 at 6:12 am

    Yes, I remembered the sign when I was a little boy. My family moved to another town. About 5-7 years ago, I decided to visited my childhood home where I mostly grew up all my life. The deaf sign is still there although there is no deaf children that live in area.

  4. February 28, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Check my website about Deaf child area Sign. Thank you for bringing it up.

  5. IamMine
    February 28, 2007 at 7:32 am

    My mother used to order that when I was little as well.

    When I asked her why, she said because a lot of times where drivers don’t think about speeding through the neighborhood and when approaching children in the street, they would honk.

    A deaf child? Might be too late.

    It causes the driver to actually slow down when they see that sign and going, “Yikes, I’d better be really careful and be on the lookout if a deaf child walks down the street and doesn’t hear me driving or honking”.

    That’s why….

  6. Karen Von Pills
    February 28, 2007 at 7:47 am

    I once saw a sign: “Hearing Impaired Child”

  7. Starbuck Lover
    February 28, 2007 at 8:32 am

    Jarom’s ramblings, I saw your website. Why did you copy and post on your page? You shy for leaving your comment here? Come and have a star coffee with me.

  8. February 28, 2007 at 9:56 am
  9. LuvBulls
    February 28, 2007 at 10:08 am

    We should put ‘Hearing people sign’ on Gally campus.

  10. Janis
    February 28, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Yeah, it’s for hearing drivers, not the deaf kid. It’s more like “DON’T ASSUME THE KIDS HERE CAN HEAR YOUR CAR HORN.” Eveni f the kids don’t rely on it, it’s still good for hearing drivers to know.

  11. Marla Hatrak
    February 28, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    A long time ago, when our deaf children were really young, our neighbors got together to discuss concerns about speeding on our quiet street. We petitioned the City Hall for speed bumps and a stop sign on a T-intersection. Imagine my surprise when I got home one day to find a loudly yellow “Deaf Child Area” sign right by our driveway. I instantly called the City Hall and protested the sign. The city engineer was initially baffled as to why I would be upset but after going through details, he understood. He offered that my neighbors were concerned about my two deaf children and thought it was a great idea. I offered that I taught my children not to cross the street, and they knew the rules very well. And that it was no less hazardous for hearing children on our street. Finally, I suggested that I ought to have been consulted. He agreed and later volunteered that his son was in the same class as my daughter. I was so glad when the next day the sign came down without any fanfare. It was one of the few times I realized that often the intentions were noble but not necessarily reconciled with our views of ourselves. In reading this blog, I was reminded of our family’s experience with the sign.

  12. Jimactor
    February 28, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    We asked the community to put the Deaf Child sign. They did but it never been successful becuz lot of people ignored the sign and drove passby our 4 deaf kids. Thanks God that they are survived.

  13. john
    March 1, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Yeah in my hometown we have several of them but it has been there for like 20 years, but one thing is that they have 3 or 4 different locations of deaf signs but they no longer lives in that neighborhood and the city never bothers taking it down. It has been there for years lol.

  14. sunnie
    November 9, 2007 at 8:08 am

    I think anyone who refuses a Deaf Child Sign for their Deaf Child is just ignorant. You are thinking more about what people will think of you having deaf kids than the safety. I have a deaf child and want everyone to know. Safety and my childs well being is my concern. Not an ugly yellow sign in my yard!!!!!!!!

  15. Mike
    November 9, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Sunnie,

    “Child at play” sign looks better. Do you need to put up a sign that says ” Black Child ” when they are playing at night? Isn’t it a good idea? NOT! Remove that Deaf Child sign. All Deaf children know better than their hearing parents, trust me.

  16. bubikins
    December 29, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    I personally don’t think it’s necessary. The “Children at play” sign or what ever is good enough for the driver to understand he or she must proceed with caution and it pertians to all children. I mean how long and often is the “deaf child” planning on playing in the middle of the street anyway.

  17. Carla
    December 29, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    I’m all for adjusting to the “hearing impareds'” “special needs/ saftey percautions” or what ever you choose to call it, but hasn’t anyone thought of what the child thinks or wants. You all know what it’s like to be a child and be ridiculed or made fun of in one way or another. Maybe a “deaf child” sign could be singling out the deaf child. Maybe they don’t want to always be known as the “deaf kid” in the neighborhood. I think just a “children” sing is fine it tells the driver to proceed with caution without singling out anyone…

    and if there are that many cars going by in your nieghborhood maybe you shouldn’t let your children play in the streets in the first place!

  18. nanu
    December 29, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    A puppy who’s hair was so flowing
    thier really was no way of knowing
    which end was his head
    once stopped me and siad
    please sir and I comming or going.

  19. Daniel Browne
    January 5, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Deaf child doesnt hear evil, but deaf child sees evil. our eyes become our ears and we tend to pick our surrounding movements up quicker then you can hear them. Pull the sign down. Put up drive carefully children about! deaf or hearing doesnt matter to me!

  20. jullian
    January 31, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I’m deaf and one of my younger brothers is to, but it’s not like they meet someone and atomaticly say ‘oh hi my name is so-and-so and two of my sons are deaf.’ That’s what these signs are saying. No offense or nothing but, those people who have the signs should think about their kids and how they feel. My parents used to have one in our yard when i was younger but that didn’t stop people from speeding infact i think it made it worse.After i learned how to use a baseball bat they took it down. It’s just stupid to have the signs up wee have a children at play sign that slows people down.

  21. jullian
    January 31, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I just saw a website that had a def cild area sign

    you don’t see BLIND CHILD AREAS 😛

    🙂 🙂

  22. Anonymous
    February 4, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Oh gosh, and in a world where we’re trying to be equal to hearing people too. I’m GLAD I wasn’t advertised as deaf, myself.. If we want a break, rents next to freeways and highways and, yes, the airports, ought to be half the cost. Wouldn’t be bad for the hearies, they can just live there and become deaf themselves from the noise of the world we’re blessed not to be saddled with!

  23. March 11, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    I am actually 19 years old and I lived in the same town, same village since I was bornt, lol but I have two signs in town that cays caution, Deaf child playing and alot of people has slowed down in the passed. but now that i’m 19, it’s still up and being used to get drivers to slow down if they don’t belong here.. cause they don’t know who’s deaf.

  24. planthugger
    March 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    If Deaf people are to be viewed as “regular” people without a “problem,” we have to behave that way. Deaf children do not need a street sign any more than hearing kids do. Deaf kids can take responsibility for themselves and use their eyes when around the road. We should teach our kids to be responsible for themselves and show the hearing world that they can be.

  25. Elaine N.
    March 18, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Where I live they have these signs too by elementory school and high school that has deaf students there.
    this is in West Covina, Ca.
    My mom and I found it very good and hope many ppl can see this.
    even for Gang members who think deaf are using gang sign.
    I have had a few friends in past get killed by gangs for waving the ” ILY” sign to someone and gang members think its the “blood” gang sign..

  26. Candice
    April 25, 2008 at 7:34 am

    I work for Child Protection Services and recently had a case where a 3 year old ran out into the street and was nearly hit by a car. The department requested the city put a Deaf Child sign in the area in hopes to make people aware that there is a child living near by that is deaf. I can see where some parents may not like this sign being up. This mom didn’t really care. The child got away from her and ran towards the street her chasing him. This could happen to any hearing child, however in most areas in our town there are Children at Play signs, but they rarely work. People still come barreling thru the small streets. I feel like I tend to slow down a little more if I see a Deaf Child in Area sign. Thats just me tho. Small deaf children definitely require more care than a regular child, its not that they are being singled out or treated differently, its just a fact that a deaf child in area sign reduces the risk.

  27. Jaynnie
    February 20, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    As a mother of 2 deaf sons..These signs are to make drivers aware that there are children in the area that are deaf.. I would like to think that caring, responsible human beings would slow down and watch out for kids.. I am very watchful of my kids but we live in a culdesac with college kids and if they are flying out of their driveways I want them to remember to look behind them… There is always the chance that my kids could get out of my sight for a second and that is all it takes….It bothers me that there are people out there that dont think they have to be aware and responsible of their speed and the kids in the area….

  28. rose vasquez
    March 11, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Not being able to hear a car coming is a serious issue. Look at it this way, imagine you’re walking through a parking lot, a car silently starts backing up as you’re walking by and the driver isn’t paying attention, you might get hit. This is a real issue we can all relate to with the silent electic cars coming out. Until we learn to be even more careful in parking lots, electric car drivers need to be aware, we can’t hear them coming. It’s the same with Deaf children, until they learn to be more careful, drivers need to be aware that they may not be heard coming down the road. Think about how impulsive hearing children can be and add to that being Deaf. Give these families a “break.”

  29. Ken
    March 24, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Father of 3 deaf children. The kids tend to run freely in our yard, and believe me, when I say this, we have repeatly explained to our kids, to avoid the road. But, for Deaf children, tends to learn little slow than normal hearing children at a very early age. We believe that by putting the signs “Deaf Child at Play”, not “Hearing Impaired Child” (which is offensive to Deaf culture), being posted both ways of the road, will reduce the risk of unnecessary accident.

  30. Kristi
    March 11, 2010 at 8:03 am

    I have a 10 year old daughter that is deaf, We do not have a sign in our town, I live right on main street, I am really thinking about asking the city to put up a sign. We live in a very small town 1500 people in it. We live right behind her school and she walks everyday to school just cross the street and she is there, I can stand on my front porch and watch her. All of the other kids are riding their bikes after school and on the weekends, I dont not tell her she cant I have taught her to watch real close and use her sense of feel to feel for the cars vibration coming down the road, but as I witnessed yesterday she pulls over to the side of the road like she is suppose to and stops, 2 cars speed through with out any knowledge that she was there and almost hit her, of course they were not only speeding but talking on their cell phones, I think that signs are a great way to catch someones attention that could put it in their head coming through town that says hey get off your phone and slow down you might just save a kids life hearing or not, We have a 4 yr old neighbor child that is learning to ride his bike as well and If that sign saves his life well then it was well worth it and he is a hearing child.

  31. Mike
    March 11, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Putting up the sign that says ” DEAF CHILD ” is very offensive to the Deaf Community. How’s about this situation: If there is no street light and do you expect the city to put the sign up and warn the drivers about this child in the dark? The sign says ” BLACK CHILD “. Will it be an insult to the Black community? so we don’t need audism everywhere. Let’s put the sign ” CHILD ” or ” CHILDREN ” up in the street, not just “DEAF CHILD”.

  32. Anonymous
    May 23, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    wow, you guys really stupid… Deaf children just cant hear so they use those deaf children” sign to notify people that there’s children who cant hear your their honk.So chill people.. just leave those sign alone.

  33. Anonymous
    May 25, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I have a deaf child and will be getting one of those signs for my street also. I think it is pathetic to even talk about to be honest with you i mean really??? Is it bothering you?? If it slows a few people down then it has done its job. My son cannot hear if cars are coming or even if a car blares its horn!

  34. June 4, 2010 at 11:24 am

    we’re looking at getting one of those signs because, even though our son is really quite good about staying on the sidewalk and off the street, at 3 1/2 he acts more on impulse than good judgment! and there is nothing wrong with being deaf – we see no reason to try to hide the fact. as long as people drive like idiots, we will do what we can to keep our son safe.

  35. Anonymous
    August 29, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    As the grandmother of a profoundly deaf boy I can’t thank the city enough for placing the sign on our street. My grandson is like any other 3 year old. Likes to run and doesn’t pay attention to the street. He can hear jackhammers and jet engines but nothing else, until its right on top of him. Our sign has slowed down the exteremly fast drivers on our residential street. So if it saves us from seeing him hit by a car then by all means place them every 20 feet.

  36. Craig
    November 26, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Do you think deaf children CAN hear the cars? They’re deaf! Of course they can’t hear the cars! What do you mean a sign will give te neighborhood the wrong impression. I am the father of a deaf child that desires to run and play just like the other kids. She’s not a dog. We cant tie her up outside or leave her in a cage.

  37. Craig
    November 26, 2011 at 9:44 am

    @ Mike

    That is the most ridiculous and inappropriate comparison I think I’ve ever heard.

  38. Joyce
    February 18, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Where do I get that sign, I have 2 deaf children n they love to go outside and play.

  39. Sarah
    February 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    When my almost 2 yr old gets to the age where she will be playing outside more, then I will most likely ask for a sign as well. There is a park at the corner with “children at play” sign and the speed limit is 25… but people come speeding through there at 45 mph.. its not safe. They need to be more aware.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.