Home > Holiday > U.S. Presidents’ Day

U.S. Presidents’ Day

February 19, 2007

Today is a Presidents’ Day. Some U.S. Presidents knew the basic sign language like “ILY”, “Hi”, “How (are) you?”, etc Some of them came and gave their speeches at Gallaudet University and other Deaf Schools. A few of them have a deaf member in their relatives. Some of you met them in person. Tell us about your experience.

My great grandfather was a friend of Abraham Lincoln. I saw Lincoln’s death bed and his bloody shirt. I met George H.W. Bush in California when he was running for U.S. President before Clinton ended his second term. I went to Nixon’s funeral in his hometown not far from where I lived. I visited JFK’s grave and sometime walked by the White House when I was a student at Gallaudet University. – Bug

I met First Ladies, Barbara Pierce Bush and Hillary Rodham Clinton. Barbara came to my school. Hillary came as a guest speaker at my sister’s high school graduation. I visited Lincoln’s home in Springfield, Illnois. I went visiting inside the White House. I visited John F. Kennedy’s grave in Washington, D.C. – Fookem

To learn more about U.S. Presidents, click:

http://www.biography.com/presidents/pres_facts_trivia.jsp

http://www.heptune.com/preslist.html

Categories: Holiday
  1. Carol
    February 19, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Ron Reagan and I rode the horses together at his ranch. He was so sweet. I taught him ABC’s in sign language. His wife Nancy was really sweet. She made us some sandwiches for lunch. We chatted a lot. My father worked with their horses for 6 years, that is how I met them.

  2. Denny
    February 19, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    In 1978 Jimmy Carter came to my grandmother’s birthday party, she became 105. He was a nice man.

  3. Anonymous
    February 19, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Bill Clinton visited my school (Ark f/t deaf) before he became the US president.

  4. JFLMad
    February 20, 2007 at 12:30 am

    I visited White House when Clinton was President. He showed me the Oval Office and personally showed me under the desk when he got blowed! Saw light milky white stains on the rug. I am sure it is gone now when Bush took over.

  5. Nikeboy
    February 20, 2007 at 9:52 am

    I partied with Bush’s twin daughters at bar in Florida a few years ago. The best moment was dancing with them closely. Oh man, I missed that part. 😦

  6. Michelle
    February 21, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    I saw Jimmy Carter in Maine about 2 years ago.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.