Home > Deaf Blog/Vlog > Please spell your name

Please spell your name

January 25, 2013

BY Jimactor

Categories: Deaf Blog/Vlog
  1. Anonymous
    January 25, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Yes, I know that and never bother with that, just accept that as deaf’s culture…

  2. January 26, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Interesting info that was not mentioned in ASL books!!

  3. jimactor
    January 26, 2013 at 8:35 am

    Pearl Yes ure right that it wasnt mentioned in ASL books Where did they learn from?

  4. maryirene lewis
    January 26, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    YEA I KNMOW NOW U GO AND ASK THEM TO DO THE NUMBERS WATCH WHAT THEY DO BETWEEN THE SINGLE NUMBERS AND THE TEENS NUMBERS I WANT TO SEE THAT MSYELF SMILES

  5. Julie Lahane
    January 26, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Hee Hee wow I never thought of that ! Yes it is true that I have had seen some deaf people spell first name then sign “last” name. Maybe they feel so comfortable what they are saying, who knows ?? Yeah it is the fact that it doesn’t show anything in ASL text book at all. You have very good perspective of ASL, Jimactor !!!

  6. Patty Tadak
    January 26, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    I tend to correct students if they do that. Why sign “last” when it’s not part of your name?

  7. Lena
    January 26, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    Enjoyed the talk about the sign “last” before one’s last name is spelled out. Next time I might be tempted to say, You mean your name is John Last Smith? His reaction? LoL

  8. Lala
    January 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Yeah, I noticed that is becoming more common among deaf community to use word “last” before spelling last name. I suspect it is because of the widespread use of videophone today. When the VP Interpreter comes on and either the service receptionists or customer service representatives ask for our names, we fingerspell the whole first and last name together. The interpreter will then sign “last” name? Then we fingerspell first name then for added emphasis sign “last” then last name again. I guess we all just got used to adding that sign “last” before fingerspelling our last name when we need to provide our profile information over VP. It’s been irritating to see that occurring in communications between the deaf in the deaf community. Grin :-)

  9. February 13, 2013 at 7:50 am

    I enjoyed your video. Very true! I agree with Lala that this has probably started due to using videophone. I will try to stop using the sign “last” before I spell my last name and see how that goes :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,027 other followers