Home > Vlog > Beware Sprint Customers

Beware Sprint Customers

December 11, 2009

By Jimactor

Summary: I do not appreciate for what Sprint did to my wife. Sorry It’s not 8330  It’s 8830.

Categories: Vlog
  1. Keith Cook
    December 11, 2009 at 9:24 am

    report to FCC

  2. Hetty
    December 11, 2009 at 9:36 am

    It’s best to deal with Sprint Relay not Sprint as Sprint Relay caters to deaf customers. We also have video customer care support.

  3. Dale S.Noyes
    December 11, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Thanks for the information. I have been getting offers about free services from any companies. Best way not to give any credit card numbers or debit card numbers for no reason.

  4. Lori Krakora
    December 11, 2009 at 10:12 am

    WOW. Sounds like a lot of miscommunication happened here. They should’ve told you clearly you’d be charged for s/h, etc. Next time, deal with sprint relay as Hetty said.

  5. Lori Krakora
    December 11, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Plus even though something is free, you ALWAYS pay s/h unless they specify that s/h is free too

  6. December 11, 2009 at 11:57 am

    You need to reach the place in your home town. I figure out you came from Colorado or you can click in the list.

    Better Business Bureau

    http://www.bbb.org/us/list-all-bbb-locations/

    I did file complaint grievance about foreign interpreter as fraud interpreter and failure show up doctor appointment,etc.

    You can contact BBB about credit card issues. I recommend how many people complained about Sprint and also credit related:

    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre07.shtm

    http://www.mcu.org/pdf/idtheft-Avoiding_credit_card_Charge_fraud.pdf

  7. December 11, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    FYI, You are right about the situation related with fraud credit cards. You can copy everything in video relay service from DVD along with grievenace.

    File compaint http://www.bbb.org/ and explained them why and reason:

    BBB will investiage about their abusive. if you use tty relay service or IP Relay Service along with print out. It is best way to use IP Relay Service to printout during your conversation instead of VP or you can copies VP into DVD records to prove. VP can be weakeness with A.D.A.it might be sucker.

    Also you should contact the website is:

    http://www.fbi.gov/majcases/fraud/internetschemes.htm

    http://www.mcu.org/pdf/idtheft-Avoiding_credit_card_Charge_fraud.pdf

  8. December 11, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Forgot to comment: FYI

    I did wrote grievances to BBB.org about interpreter fraud and file against agencies. They read with ADA copies. Agencies stuck with me. I had to blew whistle around in Seattle about three agencies often failed to confirmation. Because RID cannot do anything with foreign agencies have right to sell their business to Hospital and Medical Clinic because of A.D.A weakness about interpreter issues. They don’t always evaluation on person who is not qualified.

  9. areumoron
    December 11, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Sprint sucks!!! Get iPhone under AT&T, they rocks!! Their signal coverage is wayyyyy better than Sprint.

    Report to FCC and Better Business Bureau about that. They can be in deep *@%#!

  10. STROOPEWAFFELS
    December 11, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I have always been told IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE then it probably is,,, so folks if U GET an offer for something FREE,, be sure, to read the fine print..
    Deaf people have been screwed out of money for a long long time because they are too EXCITED about getting something for FREE … there are no freebies out there any more4…

    Thanks Jimmy I am sure every one appreciates the heads up,,,

  11. Dave
    December 11, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Nice vlog but get rid of snowflakes. I find them distracting while watching you. ;-)

    Where did your wife see the advertisement that offered free 8330 instead of 8830?

    Secondly were you talking about just Sprint Store? or Sprint Relay Store?

  12. Jimactor
    December 11, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Hello Dave
    Guess what? its from Sprint Relay Store but my wife got an email from Sprint Relay Store
    Check 8830 at http://www.sprintrelaystore.com/

  13. December 11, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Dave,

    We agreed so we removed the snowflakes that you requested.

    Thank you,
    Fookem and Bug Editors

  14. Dave
    December 11, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Thank you for the link. I assume that your wife ordered through phone call via VRS. It could be problematic. I decided to go online and it said Free 8830 and $49.99 for 8330 . Where did she see that 8330 is free? I know both look very close and could be confusing. I think it would much easier if anybody order online rather than phone call. I went through online and It explained everything in black and white including shipping fees, credit card (it explained why), and others. I ordered and upgraded devices thru the sprint relay store twice and it was very clear and easy to follow. Order thru phone call is out of question!! :-)
    Have a good weekend and happy holidays to all!

  15. Jimactor
    December 11, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Dave
    Did u read my summary? Pls re read it Thank u

  16. Jimactor
    December 11, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    My wife didnt call thru vrs Thru sprint relay store online thru email that they sent to her

  17. Paul
    December 11, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Shame on Sprint and SprintRelay! I am not fond of T-Mobile provider, either. Is AT&T a lot better provider? How about Verizon? Thank you

  18. No name, please. Thanks.
    December 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Jim, I have been wary of Sprint since last February. As I was applying for Blackberry 8330, a BB staff asked me for my Social Security number. Immediately, I TTYed the SS Administration. They said I must protect myself against “Identity Theft”. I am concerned about some deaf people who have already given their SS numbers to Sprint.

  19. A.J.
    December 11, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Dave, it does not matter if you order online or through relay. Jim already called Sprint to double check if his wife get free and they said yes. My question is that why did Sprint have to call him each another hour? It does not sound right.

  20. kfh
    December 11, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    what a mess! i am from canada ,, i believe christmas is in the corner and many scams going on ,, u did the good job ! u sure showed your emotional feeling ,, if i am in usa.. i would not have the sprint business,, i prefer t mobile ,, with blackberry they are now popular ,, is it 8830 blackberry??

  21. December 11, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I had similar problems ordering a 8830 for my son last year. I felt the problem was not the deaf Sprint store, but the sales agent that handled the transaction. (Going to a normal Sprint store does not give you the data plan that is reserved for deaf customers.)This year my son gave me the 8830 and went for the iPhone. I had so many problems transferring his 8830 account to my name that I gave up and now pay more than supposed to just to get the contract finished. When it is up, I’m going back to the Sidekick. Hassle the customer, lose the customer.

  22. Rick
    December 11, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Jim and all commentors above, no matter which company…. you were not happy with that X company and decided to switch to another Y company. Still not perfect company… Any company always have a problem with a customer because of different sales person due to a possible lack of sales skills or eduction. So we are dealing with all companies that way, none of them are great. That is a American way…

  23. AZ Admirer
    December 11, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Yea I agree w you!! That happened to my daughter w Sprint. She got a WiFi card from Sprint for her new laptop. Someone stole it so I told her to report to Sprint store and close the acct, but Sprint person said she would owe them alot of hundreds of dollars till she’d turn the aircard in! How could she get it back from being stolen??

    Another thing to warn you. When you see TV commerical and it says “Two payments” when buying something like RediGoSet…I saw that thing on tv and ordered one. I paid two times, but they kept taking money out of your credit card every month! I emailed them to stop but they continued. I had to go to my bank to close my card acct and get a new account! The banker suggested that I had to close my card to prevent the company from taking money out.

  24. December 11, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Hello Jimactor. I am manager of the Sprint Relay Video Customer Service (VCS) department which is for our deaf and hard-of-hearing customers who have a wireless device through Sprint Relay. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. As others have said, its best to work through our department if you have any questions about your device or any questions about the Sprint Relay Store. You can send an email to vcs@sprintrelaystore.com and someone from our dept will make an appt to meet you on VP. If you have any problems or questions on your account or your device, make sure to contact us and we can help you resolve them. Others have mentioned that when you see “free”, there are usually charges for shipping / handling as I’ve seen that myself when ordering things online for the holidays. We will make sure to add an asterisk * saying “* except for shipping / handling charges” on our email blasts and advertisements. Thank you for sharing your story and again my apologies for any inconvenience. Please contact us if you have any future questions. Also, see our website at http://www.sprintrelaystore.com for a full list of our current devices. Happy Holidays. Ken Arcia – Sprint Relay

  25. JCL
    December 12, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Great job explaining about this issue! You are correct, I ALMOST order one – exactly same as what you explained in this video – it didn’t say for new customers only and even didn’t say about shipping fee! Thank goodness, your warning prevented me from ordering this! Should add information for new customers only and shipped fee to prevent screwing up! Thumb up!

  26. Lisa C.
    December 12, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Thank you very much for the warning.

  27. Lisa C.
    December 12, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I guess I’m beginning to think I would not order an air card from Sprint.

  28. Hetty
    December 12, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    You went to a Sprint store…it’s not Sprint Relay store…Sprint Relay store is only online.

  29. Jimactor
    December 12, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Hetty
    Did I say that I went to store? Pls watch my vlog again Thank u

  30. areumoron
    December 12, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Can’t everybody watch his vlog very clearly??? Stay with this issue, not off the point issues!!

  31. Deafvideo.Tv Customer
    December 12, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    People are giving their opinions by using video. http://www.deafvideo.tv/65111

  32. Anonymous
    December 13, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Jim, This is just terrible thing to hear what they did to Charlene. I knew right away it was a fraud. I am glad you both have clear your account and get that straighten out. I would dare trust sprints or anyone. I sure hope any deaf peoples will wake up and realize what they are doing….NEVER NEVER give out your SS # to any one or even account #.

  33. Sandy
    December 13, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    wowow I am glad you did good advice to all of us . Glad you win to get your refund etc.

  34. Byer2000
    December 13, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    It is very important that you read the disclaimer or anything like that before you make the deal. I just got a letter telling me that I am egible for free pager. I just shredded the letter. It doesn’t have to be Sprint, it could be any kind of business trying to sell you something that you do not know more about. Sometimes it is too good to be real. Do your homework before you go ahead and do it.

  35. Corky
    December 13, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Sprint become biggest SCAM now

  36. Mike
    December 14, 2009 at 12:47 am

    To Sprint Relay Store Manager Ken Arcia,

    Terrible, misleading advertising. If I were you, I would send Jimactor and his wife a personal apology letter and give them something such as 6 months free service or something. Now we are remembering their scars for what your fraud and rude Sprint relay store employees have done to them. How DISRESPECT of them for taking the advantage of Deaf and Hard of Hearing consumers. Did you fire them? the shipping charges are ridiculously high. This situation reminds me of Visable Communications company that targeted federal funds set aside to assist deaf people in making phone calls. I was ready to have new account with Sprint after I saw your “”free”” offer until I saw Jimactor’s vlog. I changed my mind.

  37. Dan
    December 14, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Re. Ken Arcia – you did not state if you would add asterick * saying * that offer is good for NEW first-time customers only.

  38. Patty Tadak
    December 14, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Thank you, Jim, for the warning. I appreciate it very much. For your info T-Mobile does not have good coverage as Sprint has in the East therefore I would not opt for T-Mobile. I heard Verizon is good but monthly service charge are pretty expensive but good range of coverage.
    I’ll keep my eyes open and certainly will warn others to do likewise.
    Thank you again.

  39. Mike
    December 14, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    To anyone, if you have unplesant experience with Sprint or other company because of their unfair and dishonest service. Report it to the Better Business Bureau, the Federal Trade Commission (see below), or your state’s attorney general’s office and tell them that Sprint made the fraud against you. If they violate the law, try and see if you can get the illegal behavior on tape. Taping is permitted without their knowledge in all states except CA, CT, DE, FL, IL, MD, MA, MI, MT, NH, PA, and WA.

    Federal Trade Commission
    6th Street & Pennsylvania Avenue NW
    Washington, DC 20850
    202-326-2222

    http://www.ftc.gov

  40. Silent Red Wolf
    December 14, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I guess Sprint need money badly cuz Sprint spend lots of money on NASCAR, Sprint is primary sponsor for NASCAR. LOL

  41. jay
    December 15, 2009 at 9:05 am

    That one, I am familiar because often they offer free any kind of free phone tends for new CUSTOMER OTHERWISE UPGRADE. Yes it is fact. Good explaination in advance for anyone aware about that one. I know that you are innocent but glad it’s over. :)

  42. Purple
    December 16, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Wow! Nowaday, people are getting crazier and greedy! I refuse to give out my credit card number or anything. Glad you fought back. Clap-clap!

  43. Purple
    December 16, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Hey Jim, thanks for sharing and helping and warning. It’s much appreciated. Merry Christmas! ~’o)

    P.S.
    Call BBB or President Obama… ~’o)

  44. Vicki
    December 19, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I ran into a similar situation when I was trying to help my dad get a blackberry. We went to the sprint store and the “employee” there (I will call him that rather than what I want to call him because he was very rude) was trying to get us to sign up for a talk plan for the blackberry and I told him that my dad cannot hear and does not need a talk plan, just a data plan. Well he started arguing with me and then I told him that we were JUST LOOKING and we left. I went to another sprint store and that gentleman told me about sprintrelay.com. How wonderful!! My dad got his new blackberry with just the data plan for 29.99 a month. It was already activated when it came to the house and the got it in about 2 days. He has been very happy with his blackberry and we will be adding another line for my mom as soon as her currant contract expires with Tmobile.

  45. Suz-Anne
    December 23, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I’ve always known that Sprint is up to no good, because they tried to hoodwink me several times when they tried to get me to become their customer. I said NO WAY. I have always liked AT and T, but in the beginning their services were iffy. However, they straightened everything out.
    Never give out your full SS numbers and your CC numbers either over the phone/TTY. Report to BBB whenever you get bad businesses with whatever you are dealing.
    I am glad you got everything straightened out!

  46. GreyWolf
    January 1, 2010 at 9:09 am

    I had a minor problem with sprint. They mailed my BB to my old address that I had not lived in for over 2 yrs after waited 2days for BB to arrive I decided to call Sprint and ask where is it the sales rep told it was mail to my home confirmed address was wrong and he asked me to drive to old home ( another town 1hr away ) and pick it up. I told hm BS he needs to send it to my current add (which I gave to them online and wrote on my bill plus new add on checks)and he told not his problem is accounting I told him he mailed to wrong address not my problem it’s his. So, I requested another BB mailed to my current home address and he said I had to wait til the other BB was picked up I told nope I waited 2days his mistake not mine, so he suggested I go to Sprint store( big mistake) sales rep tried to sel me talk plan and ear buds after I told him “Im Deaf” dont need, then he tried to give me another BB (refurbished said just like new) and charge me. 6days 4hrs took to clear mess but I have my BB 8703 and works good. You have to result to a hearing technique to get them to understand ( I threaten to file complaint with BBB and lawsuit for incompetence).
    funny thing though , through all this the store manager came to resolve and said “you have to be Deaf to get this BB and Data Plan” as we were writing on a pad with pencil “Duh”. and life goes on :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,030 other followers