Home > Announcement, Opinion > “Deaf Scams”

“Deaf Scams”

November 14, 2007

Written by Bug

Many people have seen the scam messages in their email mailboxes everyday like this:

* “Hello, how ‘re you my name Debbie Fletti I am deaf….but presently in west Africa now for some reason …..”.

* “Memo from Deaf Charity Home Lottery The VP Sorenson Award: Congratulations You are the winner!!!”

* “ I am 61 years old deaf man living in Nigeria. I have $20 million…”

These messages are false. The scammers are trying to be the supporters of the Deaf World or act like Deaf. They are targeting the Deaf people because they think they can get something out of Deaf victim’s pocket. Also, the scam emails can take several forms, including appearing to come from a bank, a building society or similar financial institution, or one of the online payment or auction sites, for example PayPal or eBay. Other messages appear to show that you have ordered an item, often an expensive electrical item.

In March 2004 , National Association of the Deaf (NAD) said that everyone should be aware of the scammers because they operate scams through the Internet, TTY, telephone, mail and email, particularly those from overseas.

Some people are wary of e-mails from the surviving deaf children of Nigerian officials who need to get “a huge sum of money,” $30 million, out of a secret hiding place and offer 30% of the sum for their help. Will we get 30 % funds from them if we help? Not at all!

Internet Relay has been hijacked by criminal gangs in Nigeria who use this free service to scam. You can protect yourself and help Relay Service fight against the abuses. Read on: http://www.stoprelayabuse.com/Nigerian.fraud.0.html

Some of you remember the business scams such as STS, Canadian Diamond Trader, Swisscash, etc. You can find Fookem’s story about his experience with pyramid business at http://fookembug.wordpress.com/2007/07/18/failed-dream-hurts/

Fraud victims should contact the U.S. Secret Service, Financial Crimes Division, 950 H Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001; (202) 406-5850 voice (see also: http://www.treas.gov/usss/index.shtml).

There are many details and examples of scams at http://www.scambusters.org.

Here’s an example of scam:

Hi Dearest,
I am the only Daughter of my late parents Mr.and Mrs.Uwa Kassi, My father was a highly reputable business magnate who operated in the capital of during his days. I’m a deaf girl but I can speak little with sign language….(read more, click: http://patty81.blogspot.com/2007/10/scam-targeting-deaf-bloggersthats-new.html )

Note from FB: Protect yourself against online and email fraud. Of course those who fall for this scam NEVER see these promised millions. Instead bank accounts are often cleaned out once they have handed over all their details, which include bank account numbers, copies of their passport and drivers licensce and phone and fax numbers. It is a simple identity theft, dressed up with a tempting lure for the gullible.

Categories: Announcement, Opinion
  1. Anonymous
    November 14, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Fookem and Bug

    Thanks for brought up this issue.. I am tired of this deaf topliner kept asking and force anyone and me to join CDT and Quixtar so I joined CDT and Quixtar, so I was realized how much time required to attend meetings and recurite ppl. top liner did not honest and not explain details til I join memeber and they gave me more information duh lucky me that i dont spend too much money no big deal… researching on them I was still puzzled and confused. I decided to stop both of them due pressure and causing problem with friendship…. I lost of my friendships thats how causing this problem..

    I still puzzled about Quixtar.. Fookem, do you mind explain about Quixtar how this prove is pymraid. I see them some are postisve and negative. how I suppose to know if it true fact that Quiztar is pyramid.

    I am no longer join this Now I am more happier and stress free lol

    hearing from you Fookem soon
    thanks

  2. November 14, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Anonymous,

    STS was in big trouble with IRS because they included SSN and cheated on IRS. I did sign up. it was 15 years ago. I signed up CDT, CF and DCC. They are NOT that bad. Since people only wanted to get extra $$$. They are NOT make you or everyone RICH! just extra $$$. That is all. All is you to sign up and pay $$ and recruit two people to sign up. YES, it is true that would ruin the friendship BUT you need to find a person UNDERSTAND how it works. I do not mind at all since my closest friends already got $$$ for real. I have seen them all!
    YOUR decision to make if you pick the RIGHT people. You wont lose a chance! That is all!
    There are LOTS of hearing people are doing it.
    check the website: http://www.moneymakergroup.com/forum
    you make decision to see if it is a fact or fantasy.
    Hedy

  3. Rox
    November 15, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Anonymous…
    How to tell if something is a scam? Google it. If almost all of the articles say bad things about it, it probably is a scam (or not a scam, but it’s just plain bad news).
    Hope this helps.

  4. Davy
    November 15, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Just Simple to delete the crap scams message and peace of mind …… that it. who care!

    Davy

  5. Accountable
    November 15, 2007 at 10:37 am

    to Anonymous: Quixtar = Amway. They are MLM and MLM is bad… http://www.pinktruth.com to find out more info…

    Fooken & Bug: I still can’t believe that people fall for the Nigerian scam and any variation of it. To prey on anyone is just wrong. Do you have an statistics on how many people fall for it?

  6. Anonymous
    November 15, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Rox and Accountable
    Thanks for tips :).

    tc

  7. January 10, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    name woman rita mize and kimberly nelson dirty work together they not respect and not honest cheat my money blow out….watch out never hear people about money ….

    thank you

  8. Rosie
    January 31, 2008 at 7:20 am

    WELL IF SCAM PLS REPORT TO FTC.. I WON’T BOTHER ABOUT IT BECUASE SCAM MEAN SERIOUS THING SHOULDN’T BE BUSINESS EMAILS. ONE WAY TO STOP IT TO REPORT IT DONE.

  9. jullian
    January 31, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    You know when you send something like that to a deaf person (like me) it’s like oh your deaf so am i who gives a damn about you i have problems wiht people too

    WOW :)

  10. RICKI RODGERS
    March 23, 2008 at 7:48 am

    WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE IMPERIA INVEST IBC, DID U HEAR ABOUT THAT ? WANT TO KNOW IS IT TRUE WE WILL GET MONEY AFTER SENDING 50 DOLLARS ??

  11. Tolu
    April 4, 2008 at 2:25 am

    I dont think so..Nigeria deaf dont have scam…I MUST know that Hearing people lying to you that i am deaf…Deaf nigeria dont have Scam Pls….Dont guess…WOW

  12. Anti-Scammer
    April 13, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    YES, THEY PRETENDING TO BE DEAF, ASKING DEAF PEOPLE TO SEND $$$ TO NIGERIA. IT IS BIG RIP OFF! MOST NIGERIA ASKING THEM TO USE WESTERN UNION MONEY TRANSFER. THEY ARE SO DUMB. WU MONEY TRANSFER HAVE NO TRACE SO W.U. CANNOT HELP PEOPLE TO RECOVER THEIR FUNDS. I FEEL SORRY FOR SOME DEAFIES WHO HAVE LOW MIND FALL FOR IT. I WISH THIS WILL NEVER HAPPENED. NIGERIA PPL ARE DOING THEIR CRIME. SO DUMB!

  13. Anti-Scammer
    April 13, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    TOLU, TRUE NOT MANY REAL DEAF ARE SCAMMERS. YES MANY OF THEM ARE HEARING LYING TO DEAF PPL TELLING THEM THEY ARE DEAF. THEY ARE FULL OF BS!

  14. Rosie
    May 18, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Hi Everyone:
    I know there is one guy tried to IM me but I did talk back. I have evidence how he start speaking
    to me about Texas Lottery. Let him talk so I can talk back!!!! I knew that guy said he is deaf to me but he is not!!! I know he covert to be deaf showing people same and I talked mean back to him so I am saving everything I can make this successful need to stop FRAUD and SCAMS not worth it if anyone gets hurt with damaged loss their pocket! Don’t give out anyone your personal information use your nick name that it not last name nothing. That guy were so stupid trying to make me so real but I won’t buy it becuase I had one hell bad experience in 2004 and who fault I know why. Hearing people do make alot of good paychecks more than Deaf and Hard of Hearing Citizens I can see the income are different between two different community. Becuase Deaf and Hard of Hearing tried to be make with equal hearing community and I expect that hearing citizens need to stop treat 1 st class. I know hearing citizens get to be on TV shows games etc, have the choices what about deaf will get???? anything if so need to be done in a way.

  15. Dude
    May 19, 2008 at 12:35 am

    I never fell for this but I have seen some email messages and I just deleted it. It is really crap! Few low educated people have already fall for it. I feel sorry for them but They are not too smart. I always watch out for false email or phone calls and I will never accept them. Too many cruel everywhere!

  16. Dude
    May 19, 2008 at 12:37 am

    why Anti-Scammer and Dude have the same icons? even Anti-Scammer is not my word. This is weird.

  17. May 19, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Dude….Maybe same mood? – Bug

  18. May 19, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I agree with Dude. I never want to anyone fraud on me by computer. It was happened to me and I went to bank and told the bank to report Police Department and they will keep the check that I recieved a 2 thousand dollars from Scam in San Franiscno. but the check was suppose from New York I researched it.. and decide to not depoist the check because I suspected it was scam check. False address and location, etc.

    You need to check on the companies name and address in google. It will tell you. If it is not match.. Don’t depoisted. You could fell off from your lives.

    Deaf Pixie

  19. dude rules
    July 6, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    the scammers AIM sn.. is fbindla00993 trying to be the “Sorenson” person from texas claming that i won 100k which was full of horse-sh!t.

    anyone else can u post any other screen names that scammers would use..so we can add “blocks” to our buddy list?

  20. DAVID FRANK
    October 19, 2008 at 5:04 am

    HI FOLKS
    NEVER GO TO IMPERIA INVESTMENT AND SWISS CASH INVESTMENT. THEY ARE SCAM BECAUSE THEY HAVE MLM. THEY NEVER MAKE YOU RICHER. NO WAY. I AM SORRY TO TELL YOU TO GO TO ANY REAL STOCK BROKERAGE FIRM WHERE YOU CAN GET A PROFESSIONAL HELP.
    FOR GOOD EXAMPLE I AM AN INVESTOR. I HAVE AN EXCELLENT INSURANCE RIVERSOURCE ANNUITY ACCOUNT AT WELLS FARGO BANK WHERE MY ADVISOR AND I HAVE TALKED ABOUT NECESSARY CHANGE IN MY ANNUITY ACCOUNT TO PREVENT THE LOSS. THERE ARE THREE ANNUITY PROGRAMS. I HAVE TO CHANGE THE VARIBLE TERM PROGRAM TO THE FIXED INCOME PROGRAM TO BUILD UP MY VALUE IN NINE MONTHS AND THEN I CAN GO BACK TO THE OLD VARIBLE TERM PROGRAM. THE ADVISOR CAN DO WHAT YOU WANT.
    BE A SMART FOX. PERIOD. DO YOUR HOMEWORK AND DO READ A LOT BEFORE YOU WILL BE A SMART INVESTOR. I HAVE TO READ INVESTMENT NEWS ONLINE DAILY. DO NOT BE LAZY.

  21. mattclace
    November 6, 2008 at 8:22 am

    some told me that i get winner lotto that i did send the money away 500.00 to fred gardner in somers point that they told me winner over 180,000 it is full bullshit and they will won’t not bring to my house nothing 0.00 it is full bullshit and i lost my money they try to steal from my money it call scam all the time talked with me in my yahoo messager with many person that try to steal from my money now i know that all are on scam and fake name on list.

  22. Kris
    June 10, 2009 at 12:43 am

    I don’t give out my name, address, phone number or anything ever to any scammer or anyone online because no one should give out your private information online. Its better not to give that stuff out to be safe. I also don’t listen to scammers and always tell them no. Always and I block them.

  23. September 23, 2009 at 10:35 am

    What is the Amway MLM Business Opportunity?

  24. multitrim
    January 21, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Great post.

    Perhaps I can add to this that the best way to guard against being ripped off by online sales or auctions is to use an online escrow company. Although it does add some cost, that will take uncertainty out of the transaction.

    For my money, the best bona fide online escrow (and there seems to be ten fraudulent escrow sites for every bona fide one) is probably Escrow.com (http://escrow.com). In fact, it’s the only one that eBay recommends.

    Take care,

    Ulf Wolf
    multiTRIM
    http://multitrim.wordpress.com/

  25. February 9, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hi, I am new here for first time and I am deaf. I want to make this very simple with plain language and I want to know if any of you heard or invest your money in Imperia Invest..I am a member of Imperia Invest almost two years and I don’t invest lot of money just very small amount to play safe at this time. I tried emailed to the office last week and they never respond back to me with the answer I need to know to protect my right about the investment. I am sure you know this well with mixed feeling up and down.
    Do you believe these people of Imperia are honest 100% that every member will receive debit cards next month to receive the money? They always put off too long and keep thousand members waited so long some waited over 3 years and some less. It is hard to say whether we get the money or never. I need your feedback on this issue and I appreciate your help so, it will help me to put trust in me. Thank you

  26. Tom
    February 16, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    You will never,ever ever get it. It is a pure SCAM!!

  27. Kristy
    November 23, 2010 at 5:26 am

    I never, ever, ever, ever, ever give out my real name or my address or any of my personal information ever at all!!!! I always give people false information that is not true because I don’t want them to have my personal information!!!!! And it is not safe to give out your personal information online anyway!!!! It is very dangerous to give out your personal information online!!!!

  28. Diane
    October 11, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I am a mother of a deaf adult son. I have many deaf friends. I interpert as a volunteer for the deaf at our Church. A very sweet lady from Church sent me an email insisting she won $500,000 from Jimmy Kelly’s Deaf Lottery. She tells me she has ordered a new truck and is buying a new house soon. I have never know her to be anything but honest with me…she tells me I am on Jimmy Kelly’s list of winners too. All I need to do is email him…WHAT? Has anyone heard of this??

  29. eddie
    July 8, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    HELLO ANYONE… WHO KNOW SHERIF FATHY LIVE FROM PALMDALE,CA … I PISS OFF HIM AND I NEVER NEVER TRUST HIM , HE OWE ME 7,000 PLUS MY LABOR 1,900 FROM TILES FLOORS UPPER AND DOWN LIVEROOM HE IS SCAM PERSON I TELL ANYONE WARNING DONT TRUST HIM HE OWE DEAF AND HEARD PEOPLES MONEY OVER 70,000 MORE THAT SINCE HE NEVER PAY BACK… I DONT CARE FUCKIN HIM FOUND THIS WROTE MY STORY AND I KNOW ALL HEARD LOTS PEOPLES TOLD ME ABOUT IT HE GOOD LIER AND FIX PEOPLES STUPITY AND BELIVED HIM STORY AND LOAD OR MONEY THEN HE RUNNING AWAY FROM POEPLES MONEY AND HE NEVER PAY BACK I HAVE SHOW AND STORY MY FB AND THEY KNOW WHO IS SHERIF FATHY AND HIS WIFE KAREN… HE DESTROY PEOPLES FEEL AND LOOSE MONEY … I DONT CARE FUCKIN HIM FOUND MY STORY I TELL ANYONE WORLD KNOW .. MAKE HE SHAME! HE NEVER GO DEAF PLACE AND THEY KNOW WHO HIM. MAKE HE WORST TOO BAD FOR HIM I WAS MAD AND PISS OFF HIM SINCE NOW NOW NEVER TRUST HIM IF HE ASK UR MONEY FUCK HIM OK REMEMBER HIS NAME SHERIF AND WIFE KAREN FATHY U LL FINE AND THAT THEY ARE !! THK UR SUPPORT

  1. November 14, 2007 at 8:10 am
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,019 other followers