Home > Opinion > Many people think Deaf people should not drive.

Many people think Deaf people should not drive.

May 6, 2007

In 1920’s a few states refused to licenese deaf drivers and other states did considering doing the same but deaf drivers won the right to drive in all states. Currently, the major problem seems to be the discrimination deaf drivers face when trying to rent a car or purchase a new car. Some dealers refuse to let them to drive for a test because they feel that deaf drivers are “risky”. Some companies are afraid to hire the deaf people as drivers. United Parcel Service (UPS) is one of them. In October 2006, UPS wanted to ban the deaf drivers but the court rejected it. The case is Bates v. UPS Inc., 04-17295. You can find this information at http://www.hmw.com/workcite/20061025.htm. The American with Disabilities prohibts them to make the discrimination against the deaf people. (Thanks to ADA). The UPS company spokeman Norman Black said they are unhappy about ADA . He said, “UPS strongly disagrees with the court’s ruling and we are evaluating our options, including an appeal. We believe this case is about safety. It has nothing to do with disability or discrimination.” WHAT? What kind of “safety” he was talking about? It’s nonsense at all.

Many people out there are suprised to learn that deaf people can drive. In the fact, the driving is an almost completely visual activity for anyone. How many drivers watch the road with their ears? It’s rarely to hear of any deaf person being turned down for a license solely because they are deaf. In the past the Deaf drivers had some issues with California Driver of Motor Vehicles office at San Diego. When they moved to San Diego and went to DMV office to replace the new licnese. DMV staff told them to take the driving tests because they are deaf. Hearing people didn’t need to take the driving test after they moved to San Diego. It was discrimination.

Some police officers feel that deaf people should not drive. You might want to check this police blog and get some ideas what they are saying about the deaf people:

http://forums.officer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48432

 Also, you might want to check Barb Barb DiGi‘s story about her Deaf mother’s unhappy experience with a cop. Her story is interesting, please check her blog/vlog at http://deafprogressivism.blogspot.com/2007/05/my-deaf-mom-cop-and-law.html

Not all countries permit deaf people to drive. However, according to statistics from the World Federation of the Deaf (WFD), at least 26 countries do not allow deaf citizens to hold a driver’s license. A few years ago in the country of Kenya, it was against the law for any deaf people to drive. One day the government officals were invited to ride with some deaf Swedish individuals who were in Kenya. Deaf Kenyans said ” hey, they drive! Why can’t we?” After the officals experienced a ride with deaf drivers, the Kenyan officals realized that deaf people can drive so they changed the law.

We found the governement documents for you. The governement shows the research that deaf and hard of hearing are safe drivers than non-deaf drivers. Here’s two special government documents :

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/documents/hearing2.pdf

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/documents/hearing4.pdf

Fookem and Bug wish you a safe driving.

 

Categories: Opinion
  1. Gingerbread
    May 6, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Cops need to go back to school and learn about ADA.

  2. May 6, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Hey, at least yall ain’t gonna be yakking away on your damned cellphones like some of the idiots I see on the LA freeways!

  3. May 6, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Deaf people are more aware of their surroundings then hearing. I see so many hearing people all over the road on cell phones doing make up etc. Statistics show very few wrecks caused by deaf drivers.

  4. Wolfers
    May 6, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I don’t know about car dealerships or car rentals. I never encountered a problem when I bought a car (three times throughout my life) and rented a car whenever I was on a vacation or for business trips. I am deaf and I don’t speak, yet didn’t had trouble in many states related to either car sales or car rentals.
    None of my deaf friends encountered problems (about car sales or car rentals) either as I could recall.

  5. Candy
    May 7, 2007 at 7:10 am

    When my friends had a vacation in Tokyo, Japan, they were denied a car rental because of their deafness. Based on the source from my hearing friend who lived in Japan, there are many narrow curvy streets in the city and by the law, the drivers are required to honk before driving further on a street.

  6. Anonymous
    May 7, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    ‘Currently, the major problem seems to be the discrimination deaf drivers face when trying to rent a car or purchase a new car.’

    It is a myth.

  7. Californian
    May 8, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    It’s not always myth. I tried to rent one in Africa and China, they declined my request. I always wanted to be a truck driver, many states in U.S. won’t let me drive it. One place at Hollywood, I wanted to test a fancy and expensive car, they won’t let me be near. I wore a nice clothes. My friend with a short and t-shirt made it on the same day I was there. Because he is hearing. He worked for the phone company. I worked for (still do) real estes office. They let him test their beautiful car. My driving record is clean. Oh come on!

  8. John M.
    May 8, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Californian, can you prove me that deaf people, who live in America, have problem with rental car or buy a new car?

  9. Trudy
    May 10, 2007 at 8:17 am

    I have the similar problem with my job. My boss won’t let me to drive the school van to take deaf students to the field trip. So my boss rather to have hearing teachers to drive. One time, the hearing teacher got in a car accident. I ran to my boss and told him. See, it does not make any difference. So after the incident, he lets me to drive.

    I agreed that deaf drivers are more safe than hearing drivers.

  10. shilu pahi
    May 11, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    In India, no driving licences are allowed to Deaf drivers, even for two-wheelers vehicles because as per old Indian Law drafted in 1935 based on old British Rule’s law (India was under control of Britain), no deaf drivers are permitted to use any type of vehicle. We have not encountered any problem with vehicles sellers/manufactures when we have bought cars, motorcycles etc. But in case of causing death to any person by deaf drivers without driving licence, they must be sentenced by court to life sentences equilavent to murder punishment.

  11. May 13, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Oh boy, I didn’t realize that this was still an issue! I remember when I was a kid adults here and there asking me, how can your parents drive a car? I thought it was a stupid question and would say, they drive same as you do. And they’d say, well, what about when a police car or an ambulance comes up behind them? And I would say, my parents would know about the ambulance even before I did, distracted by the radio as I was. And nowadays you have all the witless wonders driving around not only blasting the radios but also with the cell phones glued to their ears. Yeesh.

  12. June 6, 2007 at 11:59 am

    That was interesting reading the police officers’ forum and it makes me want to ask the local police officers their thoughts or experiences on our deaf population’s drivers. I have had only one experience with a local police officer here in Yuba City, and it was a positive experience. He gave me a citation for having a broken rearview mirror. We communicated via notepad. I fixed the rearview mirror and showed up at the office, paid the $10 fit-it fine.

    I’ve had other encounters with police in other towns, and they generally have been professional. I only have a gripe with Los Angeles police officers. They seemed rude. But then it might be the environment. Crazy people, extra rude police officers. After all, Los Angeles is home of the Watts Riot and the Rodney King beating. I was surprised that the one New York officer I had in NY, was polite. I was expecting him to be brusque with me. I think police officers have a hard job. They have to be tough with the real criminals but also sensitive to the different people they encounter daily.

  13. James
    June 7, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Tell them, Lets put all BLACK Paper around car windows and let them drive. They cant drive cuz they need to watch the ROAD more careful!

  14. Deb Ann Mow
    June 18, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    What about hearing drivers who listen to the music…a very loud music in their car???

  15. August 24, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    I always wanted be become Deaf Driver Truck. Some state say requested to pass hearing test AS LONG AS U USE HEARING AIDS while whisper within 5 feets. I have been fighting for U.S. Highway Dept. and They say if i only pass hearing test then I can get CDL…. I m full deaf . I been working on Diesel Mech. on trucks, warehouse, etc. I dont give a bleep about cop if cop think deaf ppls cant drives. Oh Yes Deaf people is normal, reg. as hearing ppls. Deaf ppls can drive cars, trucks, van, tractors, whatever it is. Wish me good luck with me getting CDL!

  16. Josh
    February 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Man, Hearing people can be dumb sometimes, All deaf hater can rotten all i care

  17. jullian
    February 1, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I think that discremination against the deaf is pretty harsh i need a minor’s license because my mom has to get to work by 7:00 and my dad’s a truck driver. also the bus doesn’t run to my house and the driver’s ed people doesn’t belive in the Deaf driving but my friend Michell, who has also been deaf sence birth but unlike me can talk and read lips, got a minor’s license. It was from the same people but they couldn’t tell he was Deaf.

    DISCRENINATION:(

  18. Ruby
    February 25, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    wow, is amazing all the things I’ve learn just by taking an ASL class, i am a hearing person, and im doing a research paper, observations and learning to sign… I think is really interesting what you guys have accomplish, and i believe is way better to fight for what we believe. If statistics show that deaf people are better drivers i don’t think we should denied them the right. :)

  19. Laura
    May 2, 2008 at 9:57 am

    It’s amazing how many times people have asked, “how do you get around, do you drive?” I can’t even imagine how they can think we can’t drive. I’m hard of hearing and I’ve been driving for 10 years now and I’ve only been in ONE MINOR ACCIDENT and it wasn’t my fault. Deaf and hard of hearing people are actually better drivers out there. We see things that hearing people wouldn’t bother thinking of looking at. We hear things sometimes that hearing people just ignore because they are too used to it. We have our advantages and disadvantages but so do hearing people.

  20. Ralph
    January 16, 2009 at 10:56 am

    in usa rules for deaf people can drive any transpoartion but not allow drvive for business like CDL carry people , big plane , tow truck. only basic deaf people can run truck business use full size of uhaul truck under 24,000 lbs. for plane deaf people can drive small plane and not allow make money for tax, only can collect cash by friends or family member, cant be other people who will bust you. obama know sign language and visit deaf schools. we hope he will change law for deaf people get job with any transportion.

  21. February 17, 2009 at 2:37 am

    I have taught deaf drivers here in the UK using BSL now for over 16 years and can state that deaf drivers are at least as safe as hearing drivers and in most cases more so, because they have greater visual awareness.
    The old argument about the emergency vehicle not being heard may carry a small percentage of credability, but that is more than out-weighed by the increase in visual awareness.
    As for deaf truck drivers here in the uk. We recently gained our first fully qualified “Female” “Deaf” Truck driver. Paste the following link into your browser window to read about her.

    http://www.thedeafblog.co.uk/2008/12/deaf_steph_hits_road_as_trucke.html

  22. Naomi
    May 22, 2009 at 6:59 am

    Listen!!!! I am deaf and I think that many hearing people shouldn’t be allowed to drive because they causes more car accidents than deaf because all they do is yakking on the dang phone and thinking that they don’t have to rely on their sight to drive just their hearing abliity. FYI Deaf people IS THE MOST DEFF SAFE DRIVERS IN USA and for those who have a problem with that, well GO TO HELL and cry like a baby!!!! CUZ THIS IS A FACT

  23. Sammi
    May 22, 2009 at 7:02 am

    If hearing people wants to deny our rights to drive just because we are deaf then we should deny them some of their rights as well such as driving cuz they are the worst driver in the damn history!!!

  24. Tom
    October 2, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Theres are over 30 million deaf and hard of hearing and they drives safer than hearing–Hearing people all they do blah, blah, blah on dumb cell phone and driver classes keep telling everyone to not use cell phone while driving on road–pull over and then chat on phone and most deaf people didnt make much money, they keep their older cars that moving slowing and all hearing blowing their horns We cant hear horns duuhhh just like 2 or 3 days ago I was drove older slow moving van it was on fast lane on 2 way head south freeway when i was passed 18 wheeler truck and a 30 yr old lady drove new car was tailgate at rear my van I was doing at 70 mph in mich limit hwy laws, all she blowing horns to make me speed up, noooo lady have to wait to turn after I make do my safely almost ready to change move to slow lane to let lady pass but she did cut front 18 wheeler and passed me and flip middle finger to me, and 18 wheeler almost got accident, now who is stupid?? lady is.

  25. shoopak
    October 24, 2009 at 1:04 am

    i am a hearing person, and im doing a research paper, observations and learning to sign… I think is really interesting what you guys have accomplish, and i believe is way better to fight for what we believe. If statistics show that deaf people are better drivers i don’t think we should denied them the right. cyprus car

  26. rockradar
    January 24, 2010 at 4:43 am

    Hi everyone, yeah, see if anyone who wear hearing aides, still not deaf, the same who wear glasses, still not blind what the different, stupid law. In Australia,I got full truck Licence “Road Train” (62 wheeler), still don’t have to wear hearing aides at all. Good life in Australia, cheer Rockradar

  27. Actually reads
    June 28, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    It seems obvious that NO ONE here actually read the studies that this blogger talked about. If you had, you’d see that NOT ONE study was cited that showed DEAF PEOPLE ARE BETTER DRIVERS THAN HEARING PEOPLE. That’s just not the case.

    I have a good friend who is deaf. She is really upset that another of her deaf friends had her license flagged at the DMV. I have seen my friend drive. I’ve been in the car with her. And none of her friends, including me, want to drive with her ever again. Her driving is horrible. Is it because she’s deaf? I don’t know. But I do know that it must have something to do with the fact that she’s totally oblivious to what is going on around her. She was able to hear fully until she was 24, so maybe it’s different. Her other senses are not better and don’t make up for it. She also has problems with vision and balance. She can’t hear police and fire. She can’t hear if someone beeps at her (which, trust me, they do). She can’t hear traffic.

    Hearing people are not allowed to wear earphones while driving. They’re also not allowed to have extrememly loud music in many places. Why? Because it is distracting.

    Yes, people still do it, but they can get ticketed and/or lose their license. If you ask me, many people should have to have their driver’s test (road test) regularly, and deaf people are included in that group. There are far too many people on the road making it dangerous for others and themselves, and my deaf friend is, sadly, one of them.

    And to sign off, I’ll say – read the statistics. Just because deaf people cause FEWER accidents doesn’t mean that as a percentage of drivers they cause fewer accidents. If there are 100 hearing drivers to every 1 deaf driver, and only 2 out of 100 accidents are caused by the deaf (this doesn’t even mention how many were caused by a hearing individual but could have been avoided if the deaf person could hear a horn or a siren or whatever), then deaf people cause only 2% of accidents, but a greater percentage of deaf people are causing the accidents than the hearing people.

    I agree that deaf people have to do a lot, but the ADA made the wrong decision here – especially when it comes to UPS and other drivers. Just because some deaf people have a safe driving record doesn’t mean all do. This blogger needs to take a course in statistics and logic.

  28. Actually reads
    June 28, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Naomi – you need to check your facts:

    “FYI Deaf people IS THE MOST DEFF SAFE DRIVERS IN USA and for those who have a problem with that, well GO TO HELL and cry like a baby!!!! CUZ THIS IS A FACT”

    So NOT TRUE. THERE IS NO EVIDENCE THAT SHOWS DEAF PEOPLE ARE THE SAFE DRIVERS IN THE USA.

  29. Brett
    July 15, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I almost got hit by a deaf girl last week!

    I was on my motorcycle just going the speed liimit and suddenly she comes into my lane! i had to swerve to avoid getting hit! This isn’t thaat uncommon except that i was near her drivers side window so thats usually pretty high visibility. Then i looked in and saw her signing with her friend. LOL!

    No hard feelings towards deaf people overall. THeres irresponsable deaf people AND Irresponsable people who can hear normally.

  30. Beaven Mwiinga
    July 19, 2010 at 8:38 am

    DEAF PEOPLE CAN DRIVE BECAUSE THHHHHEY ARE ALSO MADE IN THE IMAGE OF GOD SO ANYTHING AIMED AT MAKING THEM LOOK INFERIOR IS DISCRIMINATION ON THEIR PART WHICH IS A SIN AGAIST THEIR MAKER. WOO LET ME END BY SAYING THAT AM ALSO A DEAF EXPERIENCING DISCRIMINATORY ACTIVITIES ON THE SAME IN PRETENCE THAT AM BEING PROTECTED

  31. Steve
    November 5, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    I had hearing loss at age 5, Now I have a coclear implant and hold a CDL! Never had any problems.

  32. Randy Bailey
    June 14, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    well i want tell you, i am deaf man have drive Lic, i know deaf peoples can drive why hearing peoples think deaf peoples should not drive that really pisss me off sooo hell even not allow CDL that soooo dumb hearing peoples. i dont care if i say free spech to hearing people it fair. FACT IS DEAF DRIVER IS BETTER THAN HEARING PEOPLES. IF I SAY TO THEM HOW THEY FEEL THAT FAIR.

  33. Sean
    December 17, 2011 at 7:39 am

    In my state here in Australia a person that is deff has to have hearing aids on when driving. my father knows someone that is completely deff in one ear and the other with a hearing aid and he is very dangerous on the road and he has close calls in the car out of the driveway with motor cars motorbikes and trucks and buses and one day i was on the way into the CBD on the bus and he wrote off his car and i saw him standing in the middle of a major road and you should have seen the other cars and every time he leaves my perrents house he almosts has accidents when leaving the driveway. I do think a doctor should give out a medical cetificet every 12 months and have a hearing test every 12 months

  34. Anonymous
    December 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    Many deaf people think hearing drivers should not drive because it happened to me
    when the hearing driver hit my car. Police found my driving skills were correct while those
    hearing driver did very wrong decision and he got a ticket. His insurance paid me for my car
    damged. Let me tell you a fact from US goverment did reseached of which one is the
    worst driver – hearing or deaf? They found high percent of hearing drivers as worst
    drivers. Hey, hearing drivers pay attentions to road more carefully!!!

  35. January 5, 2012 at 2:21 am

    I used to be suggested this web site through my cousin. I’m now not sure whether or not this publish is written by him as no one else realize such specified about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks!

  36. Gloria_necy
    February 2, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    hot milf riding cute gay boy ass thai free porn videos japanese amateur cams sex hot shower sex nikky case lesbian peasant hentai gushing blowjob vivid kim kardashian sex tape release i c b porn sex frecks bazzare real sex pics cumshot bdsm lesbian trans ameteur 3 lesbians having sex couples sex position photos nuns lesbian sex movie galleries free hardcore lesbin sex free xxx big boob how to make your ass grow

  37. Sean
    February 5, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Im amazed that deff people drive cars in the us but they should ware hearing aids in Australia you have to even a bus driver has to ware a hearing aid if stated on the drivers licence and here in Australia you have to have it on your drivers licence just like if you ware glasses to see.

  38. Sean
    February 5, 2012 at 7:37 am

    Here in Australia if you ask anyone if a deff person should be able to drive they would highly disagree of a person to drive unless they have a hearing aid you can drive if you are deff in one ear and i have herd of a doctor had a deff pashent that want to drive and the doctor said no and that person went to another doctor and said the same thing and both doctors knew each other as very good friends and they talked about it at a party and both gp’s both can sign to the deff and i can’t say the doctors name

  39. Anonymous
    February 5, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Here in Australia it is illegal to drive with a cellphone to your ear but you can use them with a hands free kit and they are not expensive and some of them can clip onto the sunviser or the car has a blutooth in the car stereo

  40. Dorlaine Simmons
    April 7, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    I am against deaf people being able to drive. When I was 4 years old I was hit by a car (twice by the same driver) by a deaf driver. I obtained serious head injuries, optic nerve damage, of which I am now a candidate for “Acute angle glaucoma”, inner ear damage, a broken tail bone as well as other issues which have appeared as I grew older. I’m 51 now and am forced to go one welfare dissability because I have multiple herniated discs in my lower and upper spine. I am in constant pain with no hope of relief.
    The man hit me and I flew through the air only to land on my hands and knees, seconds later he struck me again. I hit the pavement with my face, my nose was gone. I needed plastic surgery to repair my nose and my facial bones as well..Call my humpty dumpty.
    My compensation was $1500 which I would receive when I was 19 years old…What a laugh eh. Now I live in welfare poverty. I’ve never owned my own home and have nothing worth of value..
    My mother had a nervous breakdown which we all grew up thinking was normal. Life sucks

  41. officer right
    July 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    lol…deaf people driving? thats like allowing blind people flying a plane. if you cant hear properly how are you gonna hear people honking or someone yelling at you? Or emergency vehicles sirens? Most people either ignore,don’t have, or take upto 20 seconds to check a mirror…combine that with a deaf person. Ban them all I say.

  42. November 30, 2012 at 12:27 am

    “…Statistics show very few wrecks caused by deaf drivers.” You do realize that there are far fewer deaf people than hearing people so that “statistic” is drastically skewed.

  43. November 30, 2012 at 12:31 am

    “I am against deaf people being able to drive. When I was 4 years old I was hit by a car (twice by the same driver) by a deaf driver. I obtained serious head injuries, optic nerve damage, of which I am now a candidate for “Acute angle glaucoma”, inner ear damage, a broken tail bone as well as other issues which have appeared as I grew older. I’m 51 now and am forced to go one welfare dissability because I have multiple herniated discs in my lower and upper spine. I am in constant pain with no hope of relief.
    The man hit me and I flew through the air only to land on my hands and knees, seconds later he struck me again. I hit the pavement with my face, my nose was gone. I needed plastic surgery to repair my nose and my facial bones as well..Call my humpty dumpty.
    My compensation was $1500 which I would receive when I was 19 years old…What a laugh eh. Now I live in welfare poverty. I’ve never owned my own home and have nothing worth of value..
    My mother had a nervous breakdown which we all grew up thinking was normal. Life sucks”

    What happened to this poor woman happened because deaf people think that because they want to drive it’s their right. Driving isn’t a right for anyone, hearing or deaf, it’s a privilage. And when someone has a disability that impairs their ability to operate a highly dangerous vehicle, which any car is, they are not permitted to drive.
    Yes, driving is mostly visual, but it’s not all visual. And it’s that percentage of the time that hearing is needed that has everyone so concerned, and obviously, after reading this woman’s story, it’s a very valid concern

  44. November 30, 2012 at 12:37 am

    “…They found high percent of hearing drivers as worst
    drivers. Hey, hearing drivers pay attentions to road more carefully!!!” Also a skewed “statistic” since again I point out, there a shit ton more hearing drivers than deaf ones so of course there are going to be more bad hearing drivers than deaf drivers, there are more hearing drivers, period! Hello!!!

  45. November 30, 2012 at 1:01 am

    “I have a coclear implant and hold a CDL! Never had any problems.” sigh, I am beginning to see a lot of confirmation bias. Deaf people really really really really really wanna drive, and who can blame them, problem is they think that because they want to drive so bad that, that, gives them the right to, and it doesn’t. Driving is a privilage not a right. And of course you’ve never had a problem, you have a coclear implant, that allows you to hear the siren, the horn, the train whistles and the guy yelling, “hey watch out!!” they arn’t great for following detailed conversations, but for the purposes of sounds getting your attention, it works just fine, did you know that often times hearing people are using their hearing to drive far more often then they realize, when you’re getting ready to back out of the driveway and you can’t see around the corner but you can hear a car coming, when you hear the children running behind your car before you back out, but you can’t see them. When the train crossing sign isn’t working but you hear the train whistle. When your about to cut off a driver and they honk at you to let you know they’re there.

    Confirmation bias – the tendency to search for or interpret information or memories in a way that confirms one’s preconceptions.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_biases_in_judgment_and_decision_making

    It sucks to not be able to do such a major thing as drive a car, but there are alot of things in life that suck. What happened to that woman who was hit by the deaf driver, her life really sucks. It sucks that I can’t find work, does that mean that the next person I interview with, I am entitled to be hired by them? No. Because you want something doesn’t mean you have a right to it. I really really really want $50,000, but do I have a right to it? Should the bank be required to fork it over because I really want and need it? no. The fact of the matter is, regardless of how many hearing drivers have accidents or deaf people have accidents, here’s a statistic that is not skewed. A deaf driver is at a significant disadvantage when it comes to driving. That is a fact. There are things that a deaf driver will not hear that could prevent an accident. That is a fact. If you took two people who were twins, absolutely identical in every way, raised them the exact same way, they were both very careful drivers and highly intelligent and aware and very responsible, but one of them was deaf, he would be significantly more likely to get into an accident than his hearing brother. That is a fact.

  46. Carrie
    March 10, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Dorlaine Simmons :
    I am against deaf people being able to drive. When I was 4 years old I was hit by a car (twice by the same driver) by a deaf driver. I obtained serious head injuries, optic nerve damage, of which I am now a candidate for “Acute angle glaucoma”, inner ear damage, a broken tail bone as well as other issues which have appeared as I grew older. I’m 51 now and am forced to go one welfare dissability because I have multiple herniated discs in my lower and upper spine. I am in constant pain with no hope of relief.
    The man hit me and I flew through the air only to land on my hands and knees, seconds later he struck me again. I hit the pavement with my face, my nose was gone. I needed plastic surgery to repair my nose and my facial bones as well..Call my humpty dumpty.
    My compensation was $1500 which I would receive when I was 19 years old…What a laugh eh. Now I live in welfare poverty. I’ve never owned my own home and have nothing worth of value..
    My mother had a nervous breakdown which we all grew up thinking was normal. Life sucks

    ————————————–

    WOW I am SO sorry to hear about what had happened to you when you were a little girl. Though I must address this, the accident may as well had been a hearing driver that had struck you.. It has nothing to do with the driver being hearing or deaf. So many life out there has been so destroyed by ANY kind of people, male female black, amputated persons, hearing. Really… I feel like I must address this that just because you had a terrible accident that affected you for the rest of your life by this deaf driver…does not mean that deaf should be banned from driving. Having a driver’s license comes with the responsibility that applies to EVERY ONE who wants to drive.

    My boyfriend, who is deaf, was in bad accident (head to head collision) about 15 years ago by a hearing male driver. It was the hearing male’s fault because he tried to make a left turn when my boyfriend was driving passing the intersection on green light at the speed limit, and he had no right to make left turn. It left my boyfriend a whole other set of car payments when he JUST finished paying the car the month prior to the accident. It also left Brian, my boyfriend, with bad foot and hip, that forced him to get hip replacement within ten years as the doctors had predicted. It has come to that point now, that he would have to get his hip replaced sometime soon (he is only 36 years old now). He is suffering the pain that his hip is giving him constantly, but is trying to hold out on his hip as long as possible… because after getting the first hip replacement, he probably will have to get ANOTHER hip replacement in 10-20 years after the first replacement…. All of this is to blame on this hearing male driver!!!

    Now, what you are saying, the deaf persons should not have been able to be driving because of your terrible accident……that’s just like we should say that any male that are hearing should be banned from drive. That’s total crap. Accidents are expected to happen by anyone and to anyone. Everyone on the road just need to be cautious and take the responsibility of driving very serious.

    Again, I am very sorry about what had happened to you.

  47. Carrie
    March 12, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    anji8791a :
    “I have a coclear implant and hold a CDL! Never had any problems.” sigh, I am beginning to see a lot of confirmation bias. Deaf people really really really really really wanna drive, and who can blame them, problem is they think that because they want to drive so bad that, that, gives them the right to, and it doesn’t. Driving is a privilage not a right. And of course you’ve never had a problem, you have a coclear implant, that allows you to hear the siren, the horn, the train whistles and the guy yelling, “hey watch out!!” they arn’t great for following detailed conversations, but for the purposes of sounds getting your attention, it works just fine, did you know that often times hearing people are using their hearing to drive far more often then they realize, when you’re getting ready to back out of the driveway and you can’t see around the corner but you can hear a car coming, when you hear the children running behind your car before you back out, but you can’t see them. When the train crossing sign isn’t working but you hear the train whistle. When your about to cut off a driver and they honk at you to let you know they’re there.
    Confirmation bias – the tendency to search for or interpret information or memories in a way that confirms one’s preconceptions.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_biases_in_judgment_and_decision_making
    It sucks to not be able to do such a major thing as drive a car, but there are alot of things in life that suck. What happened to that woman who was hit by the deaf driver, her life really sucks. It sucks that I can’t find work, does that mean that the next person I interview with, I am entitled to be hired by them? No. Because you want something doesn’t mean you have a right to it. I really really really want $50,000, but do I have a right to it? Should the bank be required to fork it over because I really want and need it? no. The fact of the matter is, regardless of how many hearing drivers have accidents or deaf people have accidents, here’s a statistic that is not skewed. A deaf driver is at a significant disadvantage when it comes to driving. That is a fact. There are things that a deaf driver will not hear that could prevent an accident. That is a fact. If you took two people who were twins, absolutely identical in every way, raised them the exact same way, they were both very careful drivers and highly intelligent and aware and very responsible, but one of them was deaf, he would be significantly more likely to get into an accident than his hearing brother. That is a fact.

    ————————————————
    Sighsssss…………….really, anji8791a?? Okay let me tell you a couple things. First of all I agree with you, that obtaining a driver license is privilege. Absolutely. Though you stated that there are things that a deaf driver will not hear that could prevent an accident. Well okay, how about this….a person on a cell phone talking? or a radio blasting loud? or a kid in the car screaming?? Deaf people, since we can not hear, we rely heavily on our eyes and on our other senses much more than the hearing people normally do. Because of this, we often would have noticed something more quickly and been able to react faster than a hearing person that is being distracted by so many different sounds and distractions preventing them from being solely focused on operating an automobile.

    The hearing people too often rely on their hearing to know their surroundings, and rarely use their eyes to see what’s around them. We may do not what-ever the way as you do, like you rely everything based on your hearing. We rely on our eyes and feelings.

    Like you said that you rely on your hearing on whether a car is coming around you or not. In a way, you are saying you can drive with eyes covered (you may not have mean it like that but let’s say). You will know when a car is in front of you in the next lane attempts to move over to your lane (and does not blink, because there are drivers that hardly use blinkers) by hearing ALONE. Lets be honest, if you are driving with your windows up and the radio on or conversing with a friend on a cell phone, I seriously doubt you can hear a car come up on you. You know you HAVE to have eyes to see what’s happening around you. We all (hearing or deaf) were taught that we are supposed to check the rear mirrors and side mirrors like every few seconds. And that we are supposed to turn our heads backwards to check if it is okay for us to move onto next lane. We cant just rely on our hearing and not paying attention to the mirror and turning our head backwards to move onto the next lane with no problem. Really?

    You should know that you just cant go on the road with eyes covered and rely on your hearing alone to drive. You need your eyes, mainly, to be able to drive. Not the ears. If the hearing was SO essential for the safety on the road, then why doesn’t DMV require a hearing test??? You know, when we go to DMV to obtain a driver license, there would be a driving test and visual test that we have to pass in order to get DL. The hearing test is not one of the requirement for getting a DL.

    We as drivers have to take responsibility of driving safety. We ALL are supposed to be cautious on the road, hearing or deaf. Each of us needs to make sure that we are doing everything we can to make it the safest environment when driving. I mean, hell, so often the hearing people would be on cell phone talking, which I must note, it is illegal to be on cell, or singing to their loud music in the car….. how are they supposed to hear the ambulance, horns, or trains???? So often most of them are so caught up in conversations or music that they do not bother to really use their eyes to focus on their surroundings as a deaf person does automatically. We deaf people, who drive, are very aware of what could happen on the road. It could happen to ANY one, hearing or deaf. We are very aware and use our sight every second to know and see what is happening and what is in our surroundings.

    Like a earlier post who has deaf parents, she said that often she was asked by adults how did her parents drive….and they would ask her how could they hear an ambulance if there was one coming her way. She even said, her being able to hear and stuff, her parent would already know that there is an ambulance coming before she even heard them. That proves my point about the visual and how important for ALL of us to use our sense of sight for the sake of safety on the road. Not hearing, sorry. I have added a link to this interesting scientific article about the visual in the deaf and hearing persons.
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/06/110601171620.htm

    The lady who suffered a terrible accident, you said her life sucks……..what about my boyfriend who is deaf and only 36 years old that has to have his hip replaced this year….because of this hearing male driver who hit him (head to head collision) 15 years ago??? There was absolutely no way that my boyfriend could avoid from it to happen, he just was stuck and got struck. It certainly was not because he could not hear. He saw the car attempting to make a left turn, my boyfriend slammed the brake which may as well had saved his life

    Now, you used the twin example, which is funny, because my boyfriend is actually identical twin with his hearing brother. They both are at the same level as far as accidents come and as far as tickets come. So, you are saying just because his brother can hear, by no question, is a safer driver?? My ass. I disagree with your twin example.

    Okay, I think I’m gonna be done typing for now. It makes me cringe to read that people actually think deaf people are incapable to have a privilege to get a driver license… Just because we can not hear? Or because you’ve had accidents with the deaf drivers?? Accidents happen EVERYDAY and EVERYWHERE and BY WHOEVER!! Unfortunately but that’s a fact.

    Again for the last time, we ALL needs EYES/VISUAL to be able to drive, not EARS/HEAR. If that was the case, DMV would had made that as their requirement in order for us to pass before we can be given a valid DL.

    Thank you for reading my long post ha.

  48. Carrie
    March 12, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    Carrie :

    anji8791a :
    “I have a coclear implant and hold a CDL! Never had any problems.” sigh, I am beginning to see a lot of confirmation bias. Deaf people really really really really really wanna drive, and who can blame them, problem is they think that because they want to drive so bad that, that, gives them the right to, and it doesn’t. Driving is a privilage not a right. And of course you’ve never had a problem, you have a coclear implant, that allows you to hear the siren, the horn, the train whistles and the guy yelling, “hey watch out!!” they arn’t great for following detailed conversations, but for the purposes of sounds getting your attention, it works just fine, did you know that often times hearing people are using their hearing to drive far more often then they realize, when you’re getting ready to back out of the driveway and you can’t see around the corner but you can hear a car coming, when you hear the children running behind your car before you back out, but you can’t see them. When the train crossing sign isn’t working but you hear the train whistle. When your about to cut off a driver and they honk at you to let you know they’re there.
    Confirmation bias – the tendency to search for or interpret information or memories in a way that confirms one’s preconceptions.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_biases_in_judgment_and_decision_making
    It sucks to not be able to do such a major thing as drive a car, but there are alot of things in life that suck. What happened to that woman who was hit by the deaf driver, her life really sucks. It sucks that I can’t find work, does that mean that the next person I interview with, I am entitled to be hired by them? No. Because you want something doesn’t mean you have a right to it. I really really really want $50,000, but do I have a right to it? Should the bank be required to fork it over because I really want and need it? no. The fact of the matter is, regardless of how many hearing drivers have accidents or deaf people have accidents, here’s a statistic that is not skewed. A deaf driver is at a significant disadvantage when it comes to driving. That is a fact. There are things that a deaf driver will not hear that could prevent an accident. That is a fact. If you took two people who were twins, absolutely identical in every way, raised them the exact same way, they were both very careful drivers and highly intelligent and aware and very responsible, but one of them was deaf, he would be significantly more likely to get into an accident than his hearing brother. That is a fact.

    ————————————————
    Sighsssss…………….really, anji8791a?? Okay let me tell you a couple things. First of all I agree with you, that obtaining a driver license is privilege. Absolutely. Though you stated that there are things that a deaf driver will not hear that could prevent an accident. Well okay, how about this….a person on a cell phone talking? or a radio blasting loud? or a kid in the car screaming?? Deaf people, since we can not hear, we rely heavily on our eyes and on our other senses much more than the hearing people normally do. Because of this, we often would have noticed something more quickly and been able to react faster than a hearing person that is being distracted by so many different sounds and distractions preventing them from being solely focused on operating an automobile.
    The hearing people too often rely on their hearing to know their surroundings, and rarely use their eyes to see what’s around them. We may do not what-ever the way as you do, like you rely everything based on your hearing. We rely on our eyes and feelings.
    Like you said that you rely on your hearing on whether a car is coming around you or not. In a way, you are saying you can drive with eyes covered (you may not have mean it like that but let’s say). You will know when a car is in front of you in the next lane attempts to move over to your lane (and does not blink, because there are drivers that hardly use blinkers) by hearing ALONE. Lets be honest, if you are driving with your windows up and the radio on or conversing with a friend on a cell phone, I seriously doubt you can hear a car come up on you. You know you HAVE to have eyes to see what’s happening around you. We all (hearing or deaf) were taught that we are supposed to check the rear mirrors and side mirrors like every few seconds. And that we are supposed to turn our heads backwards to check if it is okay for us to move onto next lane. We cant just rely on our hearing and not paying attention to the mirror and turning our head backwards to move onto the next lane with no problem. Really?
    You should know that you just cant go on the road with eyes covered and rely on your hearing alone to drive. You need your eyes, mainly, to be able to drive. Not the ears. If the hearing was SO essential for the safety on the road, then why doesn’t DMV require a hearing test??? You know, when we go to DMV to obtain a driver license, there would be a driving test and visual test that we have to pass in order to get DL. The hearing test is not one of the requirement for getting a DL.
    We as drivers have to take responsibility of driving safety. We ALL are supposed to be cautious on the road, hearing or deaf. Each of us needs to make sure that we are doing everything we can to make it the safest environment when driving. I mean, hell, so often the hearing people would be on cell phone talking, which I must note, it is illegal to be on cell, or singing to their loud music in the car….. how are they supposed to hear the ambulance, horns, or trains???? So often most of them are so caught up in conversations or music that they do not bother to really use their eyes to focus on their surroundings as a deaf person does automatically. We deaf people, who drive, are very aware of what could happen on the road. It could happen to ANY one, hearing or deaf. We are very aware and use our sight every second to know and see what is happening and what is in our surroundings.
    Like a earlier post who has deaf parents, she said that often she was asked by adults how did her parents drive….and they would ask her how could they hear an ambulance if there was one coming her way. She even said, her being able to hear and stuff, her parent would already know that there is an ambulance coming before she even heard them. That proves my point about the visual and how important for ALL of us to use our sense of sight for the sake of safety on the road. Not hearing, sorry. I have added a link to this interesting scientific article about the visual in the deaf and hearing persons.
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/06/110601171620.htm
    The lady who suffered a terrible accident, you said her life sucks……..what about my boyfriend who is deaf and only 36 years old that has to have his hip replaced this year….because of this hearing male driver who hit him (head to head collision) 15 years ago??? There was absolutely no way that my boyfriend could avoid from it to happen, he just was stuck and got struck. It certainly was not because he could not hear. He saw the car attempting to make a left turn, my boyfriend slammed the brake which may as well had saved his life
    Now, you used the twin example, which is funny, because my boyfriend is actually identical twin with his hearing brother. They both are at the same level as far as accidents come and as far as tickets come. So, you are saying just because his brother can hear, by no question, is a safer driver?? My ass. I disagree with your twin example.
    Okay, I think I’m gonna be done typing for now. It makes me cringe to read that people actually think deaf people are incapable to have a privilege to get a driver license… Just because we can not hear? Or because you’ve had accidents with the deaf drivers?? Accidents happen EVERYDAY and EVERYWHERE and BY WHOEVER!! Unfortunately but that’s a fact.
    Again for the last time, we ALL needs EYES/VISUAL to be able to drive, not EARS/HEAR. If that was the case, DMV would had made that as their requirement in order for us to pass before we can be given a valid DL.
    Thank you for reading my long post ha.

    ——————————–
    This is what my boyfriend’s twin brother wrote when I showed him your post,……..

    Ultimately, accidents caused while driving are almost always the result of some form of negligence. (Unless some type of freak accident happens where a boulder falls of the side of a mountain and crushes your fucking family.) It doesnt matter whether you can hear or not, if you a careless driver then of course you are going to increase your chances of having or causing and accident. To be honest, I cant hear other cars coming or going when my windows are up and the radio is on. I would say that 99% of my driving style is visual.

  1. August 14, 2008 at 9:43 pm
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,019 other followers