Home > Opinion > What Are Deaf Persons Feeling About Their Deafness?

What Are Deaf Persons Feeling About Their Deafness?

February 21, 2007

Individuals differ, of course, but it has been generally found that deaf people have mixed feelings. Some people felt ambivalent about their deafness. They derive a sense of belonging and wholeness from their fellow members of the deaf community, and these feelings of group solidarity sustain them even into old age.

 Membership in the deaf community involves identification with deaf people, shared experiences in school and work, and active participation in group activities with other deaf people. Most notably deaf community members share frustrating experience trying to communicate in the hearing world. Some hearing individuals, such as educators, counselors, and spouses can be “courtest” members. However, only deaf persons can really know what deafness means. Neither social class nor sex nor religion are important attributes for membership; the major distinguishing criteria are communication skill and preference.

Sometimes, deaf people wish to be hearing because they can work like police officers, soldiers, helicopter pilot, airplane pilot (big plane not small one), etc.  Not just because they want to become hearing . They are disgusted with having to deal with the lies, myth, pressures, etc. from the hearing world such as restrictions, discrimination, can’t this, cant that.  Is that correct?

 Of course, many of us are proud to be DEAF. Admit it, do you ever wish to be hearing for one min or so?  Sure! Everybody has a reason, it’s nothing wrong with that. Do you remember those sentences ” It’s nothing.”,  “oh sorry, never mind”, ” I will tell you  later.” ” you can’t hear, you don’t need to know. “. etc. These words are always there daily everywhere in the world, why is that? Sad but true …hearing people feel sorry because Deaf people do not hear. But they are the ones who are really deaf to our voices, our needs, our language, and our culture. Seem like we have to face and deal with these audist people everyday. 

 However, it is important to remind yourself that you are you. Don’t let anyone change you. You can change yourself whatever it makes you happy or just accept yourself. You are a whole person with your mind, heart, and soul. Speak your mind. Speak your heart. Speak your soul.

Categories: Opinion
  1. cali
    February 21, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks for the positive entry! :) However, I think it all depends on one’s worldview. I don’t ever wish I were hearing – instead, I wish people could sign, I wish that access weren’t an issue, et cetera. I put the responsibility on society instead of feeling like *I* need to be hearing.

  2. Anonymous
    February 21, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    I sometimes wish I am a hearing person so I can communicate with my hearing family easily. They know nothing about sign language. How can we communicate each other? We use paper and pen. Imagine that? It hurts me the most but I accept who I am.

  3. Macintoshlover
    February 21, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    I, myself, am 100% deaf as I wish I can hear like hearing people because they get a big ‘ADVANTAGE’ with technology things like iPOD, Sirius, XM satellite radio, etc.

    I find it interesting because nowadays, TTY costs about 150-300 dollars (depends on what kind of model) although it is outdated. Lot of deafies have pagers and video phones and almost never use TTY. The price for TTY never goes down. HUH? It should be less than 100 dollars to buy TTY. Right?

  4. Michelle
    February 21, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    My ex boyfriend left me because I couldn’t talk like a hearing person. Reading your blog helps me feeling better because Fookem and Bug know how the deaf and hard of hearing people feel. Thank you very much for putting this important issue in.

  5. RLM
    February 21, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Woud you please kindly stop using the pathological (medical view and language of the oppression) term like “deafness”?

    If you analyze “deafness” more closely and will understand better that this term give the general public at large to perceive us, deaf individuals as problematic, fully disabled or our so-called physical flaw as part of sickness.

    Just define ourselves as a deaf being, not preoccupy with “deafness”. Please read the nonfiction book – ‘Language of the Oppression”. You will eventually reasonate how the use of language could trap us into the second/third-class people. Thanks.

    If you delete this comment. You will be guilty of “censorship” practice. Is our online discusssion forum supposed to be the freedom of exchanges in ideas.

    Robert L. Mason (RLM)

  6. February 21, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Good point, RLM. I didnt think about that part. I avoid using “hearing loss”, “hearing disabled”, “hearing defective”, etc. These words like ” impaired”, “handicapped”, and disability didnt come from from the vocabulary of Deaf people. I was not sure which “better” word for me to put in. Now I knew that I used a wrong word like I said “deafness” in this situation. It was my old habit by saying ” physicians and audiologist may be able to identify deafness, but they know little or nothing about Deaf people.” I like your term “being deaf”. That book you spoke of, will be interesting to read. Thank for your help and suggestion. -Bug

  7. February 21, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Michelle, I am sorry about your breakup pain. Glad to know this forum helps you.

    Macintoshlover, *blows dust off TTY* now I wonder if my TTY works. I don’t use TTY anymore, bet that spiders feels safe by living in her web around my TTY.

    Anonymous, those who will not learn to communicate with others are no love.

    Cali, You r cool!

  8. Yoda, the Jedi master
    February 21, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    RLM,

    May the deafness be with you.

  9. mother goose
    July 7, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Sometimes I wish to be a hearing mother, so I can stand up for my kids, so they won’t take any advantage of me.

  10. samira Baita;Jigawa state,Nigeria
    September 5, 2012 at 7:50 am

    Please I want you to give me details on live experiences of people with deafness

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,026 other followers